We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*****Restaurant***** & Terrace..seriously - not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caprice Restaurant

Caprice Restaurant
"Number One" | Postfach 244, Wengen CH-3823 Wengen, Switzerland
+41 33 856 06 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 restaurants in Wengen
Price range: $20 - $55
Cuisines: French, Swiss, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant Caprice is in Hotel Caprice, Wengen, Switzerland, where Michelin Star trained Executive Chef John Patrick de Ruiter and his team welcomes hotel residents and non residents alike for lunch and dinner. We have an a la Carte menu, which features a choice of 5 starters, 4 salads and soups, 6 main courses including fish and vegetarian options, 3 deserts and a Regional cheese board. The Wine Carte features a large number of Swiss Red, White and Rose wines, amongst an interesting International collection. There is also a 3 course menu which changes daily, available for 49 Swiss Francs ($54), with a substantial reduction for Hotel Caprice residents. Whether inside in the charming restaurant, or on the large Terrace with sensational views, you are guaranteed the very best Fine Dining, Gourmet Cuisine.
Esher, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“*****Restaurant***** & Terrace..seriously - not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hidden at the back of Hotel Caprice is a Terrace and a Restaurant that have stunning food & stunning views across the valley and into the Alps. The front of the hotel hides the true magnificence that the warm sun-drenched terrace and dining room experience. Restaurant-Caprice would qualify on its own even without all this. Simple cuisine, prepared to a very high standard, or the Gourmet menu that we experienced, the discrete, friendly and efficient sevice all add up to why this hotel and restaurant are now firmly on the map as one of our favorites throughout the world. It isn't necessary to stay at the hotel to book in the restaurant, but we did both! We are members of SLH which is where we found Hotel Caprice (Small Luxury Hotels of the World) this is our third stay and its better than ever. New management, the owner taking a real interest and input and making it really work.
The menu we chose would have stood up to the test of the top London or NY restaurants, the lobster soup with a whole lobster tail immersed was fabulous. The lamb to follow complimented everything before and after. The wine list reflected quality and value at the same time.
Biased, yes, just a little!! You will be too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    27
    3
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Michelin Star Quality ***”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had the most delicious meals at the Hotel Caprice Restaurant where service, attention to detail and a wonderful menu made for a truly memorable experience. The meals really were as good as any I have eaten in my travels across the world and had the additional benefit of being nestled in the Alps with breathtaking views and warm, friendly service. This restaurant is worth a trip to Wengen on its own and a must for anyone in the vicinity.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Select, fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Being a relatively small hotel they wisely do not attempt to have an a la carte menu. Choice for dinner is from a daily changing menu with a limited number of items. But all therefore is freshly cooked and is highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great food, great service, great value!

The Chef is a genius, something different every night and always very tasty. 5 courses for only 68CHF - WOW! The restauraunt has great decor and an even better atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and welcoming.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gourmet delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at the Caprice for a week from 4th February. My large room was clean, warm and comfortably furnished. The views from the generous balcony were stunning with a panoramic vista up to the Jungfrau and down to the Lauterbrunnen valley with its dramatic sheer rock walls.

In addition to the varied and scenic skiing, the most notable and enjoyable part of my sojourn in Wengen was the food and service offered par excellence in the restaurant of the Caprice. After enjoying a pre-prandial drink in the well stocked bar, I was guided to a table in the dining room. Although the tables were dressed to perfection with crisp white linen, the warm décor cleverly retained a homely ambiance. The tables were well separated and with no crowding. An excellent salad bar offered a refreshing opener followed by a starter and a full bodied soup. The light starters cleverly combined an eclectic mix of style and flavours, simply but elegantly presented. I recall that on one evening the starter was grilled escallops with a lemongrass and ginger foam. It was divine. The main courses offered a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian dishes. As a carnivore, throughout the week I devoured with epicurean delight a feast of lamb, pork, rabbit and steak. The meats were of the finest cuts, tender and sweet, cooked to perfection and complemented with exceptional subtle sauces. I salivate in recollection as I write this. I am not a great lover of deserts but on my final evening I tried the Apple Tart Tatin. I now rue missed opportunities. If only I had sampled the deserts offered on previous evenings. “I’ll be back”.

The 5 course menu was changed daily and it became an exciting ritual to examine the menu upon my return from the slopes. On some days I had a great difficulty in deciding which courses to choose. Indeed one evening, I substituted the soup with a small portion of the main course vegetarian option, ravioli with a filling of ricotta. It was, as Mr Winner would say, “historic”.

After the evening meal, a coffee, a liqueur and attentive service in the adjoining lounge suffuse with alpine charm and the soporific vapours of an enchanting log fire, sealed a chapter in the memory of wonderful relaxing times in Wengen.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Restaurant also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Caprice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprice Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.