We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience in Wengen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silberhorn to your Saves list
Hotel Silberhorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfplatz, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Wengen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“A good experience in Wengen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and genuinely try to make your stay a happy one. The restaurant is excellent, with 5 ourse nouvelle cuisine dinners, and a large (but not overpriced) wine list. Bedrooms are variable in standard, but all are clean and the bathrooms are of high standard. Neighbours noises could be heard through the bathroom walls! The rooms on the upper floors with balconies are certainly the ones of choice. Wengen can be a ski season time warp, with theavarage age making even me feel young, but the hotel tries to make this as reasonable as possible.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    73
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
76
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

Having stayed in Wengen before we were already smitten with the restort. However we picked The Silberhorn this time due to it's proximity to the station and the main cable car up the mountain.

We upgraded our room a week before arrival direct with the hotel which was less than half the cost of doing this via the travel agent (Thomson ski). We had a fantastic South facing room on the 4th floor which was tastefully decorated. It had a very large bath which was very welcome and the room was serviced to a high standard every day.

The food was excellent. A wide choice at breakfast (although the hot food was identical every day). Cereals, breads, meats, cheeses and tons of fresh fruit plus sausage, bacon and eggs. We went to breakfast at various times during the week and never went short of anything. Dinner was a five course extravaganza every night - small portions which was just as well but very nice. We did eat out one night at Sinas and had the best rump steak.

Just a point on the food front, if you are having a very early start on your last day, let them know the morning before and they will do you a bag of food to keep you going - conveniently left on reception for you to collect.

I second what others have said about the staff. They really make the hotel. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly and the service was excellent. Our Italian/Australian waiter was superb with a great sense of humour.

They have an excellent ski/boot room with boot warmers which meant no more wet feet. As most guests seemed to be later risers there was no 'bun fight' to get kitted up which helped us early skiiers.

All in all a fantasic hotel, highly recommended and we are considering another visit next year, pennies permitting.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2007

I have just returned from a week in the Hotel Silberhorn. We were a party of 7 (My wife & I, 2 sons & other halves and 1 4-month old grandson).

Our rooms were bright and had good views and good bathrooms (nice deep baths - ski-ing essentials!?).

Very good breakfasts and dinners were good, especially on Sunday.

One can eat in the 2 other hotels owned by the same company or in the restaurant downstairs.

The building is perfectly situated, a stone's throw from the station, and the Hotel porter was waiting to collect our luggage off the train.

The best part of the hotel was the staff. They were always polite, friendly and did everything to help one - particularly my son and his wife with their small son.

Hotels can be lovely buildings with beautiful views etc. - but it is the STAFF that makes them really good.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

Wengen iZanzibar International Hoteltself is a very pretty, family orientated village 4000m above sea level and this could not be faulted in any way. We felt very safe there and everyone was friendly.

However we have just come back from one of the worst holidays I have ever had thanks to a poorly run 4* Hotel.
We stayed between 27/12/06 - 03/01/07.

The Silberhorn is under new management and their customer service has gone down hill in the last 6 months.

Apparently a few months ago a consortium purchased 3 of the hotels in Wengen and changed most the staff to people from neighbouring countries who do not speak any language very well, get poorly paid, and do not understand how to put the customer first....resulting in lots of complaints from the guests.

I will try to be as constructive as possible :

3/4 of the guests were English when we stayed.

Good points :

Wengen is very pretty, family orientated, and you feel safe.
Wengen has good transport connections.
The hotel is very central.
The Hotel is generally kept clean.
The decor is dated, but in keeping with the area.
The staff do listen to your complaints (without interupting, but do little to correct them)

Bad points :

My main gripe is with the restaurant service and food, which I feel is a big part of the holiday. We were staging Half board.

Overall there was a good selection of food at breakfast, however ; there was only sausage,bacon and scrambled eggs from the hot servery every day. Every single day we had to ask for this to be replenished when empty, and when it came it was under cooked - almost raw bacon !

All the rest of the food was cold servery, cheeses, rolls, cereals, yogurts etc, all tasted nice ; but run out quick and every single day we had to ask for this to be replenished when empty.

Tea and coffee pots with no lids on, so they went cold quickly....and no normal tea....only herb teas or Earl Grey. No normal breakfast tea.

At breakfast you were given the evening meal menu and had to decide what you wanted that evening. This is a first for me.... I don't want to think about the evening meal when I am eating breakfast !

We were in a party of 8 and all sat on one table. Now bearing in mind we had ordered the evening meal 9 hours before they managed to cock it up every single night without fail.

We waited 40 minutes between some courses. The food came up cold....and when sent back it was re-heated...not freshly cooked. We sent our re-heated chicken back (re-heating chicken can make you very ill) and waited another 20 minues.

Alot of the food was raw and had to be re-cooked. So when we asked to change it to something else we were told by the waiter that it was not possible as the chef only spoke Polish and could not understand him.

It turns out that ALL the food is bought in that morning in packets and heated up by the so called chefs ( microwave operatives more like !!! ) before serving, and thats why we had to order it in the morning .

When we complained , which was at least twice everynight, we were offered one drink complimantary by the director, which we accepted , but it was hardly going to sort matters out.

Our waiter was very rude and said to us 'This is not McDonalds Sir'. To which we replied - I wish is was - at least the foods hot !

To sum up the food was cold, undercooked, mirowaved junk - not something you would expect in a 4* Hotel with a so-called good reputation.

------------------

I went to change some English up into Swiss Francs to be told by the reception staff that they only had a little amount of Swiss money and had to save it for the guests. When I pointed out I was a guest they refused to change any money up !

