We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price / performance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen to your Saves list
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good price / performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent 5 days during the last open week before they close for the autumn break so the hotel was somewhat quiet and calm. Nevertheless we had a very good stay. We booked a 3 day centennial pass that covers all the Jungfraubahn train jurneys during that period so we did not join all the Hotel's activities. Especially the Spa including the Sauna and indoor swimming pool is marvelous. The food is good and the service excellent. Last but not least not to forget that the host family is very friendly and warm. We can definitely recommend this place, even if the outside facade could use some lift-up.

Room Tip: Family rooms are on two levels, where the parents are on the upper floor and the children on the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    61
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
129
126
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Wengen is a great location to base your stay in Switzerland from and the Sunstar couldn't be more ideally situated within the town; 2 minutes from the train station, right in the centre of the town close to shops and amenities. The hotel is well appointed, family friendly and full of charm. Oh, and the views are spectacular! Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned to the Sunstar for my 9th visit in 11 years. Had to stay at two other hotels due to the Sunstar not being available on two of those years but have always returned to the Sunstar. Yet again this visit proved to live up to all my expectations in terms of friendliness, hospitality, cleanliness and facilities together with a great menu each and every day. The location is spectacular and is central to all the Junfrau regions great sites. Having just returned I am already looking forward to my next stay at the Sunstar Wengen.

Room Tip: The views on the valley side are well worth the little bit extra in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A very excellent place to enjoy a swiss refreshing air and environment. Best place for you to enjoy your holiday. You can see the mountain from the balcony (which is magnificent !!), you can breath the very clean air (only electric car can operate there). The sunstar hotel wengen interior was very beautiful, they decorated the room with the wood ornament, which is very Switzerland authentic. But there is one thing you will never forget when you stay there, the service and greeting from the host. This is the most helpfull and friendly hotel we ever stayed in Europe !! The owner will takes care of you once you check in and give an explanation on their activity and welcome you personally. Something that is very rare these day. And for those of you traveling alone they will set a breakfast table for you to join another single traveller so you can make a new friend there. Trust me !! You will never regret this. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at many of the Sunstar hotels over the years but this as my third trip to the Sunstar Wengen - from having a warm welcome back when I arrived, it was so easy to just relax and let the holiday happen. The staff were welcoming as ever and nothing was too much trouble. The food was as good as it always is and the rooms very comfortable with great views across the Lauterbrunnen valley. I would recommend any Sunstar hotel but the Wengen Sunstar is the one I keep returning to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have recently had an enjoyable stay at the Sunstar in Wengen, with fine weather in September, and were pleased to find that many people return year after year. The hotel is in the middle of the village and very close to railway station and cable car. We found the hosts Oliver and Katja friendly and anxious to please, and all the other staff couteous and helpful too. Meals were fine and little changes to the printed menu never a problem. The breakfast buffet was particularly wide ranging. We hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Sunstar for many years having been recommended by a friend at work.
The views of the mountains as you come up on the train from Lauterbrunnen are fantastic.
The staff at the hotel can't do enough for you to make sure your holiday is perfect.
Oliver and his wife are perfect hosts making sure everything is as it should be
The rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant serves excellent food with a good choice of dishes.

Room Tip: The views of the mountains from the valley rooms look out towards Murren
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen CH-3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#2 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.