We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Wengen
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful time at this hotel in Wengen. The location is perfect right by the train station and cable car, room was beautiful, views from the balcony are incredible. Breakfast and dinner were good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    66
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is excellently located in the centre of town opposite the cable car and only a minutes walk from the station. It has great facilities including a children's park, table tennis table, giant chess set and swimming pool (though children have to swim quietly and one member of the staff was little vociferous in making this known). Otherwise, other staff were friendly, the family room we had was spacious and had lovely views and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was in front of the station. You can go to hotel from the main street. Also from the station, you will just turn to left then you will find the hotel. It is easier to come with your luggage.

In the hotel, some rooms are mountain view. Unfortunately, I was not assigned to the room. But once I got out, I could see mountains.

There are good view points near the hotel. Walking down the slope along the rail, you will find a open view point near a church.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We've enjoyed three nights here and have been totally satisfied: Friendly service at reception and in the restaurant, clean rooms, well equipped bath rooms. Rooms with spacious balconies and great views: mountains and valleys ... we shall come back! And Wengen is so calm and quiet, without any cars!
The must to see: Kleine Scheidegg, Jungfrauchjoch: Top of Europe, Männlichen, Grindelwald are not far and easy to reach by train and cable car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in September 2013 for three nights. This hotel is so amazing. Check in was smooth and we got the type of room we reserved with a balcony facing southbound looking towards Jungfrau. When we walked into our room, everything was clean with a very clean new bathroom. When we walked out on the balcony, our jaws dropped. The view was unbelievable. Such beauty!! We spent a lot of time on that balcony taking in the views. Easily the prettiest place I have ever been.

We paid for the half board which included a wonderful buffet breakfast and a 4 course dinner every day. We thought it was well worth the additional cost. You could also choose a voucher to the attached Pasta and More restaurant. We did this one of the nights and it was delicious.

The spa is so relaxing. From the salt water pool to the steam room and sauna, to the relaxation room which overlooks the mountains......amazing!! As Americans, it was our first time in a truly European spa and the first time experiencing the nudity. Let me just let everyone know, it is very liberating, relaxing, and the way it should be. We spent everyday at the spa after hiking and touring around. Wonderful place to unwind before dinner. Then take a short walk to Migros grocery and pick up some wine or beer and enjoy the beautiful views on the balcony before dinner. Again, amazing!

We were very sad to leave this hotel because it truly is someplace special. I hope that we get the opportunity tosomeday return to this gem of a hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived at this hotel to a lovely clean room. They are ECO friendly so if you need towels you can put them in the shower to be replaced. The room had 2 single beds which were comfy with lovely duvets. There was a hairdryer which I always find useful having long hair.The breakfast has a huge selection and there is even a lowered area for kids meals so they can help themselves. The evening meals were spendid and we never had the same thing twice. The starter was served then you helped yourself to soup then the salad table were then serves with the main course and sweet. All very well served and presentation was superb. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. There was a wellness centre with some gym equipment and a lovely pool which had salt water. There is also a solarium and sauna but nudes only. Not for the faint hearted. The bar had some entertainment in the evening. A guy playing the keyboard and singing. There was a also a family area and a kids area with toys for the children. The manageress made herself known to everybody to make sure all was well. The staff are on top of everything so there are no problems here. The location is just a the train station on one side and the chair lift on the other so really accessible for skiers and walkers alike. Although close to amenities there is no noise. Out in the small street there is a variety of bars and shops.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good but it is extra if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week in February on a package ski holiday.

As a Skiing location in Wengen, it's pretty much perfect.

The staff are universally helpful and friendly, our room (in the new wing over the Pasta & More restaurant) wasn't huge, but big enough for two, with a hot, powerful shower and enough hooks around the room to hang damp ski clothes overnight. There was a small, but usable (we didn't) balcony with great views over the mountains.

The beds were comfortable enough, but it got pretty warm in the rooms and we ended up sleeping with our window open to avoid overheating (our only complaint).

Food was on a fixed-meal basis. You could chose to opt for a Vegetarian option or take a 20 CHF voucher for Pasta & More, but we never bothered either as the food on offer was both tasty and generous. Our only quibble was we had to pay for even water with our meal, which seemed a big tight fisted, but I understand isn't unusual.

There's a heated boot room downstairs and a separate ski room, meaning your boots are dry and warm each morning (and your walking boots the same when you get back).

It was about 50 yards to the Mannlichen lift from the ski room door (I skiied to the steps to our hotel more than once) and the Station is about a 2 minute walk through the (mostly) traffic free centre.

There's a pool and gym, but we never got around to using either and a spa (at extra cost I presume).

We paid a very reasonable amount for a week here (No-one expects Switizerland and especially Wengen to be cheap), but it felt like we were getting our money's worth hotel wise.

It's not 5 star, and makes not pretence to be so, but it's certainly a high class of 3+ star and avoids the stuffiness and oppressiveness that 4 and 5 star hotels often affect to let you know how 'high standard' they are.

We enjoyed Wengen, but probably won't rush back, but if we did, we'd happily stay at the Victoria-Lauberhorn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#8 Family Hotel in Wengen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ferien in familiarer Umgebung Wir bieten Ihnen die perfekte Ausgangslage fur Ihre Ferientage im autofreien Wengen auf der windgeschutzten Sonnenterrasse hoch uber dem Lauterbrunnental. Das aus dem Jahre 1897 stammende Haus wurde im Jahr 2000 total renoviert und erweitert. Es liegt ruhig und dennoch zentral und nur wenige Schritte vom Bahnhof Wengen und der Mannlichenbahn entfernt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Lauberhorn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.