Every night the reception was busy with people making complaints. The director openly told us that most people were complaining , and that he could not be everywhere at once.

I hope this review makes sense, and my advise to you is - don't waste your money on this hotel - go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Dark rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here !
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

Have just returned from my fourth visit to Wengen, and my first stay at Hotel Silberhorn. Travelling with my three young children. First given room on first floor overlooking terrace. Room very old fashioned; peeling paint, shared balcony. Windows only opened wide into room and full length, very heavy net curtains got in way. Disappointed as had paid hefty supplement for superior room. First night slept well as tired after very early start. Second night woken at 2 am by thumping disco music and bright lights from entrance walkway. Third night thumping disco music started up again. Couldn't sleep so phoned reception. Music turned down but still audible thumping and very bright lights. Went down to reception and was offered opportunity of changing rooms the following day.

Next day given lovely room on 2nd floor; far superior decor and amenities and private balcony. Most of all, very quiet and peaceful. No disco noise/lights at all. This room was far nicer than original room given and therefore I am puzzled as to how the original room could be described as the superior room.

Restaurant very nice; efficient, friendly service. Great children's menu. Food mostly very pleasant but some choices a little unusual/rich. There were not many children staying while we were there, and none as young as my 2 year old, and I felt slightly awkward as he was quite noisy/messy. However, no complaints from any other guests and he became very fond of our waitress who was great with him.

Fantastic location next to railway station.

Travelling with three children we found the hotel a little quiet with not much for them to do actually in the hotel - small playroom was okay, but very cramped and located in what seemed like a large cupboard. Playground outside consisted of an ancient slide very near to a sheer drop (with very small fence) and broken-down, practically unsuable (due to broken seat) see-saw.

I probably wouldn't stay at the Silberhorn myself again, at least not while my children are young. In order for parents' to relax the children need to be occupied, and I would try to find a hotel with more amenities specifically for children next time.

Wengen itself though is great: they loved the mountain railways and cable-cars, and it was very easy to get around, even with a pushchair. There is a nice park in Wengen itself, and another even better one just a short cable-car ride up the mountain, which also has fantastic views of the whole area.

  • Liked — Second room given, very spacious, comfortable, lovely views. Food very nice and plentiful. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — First room given, on first floor, old fashioned and basic.
  • Tips/Secrets — Not really suitable for very young children as not enough to keep them occupied for parents to relax.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

Silberhorn is a wonderful hotel in the lovely village of Wengen. We (2 adults, one 3-year old) stayed there at the end of july 2006. (don’t mix it with Silberhorn in Lauterbrunnen which didn’t look half as nice.)

Wengen is car-free and it has a small cosy railway station. Because there are no cars and buses, it has a very relaxed atmosphere compared to for example Grindelwald which has quite a lot of traffic. We left our car in the parking garage in Lauterbrunnen (about EUR 40 for a week)

Because it has a good system of little mountain trains and lifts, the area is relatively easy to access, even with a three year old. It has beautiful options for hiking (we only tried the relatively easy ones) and Wengen is well positioned for visiting the entire area (Grindelwald has a slightly better location to visit all the attractions).

We definitely recommend the Jungfrau pass to all that stay in Wengen for a couple of days and want to cover a good part of the area. It is CHF 190 (EUR 125) for 6 days of unlimited travel which seemed to us like a lot of money in the beginning but it is good value compared to buying a ticket every day. And to get around, you really need it.

Because we used the train extensively, we really liked the location of the hotel opposite to the station which saves you the hassle of uphill walking at the end of a tiring day. (don’t be afraid of noise: the trains are small and slow and therefore silent and don’t run at night).

The reception at the hotel was very friendly during our entire visit. We got a 2-room apartment which was very nice (cosy, don’t expect anything really modern). The breakfast was fine, the 5-course dinner was sometimes experimental and not always to our liking. However, the way we were treated by the staff definitely made up for that. We didn’t see any other little children in the hotel during our stay but they really took good care of our daughter. There is a small playground, that needs some updating.

During our walks in the evening we came across a number of the other hotels in Wengen mentionned in Tripadvisor. Compared to what we saw, Silberhorn was very nice and when we go back in a few years time when our daughter will be able to do some hiking herselves, we will definitely stay in hotel Silberhorn again!

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Expiremental diners
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy it! Go up in the mountains by train!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

We didn't expect much after arriving at Hotel Silberhorn.
The front desk was very helpful and friendly to check us in. After we arrived in our room on the fifth floor via an escelator, it took our breath away. The room was much, much larger as expected, a nice little balcony overviewing the Lauterbrunnen Valley (an exceptional view from our balcony), clean and nice size bathroom with everything you would expect. Our other window on the side of our room was very large. A very quiet room. Breakfast was also outstanding. Very helpful waiters never missed a beat to serve you more coffee or tea. The buffet had different kinds of breads, meats, cheeses, etc. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Dorfplatz, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silberhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Silberhorn is found in car-free Wengen, surrounded by impressive mountains in the Bernese Oberland at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is located right in the center of the village and is the perfect starting point for various excursions around the Jungfrau region. The hotel is in the opposite of the Jungfrau railway station Wengen - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! As per our device ,,everything under one roof" the Silberhorn offers all amenities to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. At the hotel you find our new spa and wellness area, the Swiss ski school, the sports shop Alpia, a jewelry shop as well as our a la carte restaurant ,,Silberhornstube". Due to the big advantage of its location, right in the heart of the village, you are able to create your holiday perfectly: next to the hotel Silberhorn you find in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car, right next to our hotel, you reach within 5 minutes walk the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the breathtaking view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silberhorn
Best Western Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silberhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.