We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Select, fresh food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caprice Restaurant

Caprice Restaurant
"Number One" | Postfach 244, Wengen CH-3823 Wengen, Switzerland
+41 33 856 06 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 restaurants in Wengen
Price range: $20 - $55
Cuisines: French, Swiss, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant Caprice is in Hotel Caprice, Wengen, Switzerland, where Michelin Star trained Executive Chef John Patrick de Ruiter and his team welcomes hotel residents and non residents alike for lunch and dinner. We have an a la Carte menu, which features a choice of 5 starters, 4 salads and soups, 6 main courses including fish and vegetarian options, 3 deserts and a Regional cheese board. The Wine Carte features a large number of Swiss Red, White and Rose wines, amongst an interesting International collection. There is also a 3 course menu which changes daily, available for 49 Swiss Francs ($54), with a substantial reduction for Hotel Caprice residents. Whether inside in the charming restaurant, or on the large Terrace with sensational views, you are guaranteed the very best Fine Dining, Gourmet Cuisine.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Select, fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Being a relatively small hotel they wisely do not attempt to have an a la carte menu. Choice for dinner is from a daily changing menu with a limited number of items. But all therefore is freshly cooked and is highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    27
    3
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great food, great service, great value!

The Chef is a genius, something different every night and always very tasty. 5 courses for only 68CHF - WOW! The restauraunt has great decor and an even better atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and welcoming.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavala, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gourmet delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at the Caprice for a week from 4th February. My large room was clean, warm and comfortably furnished. The views from the generous balcony were stunning with a panoramic vista up to the Jungfrau and down to the Lauterbrunnen valley with its dramatic sheer rock walls.

In addition to the varied and scenic skiing, the most notable and enjoyable part of my sojourn in Wengen was the food and service offered par excellence in the restaurant of the Caprice. After enjoying a pre-prandial drink in the well stocked bar, I was guided to a table in the dining room. Although the tables were dressed to perfection with crisp white linen, the warm décor cleverly retained a homely ambiance. The tables were well separated and with no crowding. An excellent salad bar offered a refreshing opener followed by a starter and a full bodied soup. The light starters cleverly combined an eclectic mix of style and flavours, simply but elegantly presented. I recall that on one evening the starter was grilled escallops with a lemongrass and ginger foam. It was divine. The main courses offered a choice of meat, fish or vegetarian dishes. As a carnivore, throughout the week I devoured with epicurean delight a feast of lamb, pork, rabbit and steak. The meats were of the finest cuts, tender and sweet, cooked to perfection and complemented with exceptional subtle sauces. I salivate in recollection as I write this. I am not a great lover of deserts but on my final evening I tried the Apple Tart Tatin. I now rue missed opportunities. If only I had sampled the deserts offered on previous evenings. “I’ll be back”.

The 5 course menu was changed daily and it became an exciting ritual to examine the menu upon my return from the slopes. On some days I had a great difficulty in deciding which courses to choose. Indeed one evening, I substituted the soup with a small portion of the main course vegetarian option, ravioli with a filling of ricotta. It was, as Mr Winner would say, “historic”.

After the evening meal, a coffee, a liqueur and attentive service in the adjoining lounge suffuse with alpine charm and the soporific vapours of an enchanting log fire, sealed a chapter in the memory of wonderful relaxing times in Wengen.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

All good and nothing bad, was even offered 'seconds' of a courde I particularly enjoyed. The views from the outside terrace are stunning.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed at the Caprice with my family over Christmas, and decided to go back with friends at the end of Jan, they were fully booked, but later got back to us with a suite that had two separate bedrooms and a lounge (room 13, sleeps 7) which was luxurious for 2 guys.

We were very impressed with the restaurant, the set 5 course dinner, included an excellent salad bar followed by starter, soup, main course and dessert. The food was beautifully cooked with ample portions and great service. The wine list is extensive too which allowing for being in the Swiss mountains caters for every budget with some exceptional indulgences included. A Tuna in sesame starter really stood out as did the Steak kebab main course.

The restaurant was full every night we were there so it may be worth booking in advance.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Restaurant also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Caprice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caprice Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.