We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most friendly Hotel we have visied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen to your Saves list
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The most friendly Hotel we have visied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have visited the Sunstar Hotel in Wengen for the last five years for our annual skiing holiday.
We have always been made welcome by all the staff. We find the location very convenient for the Cable Car and the railway.
The hotel has a full programme of activities during each week including curling lessons, and during the week the Hotel Manager takes guests on a ski guided tour of the beautiful mountain region.
The Hotel has a large swimming pool, sauna, and steam room. The West facing rooms have views over the Lauterbrunnen Valley.
The Hotel restaurant provided excellent food and service.
We would recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to have a comfortable Ski holiday in one of the most beautiful areas in the World.

Room Tip: West facing rooms are best for the views. The East facing rooms look out over the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    61
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
129
126
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our fourth stay at this hotel and it was excellent as usual. The location is very good for those with young children and the facilities in the hotel are very good - superb big swimming pool, lovely sauna and steam room. Rooms are good - we opt for two interconnecting rooms which gives the four of us enough space. They are not 'luxury' but good for a family skiing holiday. Food is good, particularly breakfast. I am generally not a fan of set meals in hotels and do feel the Sunstar could do a bit more with the evening meal,however this is me being pernickety!
Overall a very good hotel which (as you would expect) is very efficiently run.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are better for families as they suffer from slightly less noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We returned for the 5th time in succession to this lovely hotel for our annual pilgrimage to the ski slopes and were not disappointed. Everything worked like clockwork, from the friendly porter waiting for us at the station, the welcome gluwein at reception on arrival to Oliver and Katya's warm personal welcome. We had booked a village view room so were pleasantly surprised to be allocated a valley view room with balcony. We had persuaded friends to come with us and they were thrilled by the high standards maintained and the friendly atmosphere. The salad buffet at dinner is unsurpassed and the wonderful pool means that if the skiing conditions are not the best we know we can get some good exercise at the end of the day, or ease our aching limbs in the sauna or steam room. It is beginning to feel like home from home so I sincerely hope we will be able to return next year.

Room Tip: If you are an insomniac and are in a valley view room, you will hearing the church bell strike the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Total customer focus from the managers to all staff we encountered. For dinner the restaurant served up as many courses as the average appetite could cope with and each dish reflected the capability of the chef. Hearty breakfasts with lots of options were available, and started a long day on the slopes really well. Great bar with the friendly Vasco supervising and an open fire to complete the alpine experience. From the endlessly cheerful chap who looked after the suitcase pick up to the staff who helped us print off our return trip boarding passes, service was of the highest order. We did not manage to go to any of Oliver's hosted events but rather regret that especially if they were as well designed and delivered as the rest of the hotel services. To top all a brilliant location opposite the gondola. Will be going again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were good, especially the duplex rooms. Entertainment and separate dinners for the children every night. Dinner was good but there could be more variety - fondue, raclette, etc. Pool and sauna were great. Location is good - short walk to the cable car or train.

Most importantly, the staff did everything possible to make the holiday a great success.

Many thanks to Olivier (owner) and his team.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have just returned from our Christmas holiday at the Sunstar in Wengen. What a lovely place to spend Christmas, it was cozy and everybody made us feel very welcome. It started on our arrival when we were picked up from the station by Oliver at 10 pm on a Saturday evening, followed by a superb introduction to the hotel. He also ran a skiing afternoon to show us the ski area and he took part in a Raclet evening in a local hut. He and his wife were very much present throughout the holiday to make sure everything was running smoothly. We could not have asked for more: good food, comfortable rooms and excellent service, we will certainly come again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my second visit to the Sunstar this year, every time it gets even better. As ever the hotel was clean, friendly and very welcoming. Everybody I met from the Hosts, Mr & Mrs Kienzler, to the cleaners had a warming and friendly smile. Reception welcomed me by name each time I approached them and were extremely helpful. Even though the hotel was very busy Mr Kienzler was able to personally assist me when I had a problem with a local issue.

The organised hotel entertainment was extremely enjoyable, they even arranged for Santa Claus to visit, bringing Mulled Wine and Chestnuts for the adults along with presents for the children and marshmallows that they could toast on the open fire. I also attended an evening adventure to a Forest Hut where Mr Kienzler walked us to the Hut, arranged a Raclette Meal and walked us back to the Hotel by torchlight, which proved to be a stunning evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.