We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baeren

Baeren
Acher, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
(0)33 855 14 19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Wengen
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best food in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A fellow traveler mentioned he'd eaten at this hotel in Wengen and said it was the best food he'd had in Switzerland. Wow was he right. We had an amazing lamb dish as part of a 4 course meal. The chef is in a class at the top. You won't be disappointed by the food, the service, or the view.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at baeren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Great week's stay at this hotel. Really good value: modern and comfortable family room with an amazing view. Excellent food, and they accommodated gluten intolerance without any problems. Friendly and helpful staff. Wengen is a lovely village to stay, away from the big crowds down in the valley, and we would definitely recommend this hotel. David, Pia and Joseph Bearfield

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great food. Makes the half-board at the Hotel Baeren easily the best value we found in Switzerland. Helpful with dietary restrictions as well. Suitably varied day to day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great choice for final night in Wengen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Wengen once before and have enjoyed many traditional Swiss meals and other types of food there as well. We'd read about Baeren prior to our latest walking tour of the Jungfrau region, but put off our visit until our last night in town. We both wish we had tried Baeren sooner in the trip so that we could have eaten there more than once. We were served a canapé of very young regional cheese, an excellent green salad and wonderful entrees of chicken and veal. Our servers were very attentive and the view up the Lauterbrunnen Valley to the Jungfrau peaks bathed in the light of the setting sun made for a memorable last night of vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Best meal in 6 days in Switzerland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We happened upon this hotel restaurant for lunch on our last day in Switzerland. We saved the BEST for last!! This food was a huge step above everything else we ate in Lauterbrunnen (where we stayed) and Brienze (lunch after a boat ride). The lamb special for lunch was fantastic and was a breath of fresh air after seeing fondue, rosti, etc. on every menu. Plus, the cost was amazingly reasonable compared to every place else that we had eaten! We toured one of their rooms and have decided that if we return (which we will), we will stay at this hotel and eat at this restaurant!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baeren also viewed

 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baeren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.