We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great local cafe.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Cafe

Mary's Cafe
Schiltwald - Innerwengen, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
0041338552575
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 26 Restaurants in Wengen
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Kleines Restaurant mit 38 Innenplätzen, ca. 1km ausserhalb von Wengen, an der Zieleinfahrt des Lauberhorn Weltcup Rennens. Schweizer Küche mit täglich wechselnden Menus und Hausgemachten Kuchen.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This is a great local cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is where the locals go and we found it by accident. Cheap beer and local drinks. We were tourists among the locals. This is a must if you are staying in Wengen and have finished a big day on the slopes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just what you are looking for in a ski lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't recommend this little gem highly enough, the pint sized hot chocolates are great for a mid morning break and the excellent plat du jour dishes are great value.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great potential completely lost due to uncaring attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked table for seven and arrived at pretty, atmospheric chalet. Waited for an age before anyone came to take an order for drinks. Having ordered wine, beer etc also asked for a jug of tap water. Response was unbelievably negative! Food took over an hour to come and was no more than luke warm! We sent back to get hot food and half came back cold again. A third time half went back to be warmed. On return waiter noticed it was STILL only warm, so he took back again. When the last item finally came it was two hours later! The waiter had to put in the oven himself as the bolshy chef refused to. Value for money? We paid SFr 170 for the pleasure!
Visit if you dare!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Regina_Wengen, Public Relations Manager at Mary's Cafe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We thank you for your comments. We acknowledge that there were issues during your visit to Mary’s Café, we assure you this is not our normal standard of service.

Mary’s Café Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful little place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This restaurant, run by the owners of the Regina Hotel, is in a cute little building on a trail a short hike of a paved and level road a short distance from Wengen's train station.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“this has bad slow service and is unfriendly to english speakers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

do not go here unless you have plenty of time and do not get annoyed if later arrivals are served first .

we left after waiting over 20 mins for a round of drinks which we were forced to pay for in advance and never received .

at least we got a refund (including return ot tip!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Cafe also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Mary's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.