We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berghaus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berghaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Berghaus
Berghaus, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Wengen
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Berghaus is family owned hotel, where guest are treated well. Martina and her father were always there to help and provide suggestions. Unfortunately we lost their hotel umbrella, but they didn't even charge us for it. Martina also provided with power adapters to charge our phones. Hotel had best breakfast and views were amazing. Thank you and we hope to return in future.

Room Tip: Book your rooms directly with hotels rather then online and get balcony room if you plan to spend mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
44
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from this little gem of a hotel only 5 minutes walk from the railway station and a cable car. Family run and top quality in all respects. Service is outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. Luggage is transported to and from the hotel for clients. Bedrooms are clean and many have wonderful views of Lauterbrunnen and the Jungfrau. A lift is available as is a drying room. Delicious, locally sourced food includes homemade Watermelon and Strawberry & Pineapple jams at breakfast. Dinner at attractively decorated tables consists of four delicious and complementary courses with fish caught in local lakes and expertly cooked being a speciality. Dinner can be eaten on an attractive terrace as the sun sinks behind the snow clad peaks followed by coffee and drinks in the comfortable lounge.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel Berghaus is little gem among the hotels in Wengen. It is the perfect small family-run hotel. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of Wengen and the Männlichen cable car, in an elevated position overlooking the nursery slopes. The rooms at the front of the hotel have balconies with spectacular views over the village with the Jungfrau and Silberhorn mountains in the background. The rooms are clean and functional with good ensuite bathrooms. The hotel is run by Mr. Fontana (who is both proprietor and chef) and his daughter Martina. Both are delightful, and always ready to sort out any problem. The food is fantastic. Every morning there is a generous breakfast. In the evenings a delicious four-course meal is served, often featuring fish which is the hotel’s speciality. I stayed on my own for a few days in April 2012, and for a week in February 2013. The prices are more than reasonable, and packages are available including ski-passes. I can unhesitatingly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a room at the front of the hotel with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We highly recommend this hotel if you are going to stay in Wengen. The family who run it and all of the staff are lovely, very helpful, and just generally nice to be around! The location is great, with fantastic views across Wengen to Mürren, as well as up to the Jungfrau. The food was great and the hotel as a whole is extremely good value. We had a great stray and a great short ski break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I traveled with another couple and spent four fabulous days and nights at the Hotel Berghaus, a delightful family run inn ideally situated in the charming village of Wengen. We arrived by train from the valley floor at Lauterbrunnen to freshly falling snow and claimed our luggage which had arrived the day before, direct from our Seattle to Zurich flight. This is a wonderful little service that the ever hospitable Swiss offer to make your travels as stress free as possible. We were met by the Fontana family and took a short stroll through the village to the hotel. Hotel Berghaus is charming beyond description and we each had lovely balcony rooms overlooking the spectacular valley, the beautiful Fall leaves and the majestic Jungfrau. The rooms are tastefully appointed, modern bathrooms clean and the beds are amazingly comfortable. The hotel is not a large, corporate run chain but a perfectly sized, family run lodge and offers a unique flavor and wonderfully relaxed hospitality. An added bonus is the hotel's restauraunt and fabulous culinary artistry of Aldino Fontana. Daughter Martina skillfully manages the hotel front of house and mother Marianna makes evryone feel right at home. Views from the hotel terrace are beyond stunning! Our first visit to Wengen but surely not our last!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suites with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New Hampshire, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed with my husband, parents, sister and niece. They have always met or exceded our requests and expectations. The food is fabulous and the lodging comfortable and inviting. The view is nothing short of spectacular. Martina, Aldino their family and staff are all friendly and accommodating. Staying here allows you to have a truly swiss mountain experience with all of the comforts of this fabulous hotel. I visit in September in order to enjoy the hiking, cheese and cow bells. I usually stay a week or more if time allows. I would stay all month if possible. The location is easy walking to the train, town and hiking trails. Take the train from Zurich and live car free for your stay. Get a BerneseOberland regional train pass that allows you to travel on all gondolas, trains, most busses for no extra charge or 1/2 for some of the bigger gondola rides. There is no better place to go to to get away from your daily busy life. The peace and contentment that is felt here is priceless.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Jungfrau with balconies are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our 20 month old daughter at the Hotel Berghaus for a 5 days the beginning of Sept. We LOVED every second of our stay. The view from the dining room is amazing. We did not book a balcony room because we did not plan on staying in the room that much but our room still had the most amazing view (though not like the dining room). The room was a bit cramped because we had a baby bed. We booked the half board which was breakfast and dinner. The dinners each night were fabulous, there was not one bad tasting meal. Martina was wonderful to our daughter and very helpful with suggestions on hikes and things to do in the area. It's easy enough to walk to the hotel from the train station so the only time we had a ride was with our luggage. We would stay here again in heartbeat and we plan on returning when the kid is older and can hike herself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghaus

Address: Berghaus, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wengen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Berghaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghaus Hotel Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berghaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.