We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Arosa Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhotel National

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waldhotel National to your Saves list
Waldhotel National
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tomelistrasse | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Arosa
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Arosa Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Outstanding hotel and spa in the ski town of Arosa. Outstanding location, fantastic views and the best hotel staff I've seen in years! The Thomas Mann dining room is fine for casual dining but for a truly elegant dining experience make a reservation for the Kachelofa-Stubli ( you need to reserve in advance of your arrival)!

The spa is not grand but the Power Treatment facial was one of the best I've had. Afternoon tea in the Alpin Lounge is not to be missed - especially the live piano music.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are more modern with modern amenities,i.e., coffee makers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    25
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
51
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were back again for our second ski weekend at the Waldhotel. We stayed in a beautiful, modern suite in the new part of the hotel. The views from the terrace was stunning and the room was very well equipped with a Nespresso machine which pleased my husband (I would have preferred a kettle to make tea!).

Aroma is great for family skiing and one of the wonderful things about this hotel is the fantastic kids club. Our boys (9 and 5) had dinner at the Kindertisch and then made candles. They loved it. The best thing was that the adults had time to enjoy the fantastic 5 course dinner.

The spa had been extended since our last visit. It is not huge but its very nice and modern.

We found all the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The manger is very welcoming too.

A great hotel in a perfect ski in ski out location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed on a short trip for four nights in the winter main season.

Location: For skiing, the location is just awesome - just cross a single street and your on the slope! Also the village is only a few minutes walk away.

Breakfast: Nice brunch-style buffet. Everything very good, except the croissants (dry, boring) and the milk.

Amenities: Newly opened spa is great and worth visiting. Nice lounge with piano music during tea time, pool table and free wifi (wifi in your room is charged, and that's in 2013!).

Service: We experienced the staff from being incompetent (early morning breakfast) to avarage (reception) up to very friendly and professional (concierge, lounge)

Room: We booked one of the cheaper rooms to the north side in the main part of the hotel. On the plus side, the room was clean, quiet and offered just enough space for a short stay. It wasn't reachable by lift, only by stairs. Unfortunately, it hadn't been renewed for ages: Very old and ugly bath with dripping faucets and chrome peeled of the drain pipe. The TV was probably from the 80ies or early 90ies, we didn't dare to touch the remote . The radio looked like from the 70ies, but it worked (6 fixed channels). The heating was off when we arrived and the windows are leaky, so the first night wasn't very enjoyable and we didn't sleep very well on the other nights either. Even for (usually mediocre) swiss hotel room standards that's not acceptable for a hotel in this category. Better spend the money on a room in the newer part of the hotel (Chesa Silva) or request one that has been renewed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fantastic service from every member of staff; great atmosphere - good for families, cosy and still elegant, wonderful cuisine; relaxing new spa area for grown-ups, nice pool; superior room was excellent; quiet location, but right on ski slope, so perfect; even had the best ski room we have ever seen so a complete thumbs up from us - can't wait to go back. Arosa is a great family ski destination, not too many difficult pistes and perfect for kids as lots of chair lifts. All round highly recommendable. Well-done Waldhotel team for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are new and modern with a great view - couldn't fault them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a room in the new part of the hotel. Very nicely done overall, perfectly cut bathroom with comfortable and spacious shower, small workdesk area, big and comfortable bed.
Extremely friendly and curteous staff. Extreeeemely. And everywhere. Reception, Restaurant, Bar, conference area. That says it all, I think. Very nice view from the main terrace, too.
Just what you expect in this part of Switzerland.

I would be very happy to stay in Waldhotel Arosa again.


Why not "excellent" overall? Well - if you spend all that money on putting WiFi equipment in such a big hotel, don't be cheap and make your guests feel exploited by charging extra for access at a 24h clip. Just include it in the room rate. Or give it away for free. It's so simple...


Useful suggestion: Take the train to go to Arosa, don't drive.

The last 30km up the mountain to Arosa are very beautiful, but you have to like driving narrow mountain roads with 2-way-traffic a lot to make it worth you while. Uphill, the person in the passenger seat is looking into some 800m abyss almost nonstop. Downhill, you better bring a well-kept car and a driver who has the right experience with gearbox and brakes. I was somewhere between comfortable and edgy, but we were driving both legs of the trip at 20 degrees plus in beautiful summer weather. I would hate to get into rain, snow or icy road conditions there. Or even just drive at night. *brrr* And no matter whether it was summer or winter, I know people who would just have gotten green-grey in the face after the first few meters on that road, and with all follow-up consequences, too...

From a practical standpoint: You cannot drive around in Arosa anyway, as you need some kind of special permission for that. There's a bus that is free with the Arosa Card you will get from the hotel, and you can always call a taxi.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent a week on business in this lovely hotel in wonderful Arosa.
The hotel staff is one of the best I have ever experienced, rooms are spacious, great spa, pool, etc., not to mention a pool and ping-pong table.
Excellent cuisine, nice, well stocked bar, and a smoking lounge as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new part - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Good service in this hotel. The room was spacious and bed comfortable. But no curtains who stops the light in the room! So you are disturb by the street light during the night and away at 5:00 AM in the morning. That was so annoying. Also I am always angry against hotels who let you pay an access to internet who is in a majority of hotels free. The place is nice and family friendly. Didn't go to the spa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldhotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel National

Address: Tomelistrasse | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arosa
#4 Family Hotel in Arosa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#5 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel National 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldhotel National Arosa - feels like coming home! The feeling starts the moment you arrive at your Waldhotel-National, Arosa, situated in a quiet, sunny and privileged position, right in the Arosa-Lenzerheide ski slopes. Rooms and suites in alpine style, exquisite gourmet cuisine starring in the GaultMillau guide, a wide-ranging offer of beauty and spa treatments and generously proportioned seminar and event spaces are all waiting for you to come and discover them. Allow yourself to be pampered in an oasis of well-being that will restore your strength for the challenges of everyday life. Enjoy your break, your romantic weekend for two, and take a culinary tour with our chef Gerd Rebers, accompanied by noble wines from our cellars. Spend your holidays with family and friends, let your children venture out on a Nature study adventure to discover the surroundings, and explore the boundless diversity offered by Arosa in winter with its mountain scenery and lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Waldhotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel National Arosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhotel National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.