We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Bellevue
Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
London
1 review
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

The Bellevue is a wonderful little hotel, situated about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Wengen (but I am walking fast as i can't wait to pick up my skis and get on the slopes!). The south facing side of the hotel gives absolutely stunning views of the area, not to be missed. I go every year for a week, and the service has always been excellent. The cuisine is always good, and plenty of it! If the course that day is not liked/you are allergic to it, you can tell the manageress and she will ask the chef to make something different for you. The rooms are not huge, but certainly adequate for 2 adults and a child.

The only possible downside of the hotel is that it is 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village. If you have luggage with you, the hotel will send its personal electric taxi(Wengen is one of Europe's last car-free villages) to collect you from/take you to the station.

Overall, I definitely recommend the Bellevue.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Distance from centre of Wengen, although this really is nit-picking.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a south facing room-it's worth the small extra cost!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

Fantastic views from this hotel, good 5-10 min walk from Wengen station, hotelier will collect you but ONLY if you have luggage. Nice hosts who take a little getting used to, as does the food. Very well prepared and good quality meals, but all a bit of a mixture and quite local....cold yoghurt soup, beetroot soup, stuffed turnip etc. Breakfast was ok, selection of some cereals, rolls, bread, juice, meats & cheese etc, full continental and well stocked. The outdoor train set is interesting....if that floats your boat. Rooms were a tad small (back of the hotel but magnificent view) with a very small bathroom that had obviously been added into the room, so took up space, but it was adequate and the balcony was shared although this was only on one floor other rooms seemed to all have private balconies. All that said, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and the owners are welcoming (very precise too!), the only thing that would stop my visit again is the food, but that ia a purely personal opinion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed at the Bellevue for 3 nights at the end of May 2006 with our 2 young children. We were very satisfied. The hotel is on the outskirts of Wengen (7-10 minute walk from the train station). The location offers an awesome view of the valley. The hotel itself is clean and well run. The hosts are delightful. Particular highlights are the cuisine and the outdoor model railway. The latter is a must for enthusiasts. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2005

We stayed at the Bellevue for a week in Febraury this year and were not disappointed. The rooms at the front are modern, with good bathrooms and have fantastic views (the name of the hotel is completely justified), they can be a bit small however. The rooms at the back for our children were undoubtedly small but they don't need much space!. Great staff here and a very good chef. Indeed the five course dinners were outstanding for hotel food (the breakfasts with superb swiss bread rolls and all sorts of cold food were ideal too). If you like things quiet the location on the edge of the town (about five minutes walk to the main street) should suit you.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Wengen
Minotel Wengen
Wengen Minotel
Minotel Hotel Bellevue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.