We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Brunner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Brunner to your Saves list
Residence Brunner
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Wengen 3823, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Brunner)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Wengen B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had been to this hotel before, 2 years ago, with a package holiday and it was clean, friendly, and full of half-board guests. This time, having booked a last minute February ski break at the hotel, we arrived to find it empty and only supplying bed and breakfast (no dinner, which is not clear on their website) - the UK package companies seem to have removed all of their custom. The week was fine, albeit with very average breakfasts and service, until we went to pay the night before we left. The hotel said they had never heard of the company that we had booked through, despite us showing receipts and booking references (though they subsequently admitted that they did have an active contract with, and rates through, the organisation) and refused payment. This was followed by a series of aggressive and threatening phone calls from the owner and staff to our room, demanding more money than had been agreed in our booking.
When we went to pay and leave the next morning a member of the hotel staff ran and locked us into the hotel, trying to physically attack me when I went to open the door. When paying, the man behind the desk snatched the credit card from the machine, locked himself in the office, and took a copy of it. When he finally returned it, he entered incorrect payment amounts into the machine in the hope that we would be caught out. It was a complete farce, but a scary one; I was travelling with my mother and we were the only people in the entire hotel.
It was a traumatic end to the holiday, both completely unnecessary and deeply unprofessional. The matter could have been sorted out with a friendly attitude and explanation; instead they chose to employ physical intimidation and threats. Their behaviour was appalling and very unlike the Swiss hospitality we have experienced elsewhere.
I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in August, 2011 for 2 nights. Wengen itself is a great place to enjoy and this family hotel is an added bonus to really give you the family atmosphere...When we were there, the hotel is fully booked, so I did not encounter any experience of no breakfast being served...

However, if you are looking for big rooms, this is not the place to go. But for us, family of 4, we spent most of the time outdoors anyways, and coming back to the peaceful hotel is all we need. Besides, their food is great and worth it if you chose the half-board option.

The walk from the station to the hotel is less than 10 minutes, although a bit hilly, and no need for a cab unless you've got a lot of luggage.

Switzerland has become such an expensive place to visit due to currency exchange rate. Should we come back to Switzerland for our next vacation, we will definitely come back to Wengen, come back to this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A bit of a trek from the train station, but you are rewarded with total serenity. The view from my balcony was perfect and the distant sounds of cow bells were soothing. By far the most relaxing place I stayed in Switzerland. However, I believe there was only one other tenant in the entire hotel when I was there, so I don't know how noisy it would be when it's full. The room was very clean and very large for the price. There is free wifi, free access to a computer, and a pool table. One drawback is the staff are not very helpful and though breakfast is advertised as included, they would not put out any breakfast for me because they said they did not have enough people to serve that day (???). They could have at least given me some cereal and milk!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, only realizing after the fact that the reviews were from 2010. First, it cost $16 for a cab to get us and our luggage to the hotel. Second, the only time I saw any staff was when we checked in and out, and then we had to summon the owner via the phone at the front desk. There is no staff that I saw. Towels are provided after two days, sheets changed after five, and if you expect any room service at all, forget it. If you leave your room a mess and the bed unmade, rest assured it will be the same when you get back. Initially, there weren't enough guests to warrant a breakfast at the hotel, but when a few others checked in, we still didn't go.

The halls smell, but I'm not sure of what. The furnishings looks like thrift store rejects right down to the plastic flowers. It was certainly not a warm or welcoming room at all. The only good thing is that the hotel is clean but it is so lacking in everything else I would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We squose an extra ski holiday in towards the end of the season and managed to get a good deal at the Hotel Brunner in Wengen. Alas this was a bad choice of hotel, unless of course you like a room not bIg enough to swing a dwarf cat in, the unpleasant odor of a mixture of cheap pine bleach and sweat and a chef managing on a catering budget somewhere south of £2 a day.This is a truly dreadful hotel in such a fantastic ski resort. Enough was enough after a few days that we paid directly for a room in the much more luxurious Hotel Victoria Laberhorn in the centre of Wengen, which was very good indeed and just across thee road from the cable car and in front of the cog railway station. It left us thinking that you really do get what you pay for and our holiday ended on a very good note in good hotel. Take care over choosing the Brunner.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great hotel 10 minutes walk from Wengen train station, don't worry your bags will transfered to & from the hotel.
We'd booked 4 twin rooms, they all varied in size & bed sizes. The views on the front side are unbelievable looking to the valley head, great to wake up to.Our room 37.
The staff were all very helpful & friendly, especially in accommodating all of our requirements, 2 vegetarians & a coeliac, the evening meal was very good to consider the the chef was on his holidays.The only thing was the drinks were expensive in the hotel.
Breakfast was basic, 3 cearals,1 meat 1 cheese with Jams. The bread & bread buns were fresh everyday & optional eggs.
The hotel is on the ski route back to Wengen, so you can ski straight to the door , when coming down from Kleine Scheidegg or if you come down on the Gondola catch the train up to Allmend or even better Wengernalp & ski back.
The resort has an nice & laid back feel, skiing is taken at the same pace, fairly slow lifts or trains to get you back to the top, but the views all around make up for it. Again food 7 drinks aren't that cheap, but you are in Switzerland.
Overall I loved the hotel & area.
,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We had a south facing room on the third floor. Room was clean and basic (no tv, or hairdryer) but very comfortable and the views from the balcony were superb. We booked this as a package deal and definitely had value for money. Dinner was not very large but with four courses every night was more than enough and the soups were always homemade and delicious. The staff were very friendly.

The lounge is a bit dated but to be honest we were so 'skied out 'every day, we didn't spend any time in it. The ski bar outside is great for a quick drink before removing all your ski clobber at the end of the day. We were so lucky with the weather too, sunny every day and ski conditions in the morning were fantastic. We had a great holiday here and I would recommend a stay here for those who might not be able to afford a luxury hotel.

It's a bit of a trek to the village but it really didn't matter to us. We had a lovely holiday here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Brunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Brunner

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Wengen 3823, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Brunner)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Brunner 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Brunner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunner Hotel Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Brunner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.