We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home….” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenrose to your Saves list
Alpenrose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wengen, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home from Home….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband has been coming to Wengen for many more years than he would care to remember but we have been coming to this wonderful family run hotel for the past 5 years and will continue to do so from now on! We have tried other hotels in Wengen but the hospitality & friendliness of Ursula & her parents - along with all their staff - are in a league of their own and that makes their guests feel very special and want to return year after year. Every whim is catered for with minimum fuss. The food is outstanding and I agree with the last review - The Alpenrose really is the best kept secret in Wengen……

Room Tip: They have an arrangement with Central Sports to leave your skis & boots in the lockers there….a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    33
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
51
135
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Although I have visited the picture postcard perfect village of Wengen on a number of occasions since the early 1980s, this was my first stay at the Alpenrose. I had been recommended to stay here by a good friend and the recommendation turned out to be exemplary.
From the moment you walk through the doors of the Alpenrose, you just know it is going to be a very special stay. Family owned and run, this hotel has a long (130 year) heritage to maintain and they do it exceptionally well. The staff are genuinely friendly and efficient, the rooms are scrupulously clean and the five course dinners are really memorable. The quality of food and standard of cooking are extremely high. The bar and surrounding area is incredibly comfortable. It is like a home away from home. And yet the prices are not high at all, especially when one considers the value for money aspect.
The views across the valley are quite spectacular, if like me you had a room with a balcony in front.
My skiing trip was all too short and I cannot wait to book at the Alpenrose next year. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in, anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room with balcony. The views are simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We first came to this wonderful traditional hotel for a walking holiday in 2005 and have been coming ever since. Previously we had stayed in other hotels in Wengen all of which were very good but what sets this one apart is the warmth of the welcome, not only from the owners but also the staff many of whom come back to work there year after year.

The hotel I think is one of the oldest in the village, it has wonderful views and it is worth getting one the rooms at the front with a balcony, particularly in the summer and lighter winter months if finances allow - you will never forget the view but you will soon forget the few extra pounds on the credit card. The upgraded rooms are very nice and are a similar style to the main lounge/reception area with warm colours. The lounge/reception area is well designed with lots of seating areas so different parties/groups can sit together in distinct areas. There are some very interesting books on the history of the area which is where downhill skiing really got going. The food is pretty good and seems to have got better since our last visit. Its actually worth asking the maître d for his recommendation on the wine list, we deliberately chose swiss wines all week but it was only on the last day we asked what he would recommend from the swiss ones - the one he chose was the best of the week and actually a bit cheaper.
The hotel is located down the hill a bit from the centre which sounds a pain - it isnt. The hotel has a couple of minbuses to whizz people up and down to the village and is very efficient, even though most guests were skiing we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to get a lift up the hill. The walk is in any case pretty short and if you are skiing or walking in the summer is actually a pretty good way to fire up the engines in the morning. If you call them when you are on the train to Lauterbrunnen they will be waiting to pick you and your luggage up by the time you get to Wengen. If you are skiing you can leave your skis/boots etc in the rental lockers at central sport in the centre of the village next to the main cable station so it means you can walk up and down in shoes not ski boots - bliss.
The hotel does some package deals including lift passes at certain times which are very good value, in fact incredible value when you think that Mr Brown and his band of economic illiterates crashed the value of the £ from about 2.40 francs to 1.45 francs to the £.
All in all a great traditional hotel with genuinely friendly & helpful staff worth staying in the winter or summer.
There are only two things I would change - more UK TV channels on the telly (a lot of guests come from the UK) and a shower room for the loons like me who want to ski until the last possible moment and get changed long after checking out before jumping on the train to the airport.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for room at front with balcony upgraded rooms even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is the forth visit we have had to the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience once again. All of the dining room staff were helpful and polite as usual as well as the hosts. We look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have more british TV channels than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent, traditional, family-run hotel with staff who really do everything they can to make one's holiday a success. The rooms are comfortable; the food so good one does not want to eat anywhere else - particularly when they have one of their buffets.
It is a short walk up to the village but for anyone who is there to walk or ski it is nothing and there is always transport on hand if required.
We will happily return and recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed as a group here (our second time) and had a great holiday. The staff are very friendly and put a lot of effort into making your stay a good one. It was nice to be given a lift up to the centre of Wengen (about a 7-minute uphill walk) in the mornings.

The dinners are excellent - five or six courses each night. The breakfast is good, but could be more varied when you're staying there for a week.

The foyer and bar area is very comfortable and easy to relax in.

British travellers beware - there are no tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms, but we took a mini kettle. Or you can order drinks in the lounge area.

They've put new TVs in recently, which have loads of TV and radio channels from around the world, so we enjoyed waking up to BBC Radio 4 in the mornings.

The only main drawback is the lack of spa or pool, which is often a nice way to relax after skiing. We went to the Victoria Lauberhorn one afternoon, which has a lovely (if fairly pricey) spa.

Overall, a nice, peaceful, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is family run and made us at home immediately.
friendly relaxing hotel.
we occupied a chalet just across road from hotel and it was very spacious and had spectacular views across the Lauterbrunnen valley.
Food was a good standard & I loved the communal lounge.
Nevre had to wait mopre than few minutes for hotel transport up to station.
Hope to return next time we visit Wengen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose

Address: Wengen, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#11 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.