We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, perfectly situated hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Wengen
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming, perfectly situated hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Highly recommended hotel in an ideal setting for skiing and enjoying Wengen and the Swiss Alps. The hotel built in the 1890s is full of old world charm and elegance. Staff were warm and welcoming and provided excellent service. Our room overlooking the Jungfrau was large, warm and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were very sad to leave.

Good points included:
-warm and friendly service
-beautiful and cozy lobby with a crackling fire and digital baby grand piano
-delicious dinner menu served perfectly by the lovely staff.
-complimentary drinks on arrival
-complimentary nibbles before dinner and petit fours after dinner
-delicious breakfasts and dinners
-ski drying room
-proximity to gondola and train to access expansive ski area
-proximity to ski hire with overnight storage
-free fast internet in lobby

Remember on arrival at the railway station to phone hotel for access to a porter service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    16
    14
    17
See reviews for
40
57
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
perth, australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here three times in 2005 and 2006. The skiing is out of this world. Can ski 8km from Kleine Scheidegg to Grindelwald. Tobogganing world class. The valley is the most beautiful in Europe. Rooms are old but very comfortable. Where else in the world can one wake up and see Silberhorn? Wonderful food for half board, enormous buffet breakfast, top class dinners. Am perplexed by some of the other reviews here. Not modern but brilliant. My only gripe was that internet access was far too expensive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a fine well founded large hotel with tradition and family history. Guido Meyer, his family and staff welcome, serve and guide their guests very well without being intrusive. Our room was large, well furnished although some modern travellers might wish for more mod-cons. Although useful, I am not sure they would enhance the Regina experience. The location, a few minutes from the village and Wengenalp railway station is a great advantage for expeditions. The food is brilliant.

Room Tip: Request a south facing room with balcony as that will have a fabulous view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This large Swiss hotel offered a room with an unbelievable balcony view, a cozy living room lounge with a crackling fireplace, an interesting basement boutique, and the personal touch and service of Guido Meyer and his daughter. They offer helpful advice about where to hike, weather forecasts and train information. We really enjoyed our three days and nights in Wengen and at The Hotel Regina. Breakfast overlooking the Alps was included. If there wasn't so much to do and so much spectacular scenery, I could have curled up with a book and a bottle of wine in front of that fire.

Room Tip: Our corner room on the fourth floor (I think it was Room # 407) had two balconys and offered views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is nice, a friend recommended it. I have to admit though, the decor is old fashioned all around the hotel, specifically in the rooms. The food is amazing!!! They really deserve their Michelin star. It is a nice place for couples and families, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is great!! 10/10 *******WONDERFUL!!

Room Tip: As always, the more you pay the nicer the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently attended a friends wedding in Wengen held at the Hotel Regina. The hotel is owned and run by by Guido and his family. We were absolutely mermerised by their hospitality, warmth and attention to detail for the occassion and our stay there. Guido and his family are delightful, charming and welcoming! I travel regularly for business and pleasure, I have to say this is one of the few hotels, were we experienced a warmth like no other! The food in the resturant is excellent and views are truly magnificant! Surrounded by the beautiful scenery, which is a real life postcard coupled with their warmth - it was truly an exceptional experience! Many thanks Guido and family, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose the Regina based on a personal recommendation and we were not disappointed ! The hotel location was ideal for our choice of a walking holiday with luxuries included. We stayed on half board basis, the food was top quality well presented and varied throughout the week. We found all the staff to be friendly and welcoming but the host in particular made sure our stay was enjoyable and also shared his local knowledge to ensure we made the most of our walking trips. The hotel itself is old but has real character and must have one of, if not the best, dining room view in the Alps ! Our room was comfortable, clean and the service was very good. We would definitely recommend the Regina to others.

Room Tip: South and West facing rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1894, this splendid building is wonderfully situated in a dominate position, with spectacular views of the mountains of the Jungfrau region as well as Lauterbrunnen valley with its impressive waterfalls and the village Wengen. The Hotel offers rooms with balcony or terrace with unique views. All rooms are equipped with bath or shower, toilet, hair dryer, radio, flat screen TV and telephone. Romantic Junior Suites are found under the pitched roof of the sixth floor set out on two floors with Jacuzzi. Since the end of 2008 four new Master Suites were built, they are 70 to 80 sm and will astonish you with the luxury and noble decor. They feature a spacious bedroom, separate living room, dressing room and luxurious bathroom with bathtub and shower, toilet, direct dial phone, TV and a huge wooden terrace with the fantastic view over the mountains. The whole Hotel has Public Wireless LAN. In addition the Hotel has a Piano bar, two conference rooms, a gym, a gift shop called "Boutique SENS", a Sauna and steam bath as well as a Beauty centre. For gourmets the Hotel Regina has it's 15 Gault Millau points a la carte restaurant the "Chez Meyer's" and the main restaurant "Jack's Brasserie" along with an excellent wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Wengen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.