We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen to your Saves list
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Wengen, first time at this hotel. This hotel is located in a good position opposite the cable car, so you don't have to walk far after a days skiing. The hotel is very clean and tidy, slightly dated but we understand some of it is being refurbished soon. The food is good with a daily choice of meat and vegetarian options, they also cater for people with food intolerances and are more than happy to do this. We paid the extra and had the valley room which meant we had the sun on the balcony in the afternoon, but the church bells were annoying as rang throughout the night on the hour. Staff were excellent, our waiter Andre was fantastic. On the negative side, it is expensive for what it is and the drinks were particularly pricey. Although the hotel is non smoking guests are allowed to smoke on the balcony, and this means that you cannot leave your door open as the smoke drifts from nearby rooms. Also, Children were running through the restaurant and the bar and this was particularly dangerous as the waiters were bringing out hot food. One other slight moan, the loo roll was really, really rough ! Other than that, not bad.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time for the review. We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    61
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
130
126
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Second time we've stayed here and we were not disappointed. The service is great - staff are attentive and nothing gets missed (shower head not working properly - fixed without reporting it). I should also mention that Brigitte on reception is fantastic. We'd definitely recommend halfboard as food excellent. Wengen itself is very good - although don't expect a party town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your rating! We forwarded your nice comments to Brigitte and she was very happy about it!! Thanks for mentioning her name, it is a great motivation for a staff to be commented like this. Best regards from Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Sunstar at the end of March for a week. The location of the Hotel is perfect just 50 m from the cable car, < 5min walk to train station and the door to Hotel's Ski/bbot room is opposite the InterSport Ski rental Shop. The hotel has very good food, buffet breakfast along with buffet salads and starters for dinner with a choice of three soups, main courses and desserts served at the table. The waiters were extremely efficient and friendly. The pool is very big for a hotel, the sauna and steam bath excellent and all included in the room price. The rooms were well cleaned every day. The only downside for us was that the room was a bit narrow paricularly once the sofa in the downstairs part of the room was unfolded into a bunk bed for the children. Otherwise an extremely nice hotel and Wengen is a lovely ski village.

Room Tip: Room 403 was quite narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for writing your experiences at our Sunstar Wengen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen for a week and had a very good skiing holiday. This is our third Sunstar hotel (previously we stayed at Davos and Saas Fee).

The location on the main high street is very convenient for both the train station and cable car. Our luggage was collected from the station which was very thoughtful and the initial welcome informative. Oliver the manager is a 'larger than life' character and both the ski tour (Monday afternoon) and the mountain hut raclette event (Tues evening) are to be recommended. Tip: take your ski poles for the walk through the forest it helps with the decent too. The breakfast and dinner buffets are extensive. The overall menu and wine list good, with a heavy emphasis on local and traditional Swiss fare.

The eco friendly nature and ethos of the Sunstar group is to be commended but just be aware to means the swimming pool at 28C can be a little bracing and the wicker chairs (presumably renewable energy) in the rooms and public areas are quite uncomfortable. Maybe there is another more comfortable wooden version ? The rooms are more 3 Star in terms of décor but the views; if a balcony is requested; are stunning.

The downside is the thoroughfare to the children's playroom through the bar and sitting room. Other reviewers have commented as well about this, as it makes for a very noisy and 'non-relaxing' after dinner experience. Clearly the responsibility for children's behaviour rests with the parents and not the hotel staff (who were also frustrated by the disturbances) but for the management please can you consider changing the route of access?

We are unlikely to return to this particular hotel without assurances that changes have been made but will probably try Grindelwald next year as the whole Jungfrau region is fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
First of all thank you very much for your honest and positive response. Yes, it is true, that over New Year and in February during school holidays many families stay at our family friendly Sunstar Wengen. A small tipp, if you prefer it a bit more quiet we would recommend to visit us in January or March ;-) if this would suit to you. Thanks again & all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice swimming pool. Marvelous and luxurious dinner. Good breakfast. The rooms are simple, but have a very good view. The beds are comfortable. Furniture is simple. No "wow" factor in rooms, and the most "wow" is during the dinner :-)

Room Tip: Rooms with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much, we appreciate your opinion. To have a good deal it is always worth to check out website for special offers and we have a Sunstar loyality programme which could give you further discounts. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from the Sunstar. The first time we stayed there was in 1993. Over the years we have stayed ay four other hotels in Wengen. This is the first time that we have been there since Oliver arrived. We were blessed with glorious weather, fine snow conditions and excellent service. In our opinion the hotel is the best located hotel in the village. The food and service was first class. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the views across the valley were fabulous. It is a shame we had to come home.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Graham
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice comments. Hope to meet you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have now just returned from our 15th stay in Wengen 15 which included 6 other hotels from the Falken to The Park Beausite. Our nine visits to The Sunstar confirms our absolute love and confidence that we have here in the Sunstar where on each occasion the service, comfort and lovely staff have been absolutely 1st class. It is clearly apparent that their enthusiasm for their smiles and enthusiasm exudes from the hosts Oliver and Katja. It was lovely that our request for our favourite valley view room was saved for us, and a lovely bubbly surprise on ice awaited our arrival. The food with multi choice menus is excellent, and the central position on the main street opposite the Mannlichen, and within easy reach of the station couldn't be bettered. Can't wait till next year.

Room Tip: Choose a valley room if you prefer a quiet evening and an excellent view. Not that there is much noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Robert
Many thanks for taking your time for this review, we appreciate your loyality to the Sunstar Wengen for so many years and are looking forward to your next visit!
Best regards from Wengen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#2 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.