We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place and come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galliweidli, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Mijnsheerenland, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love this place and come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

a very nice hotel especially for families. Very excellent employees. Good management. The client is King. Quality and price are in good balance. Service in the hotel from beginning to the end absolutely excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    78
    23
    8
    0
See reviews for
66
80
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now and will definitely go back. It is a traditional hotel with lovely rooms a cosy bar and lounge area. The food is a buffet and good hearty food - needed after a long ski day. I did not like any desserts one night so the waitress brought over a bowl of fruit and ice cream - a nice touch.
The staff are superb and will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble.
It is a bit of a walk uphill from the lifts, but not too troubling - stop at bars on the way for a break.
We were here during the Lauberhorn race week and the Swiss ski team were staying - so must be good then!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is absolutely charming! Although it's not "fancy," it is very cozy and romantic. The staff here are so friendly, and go out of their way to make sure your visit is memorable. Our balcony was facing the North Face, so the views were impeccable. Of the 4 hotels we visited in Swizterland, this was by far our favorite!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the North Face
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Interesting traditional hotel with great views, excellent service and friendly helpful staff. The buffet food was also excellent with lots of healthy options. All dinners included at least one meat (beef, veal, lamb etc) and one fish dish - as I like fish I particularly enjoyed these (whiting, cod, plaice, bream, salmon and one that didn't seem to translate into English). 5 minute traffic free walk to lifts, And prices in the hotel and on the slopes were all very reasonable.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have the view. Ours was very quiet and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel and could not fault it. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome, our room was spacious with a stunning view of the valley, the food (a buffet - which usually puts me off) was varied and excellent and the location was perfect. I will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family and hopefully will return very soon.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 408, we had to pay extra put it was absolutely worth it as the view of the valley cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our 2nd time in Wengen, we stayed at the Silberhorn last year. The rooms are lovely & large at the Belvedere, plenty of room for the ski gear. The bar and lounge area are really quaint & quirky with a lovely log fire, great for relaxing in the evening. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble & they were very friendly. The buffet meals were average having said that we could always find something to eat in the evenings. Breakfasts were good and plenty of it. The walk back from the Mannlichen Gondola in ski boots and carrying skis would have been a problem, but we were able to leave everything at Molitor Sports in their ski room and it was free of charge. If we return to Wengen we would definitely return to The Belvedere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Our third visit. Consistent comfort and quality. Staff very pleasant. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Breakfast always plenty of choice. Evening meal- tasty selection buffet style,salad selection always good. Hot dishes could be better. Bar and lounge enjoy a big open fire.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Galliweidli, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for relaxing holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau.The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today’s comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the „Grand Hotel Belvedere“.Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners’slope and the ice-rink. With the Männlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Männlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking – always with the view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau.Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk – from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe - at 3454 metres altitude which is Europe’s highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.