We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caprice to your Saves list
Hotel Caprice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We recently stayed four nights at this hotel. When we checked in we were upgraded to the Jungfrau suite (room #37). The room had an amazing view overlooking the valley and was quite large. The room was a bit outdated. The jets on the tub did not work and there were no electrical outlets in the bathroom. Nonetheless, the view from the balcony more than made up for this. In addition, the hotel is very close to the train station and grocery store which was quite convenient. We had dinner one night at the hotel and it was fantastic. This hotel appears to be known for their restaurant and take pride in their guests eating there. We enjoy trying various locations to eat and found it odd the hotel staff called our room one night to ask if we were coming for dinner. All in all a wonderful stay and we can not wait to go back to this area in Switzerland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    45
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
52
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have just returned from a 9 night holiday at this small luxury hotel of the world. If you are visiting Wengen. Don't bother looking elsewhere. It is right near the railway station. With fantastic views from the terrace. Cannot fault the food some of the best I have eaten in any of my travels abroad. With the most friendly staff. You will not be wrong in choosing this superb hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I could have stayed on the balcony of this hotel and imagined I was in a fairy tale. Amazing.. Stunning.. Incredible.. I don't think I did this justice.

We ended up staying longer than we expected here because we understood it doesn't get better than this. Sit on the porch and just watch the clouds come in and out of the valley. Make sure you have a view of the valley!

Food was ok. Dining room staff was great. Front desk staff was.. sufficient..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for one week in June and it was probably the best holiday and location we've had. The hotel is perfectly situated for the village and trains and the views from the south facing bedrooms and the dining room are magical. But the real surprise, which made our stay so memorable was the food. Every evening meal was 3 or 4 courses and was cooked and presented to gourmet standards - way above the usual holiday fare. We thoroughly recommend everything about the hotel.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a balcony and superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a charming little hotel, perfectly situated in the village of Wengen (you can see it from the little train station). I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful little hotel, with a beautiful view.

Really can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Fantastic skiing holiday in March at the Hotel Caprice.

The hotel rooms are typical Alpine hotel rooms with pine furniture and comfortable beds, nothing remarkable but very pleasant and clean. The rooms have plenty of storage space with a modern bathroom, safe and fridge. The hotel again is Alpine style with a open fires (only lit once during our stay) and comfortable seating. Good boot room and almost ski in access. Only a few minutes walk to the cable car or the mountain railway station.

The breakfast choice was good although the same selection every day. The evening meals were absolutely wonderful and for this the Hotel Caprice deserves Michelin stars. We were on half board and therefore had a set menu every night. But every evening it was something different, all beautifully prepared and presented. A red meat lovers idea of heaven!. The wine list was extensive and reasonably priced. The service especially by the restaurant staff was impressive.

The view from the balcony is breathtaking and watching the sun set and the mini avalanches occuring with a glass of wine was the most wonderful end to a skiing day.

This was our second visit to Wengen having stayed at the Beausite Park before. We much preferred the Hotel Caprice as it was cozy and friendly and better situated with a superior dining experience.

Wengen is a wonderful skiing resort with a great terrain, great transportation in the mountain railway and although expensive is no more expensive than some of the French resorts.

We will return to Wengen and would most definitely return to the Hotel Caprice.

Room Tip: Mountain view is essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajnmail, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Stevienorm,
Thank you very much for your very positive review of Hotel Caprice, and particularly the excellent review of Restaurant Caprice. It is very much appreciated by myself, the management, and all the Hotel Caprice team. We very much look forward to your next visit.
Alan J Norris, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A cozy boutique luxury hotel with a million dollar view! Top notch cuisine with highly skilled chefs. The staff was attentive and very welcoming. We stayed as a family and were extremely comfortable. The rooms were exceptional and very clean. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprice 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning, 4-star, Hotel Caprice is privately owned and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group (since 2007). A luxury hotel constructed in charming Swiss chalet style, Hotel Caprice boasts lavishly appointed, spacious rooms with natural wood decor and large picture windows. Most rooms have incredible south-facing balconies with spectacular views of the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen valley. The fine dining restaurant at Hotel Caprice is renowned for its elegant style and delicious gourmet cuisine served with regional and International influences. Hotel Caprice is conveniently located in Wengen enjoying a prime position for easy access to the slopes in the morning and 'ski-in' status for guests returning at the end of the day. Our vibrant bar and sun terrace areas are perfect for apres ski, whilst our cosy lounge, with open log fire, welcomes guests looking for a more relaxed environment. We also offer a massage service and a FREE Finnish sauna! With over 200km of downhill ski runs and 500km of hiking trails on its doorstep, Hotel Caprice is an excellent choice for both winter sports and summer adventure holidays. At Hotel Caprice we strive to deliver excellence in hospitality, accommodation and food standards with minimum impact on the environment and our beautiful surroundings. Hotel Caprice is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caprice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.