We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning for ppl booking from USA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Alpenrose to your Saves list
Alpenrose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wengen, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warning for ppl booking from USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just wanted to warn people who do there booking from USA, as when I booked my tickets from priceline they booked me for Alpenrose in Saxeton. So here is my story... When I arrived at Zurich, we didn't receive one of our bags, so I had to report it and give hotel names so they can send luggage to our hotels. I call Alpenrose to let them know that our bags will be arriving in Wengen and we won't be there until tomorrow as we were spending 1 night in Lucerne. They were kind enough to let us no that we didn't have any booking with them and check our paperwork. Overall, I can't thank Alpenrose for their kindness and thank you for holding my bag. Please book directly with hotels that you are interested, you can always cancel your booking 24 hours prior to your stay without any cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    32
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
130
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed seven nights and enjoyed this hotel greatly. We had a superiour room with wonderful views. it is enough outside the centre to be quiet, without being too long a walk. The uphill start to each day helped us get the muscles working. The family atmosphere was alive and well with all that entails. The half board option was very good value for money, with only a couple of meals over the week raising smiles as to the rather quirky combinations. The buffet supper was stunning. Given the rather ridiculous cost of food in Switzerland the rates for supper were well worth the occasional 'miss'. Good wifi and bathroom. There is an older feel to it at times, mainly due to the older couples, some of whom have been going for years, but some younger people arrived later in the week and lifted the atmosphere, as did some of the younger Muslim guests - good to have the mix. Ursula as the latest generation owner has that difficult balance to manage between not alienating the older regular clients whilst welcoming the new. We felt her welcome and were sad to leave, albeit to travel and explore another part of Switzerland. If we returned, we would return to Hotel Alpenrose.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is fabulous and very romantic! The place is stunning and very cozy! The staff is extremely helpful and polite. The owners welcome us personally and they are very friendly. The rooms are perfect and very well decorated. The food is fantastic, really special! I highly recommend this hotel! It is a piece of paradise in Swiss Alps!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just stayed at this family run hotel (over 100 years)...beautiful rooms (we were in the Chalet Rossi) with amazing views and incredible service! We were traveling with our 19 year old son who stayed in a smaller room ...can't say enough good things about the staff! Experience was excellent from the booking til when we left...everyone is assigned a table...we were moved closer to the windows after the first night ..and we felt the staff took the time to learn our likes and cater to them...a gracious place to stay in a charming village...and so many hikes...would definitely recommend and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were newcomers to this hotel, and to Switzerland itself, and got a great room on the higher floor with amazing views across the valley. Had we been facing the other side the views up to the top of Männlichen are also stunning so don't let the room location put you off.. enough said about that.

The hotel itself is very special indeed. Spotlessly clean in all areas, very comfortable rooms and lovely public living room areas downstairs. Decor hints at Swiss lodge style but is nicely understated and modern. The 5 course meal every night was fab, and actually great value compared to restaurants in the area. From the first hearty handshake to the last farewell the family and staff were outstanding - way beyond the call of duty. One small example: As we checked out in the morning, we heard that a tree had fallen on the tracks over night and no trains were running from Wengen, and not likely to for several hours. The hotel owner insisted on travelling with us and our luggage in the van to help us find a way out. She put us on the cable car over Männlichen to Grindelwald and assured us she'd arrange a taxi there to whisk us by road to Interlaken to pick up our connection. The driver had been well briefed as he then treated us to a white-knuckle ride by road to Interlaken. A journey normally 80-90 minutes (by cable car and road) was done in 55!! Swiss efficiency at its best.

Wow'd by Switzerland, loved this hotel. Will definitely return..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont california
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were here for the first time but most of their guests have been there for many years and they get priority for the better rooms and better seats in the dining room.
The rooms are charming but be sure you only take the rooms with a view as otherwise they will be very dark. As a first timer even though the best rooms are on the top floors you will probably get a room on a lower floor. The dinner that is included is very good but not gourmet.
There is a beautiful place to sit outside on lounge chairs and look at the mountains

Room Tip: You want a room with a view on a higher floor but the best rooms go to repeat customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Given the high costs of Switzerland, I can't say enough about using the Alpenrose as a base for touring the Jungfrau area. The extended family that runs this hotel is extremely helpful. Hot lines at Lauterbrunnen and Wengen train stations allow direct calls to hotel for luggage pickup(highly recommended given everything in Wengen is up or down). Hotel has maps, can dispense mountain train tix, and lots of free advice. Multi-course dinners were perfect after slogging back with day of hiking, started by cocktails on the terrace with jaw dropping views. Nice wine list given the altitude. Rooms are rustic but well appointed, like a true Swiss lodge. Public areas work great. Sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Nice to have valley views, but you can save money by looking at the back hills from your room, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose

Address: Wengen, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.