We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caprice to your Saves list
Hotel Caprice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

Excellent experience with this hotel for our three nights stays in August 2006. Absolutely no complaint whatsoever. We had a room facing the mountain with a large balcony. The view is fantastic from the balcony.

  • Liked — The view. The location. The service.
  • Disliked — The extra bed added to the room for my child is small.
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely get a room on the valley side to get the view.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    45
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
52
110
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

we have enjoyed a very special holiday in a delightful venue, the most wonderful food and hospitality.Thank you to the Aubert family for their special welcome.
The highlight was our evening meal which we cannot praise enough. Well done to the staff, and thank you for a delightful stay.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

I have never written a review at all; I have such little time. However, Hotel Caprice was worth writing about. Every room has a view, so don't worry about asking for a view. There could not be a more beautiful view in the world and no hotel in Wengen can top the view you will get here.
The food was fabulous. I enjoyed having a drink out on the patio outside off of the bar.
Dinner was wonderful. It was candlelit and elegant.
The rooms are fantastic. Flower pots on your balcony.
I can not wait to go back.
Forget renting a car in Switzerland, by the way, and enjoy the fanstastic train travel.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — I loved it all
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

from the minute we arrived and the buggy was there to collect our gear to the minute we sadly had to leave we had the most fabulous time. All the team were friendly and helpfull, the hotel and rooms superb and the food was to die for. We could take up permenant residense there.

  • Liked — boutique style, warm and friendly,fabulous food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — have a laugh and a joke with the team, they were great
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2006

If class is a blend of hight quality, sophistication and discretion, this place is n°1.
Evrerybody is here to please you, no chichi and big words but sincere an personnal. Excellent service, efficient, with a smile very professional with stillness.
Food is amazing, worthy of the Michelin star, they should get it, makes you rediscover the taste of simple fresh products.
The rooms is clear, clean beautiful and comfortable. And all that in the most amazing environnement.
No doubt Caprice is perfect, we will be back.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

Not often do we take to time to write about our stays whether good or bad. However we remember watching a Tom Peters tape on Customer Service and espicially about the Kentucky Redbirds and the owner Ray Smith. In particular his fetish and bug for cleanliness. Now having stayed in many hotels in the USA and UK we have yet to come across cleanliness such as Hotel Caprice. This is what struck us most and to that extent made us take notice of the hotel even more. The rooms were spacious, delightfully clean and balcony's with a view to die for. The only thing missing was the snow but the bike and walking trails as well as the waterfalls were simply outstanding and breathtaking to see. We can only imagine the view when the snow falls. The food was marvellous and coursteous and friendly hosts you could not find. Normally you are greeted with a grunt and thats the last you see. The owners, Monica & Christian are hands on, friendly and take time to answer your questions. A delightful, quaint and a must see(stay). As Arnold says " We'll be BACK"

  • Liked — deffinately the cleanliness and the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing.....maybe no snow ???
  • Tips/Secrets — Views breathtaking from snow capped mountains to cascading waterfall and crsip and clean air
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights at the end of July as part of a package booked with Inghams. See reviews elsewhere about this over rated company! We are regular travellers and we like to pay for comfort so we stay in 4 or 5 star hotels and know what to expect. This hotel is not what most people would expect of a 4 star hotel. The best description is 'fur coat and no nickers.'

The hotel and the room we had were generally clean and well kept. It is very convenient for the station and has some superb views.

The breakfast is poor. Eggs, bacon, sausage etc. are all extras. There are no menus on the tables so you will no easily discover this!

The set evening meal is good but the menu is boring and the manager is a pain. If you go for a-la-carte it is very expensive. During our visit the staff were all hotel management trainees - good - but OTT with their attention to detail.

If you go out at night don't expect to find an open door if you come home late - but your room key will open the door. Be sure to lock up afterwards!

On our final night I paid the bill ready for an early departure the next morning and asked about getting breakfast prior to catching our 06:53 train on the 4 hour journey back to Zurich. The manager could not oblige - not even to the extent of leaving some coffee and a roll. There is no staff available until 07:20, he told me.

The bill is a work of art so far as limited detail is concerned. All those little extras will appear as voucher items - no detail - just many CHF!!

No - definitely not a 4 star hotel. A reasonable, but expensive, 3 star hotel - perhaps!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprice 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning, 4-star, Hotel Caprice is privately owned and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group (since 2007). A luxury hotel constructed in charming Swiss chalet style, Hotel Caprice boasts lavishly appointed, spacious rooms with natural wood decor and large picture windows. Most rooms have incredible south-facing balconies with spectacular views of the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen valley. The fine dining restaurant at Hotel Caprice is renowned for its elegant style and delicious gourmet cuisine served with regional and International influences. Hotel Caprice is conveniently located in Wengen enjoying a prime position for easy access to the slopes in the morning and 'ski-in' status for guests returning at the end of the day. Our vibrant bar and sun terrace areas are perfect for apres ski, whilst our cosy lounge, with open log fire, welcomes guests looking for a more relaxed environment. We also offer a massage service and a FREE Finnish sauna! With over 200km of downhill ski runs and 500km of hiking trails on its doorstep, Hotel Caprice is an excellent choice for both winter sports and summer adventure holidays. At Hotel Caprice we strive to deliver excellence in hospitality, accommodation and food standards with minimum impact on the environment and our beautiful surroundings. Hotel Caprice is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caprice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.