We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we ate in Switzerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantic Hotel Schonegg Restaurant

Romantic Hotel Schonegg Restaurant
Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
+41 33 855 34 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 restaurants in Wengen
Cuisines: European, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Jerusalem
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best meal we ate in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Top notch food -- Lemongrass soup wouldn't shame any high class restaurant in Europe's biggest cities. Yes, the meal was expensive (but isn't everything in Switzerland?) but well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    34
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Wengen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and thoroughly recommend its restaurant. The chef produced beautiful meals, and for those requiring Gluten Free food this was not a problem! By far the best meals we ate on our 3 week trip around Europe!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly sophisticated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had a lovely dinner at this restaurant with clean, fresh flavours and nice surroundings. Recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Top-notch classy gourmet meal with personable unbeatable service in a warm, quaint, and beautiful dining room.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestby, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“simply excellent food, a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant probably had the best food out of all the places we visited in Switzerland . Generous portions, delicious appetizer, food was just wonderful, very tasty and really something to look forward to and savour, not just filler for the stomach. The restaurant has a fairly traditional wooden interior while the food itself is very modern.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantic Hotel Schonegg Restaurant also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Romantic Hotel Schonegg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantic Hotel Schonegg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.