We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in a welcoming environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baeren

Baeren
Acher, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
(0)33 855 14 19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Wengen
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cangas de Onis, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food in a welcoming environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a really enjoyable dinner here ... good, friendly service, very good Swiss wine and a great set menu containing both traditional, local fayre and an interesting and very polished Thai twist to one of the courses! Praising the kitchen on our way out, the waitress rapidly reported our satisfaction to the chef who came out directly to have a chat with us. All in all a very pleasant experience which we will certainly repeat on our next visit to Wengen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    27
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were expecting great things as we had good recommendations from others but we were slightly disappointed - very busy buzzy place but the food that night was just OK. Staff were very friendly and helpful - maybe we will try again another time - we may have been unlucky in our choices - meat was a bit tough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had such a fabulous meal that we went back a few days later. My salad the 1st time was the best I have ever had, with finely sliced beets and a wonderful dressing. The next time we went, it wasn't on the menu for as they change things up every night. They did, however make me something similar, and I enjoyed it almost as much. We couldn't get over how creative the meals were and how delicious each course was, and how beautifully presented (they have their bear-claw logo on each dessert plate). The owner Therese came over to check on us and we found her very friendly and charming. The hotel has been in her husband's family for 3 generations and they care so much about doing a good job. You do need reservations, and allow a couple of hours for your meal, as nothing is rushed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This place is fab.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The waitress summed it up. "We aren't on the main street so we have to make it worthwhile for you to come down the hill".

Knowledgeable staff, lovely food, lots of local wine, it is really good. We went twice. Give it a go, it is by far the best restaurant in Wengen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife had wine with dinner and I enjoy beer. Both were very good in Wengen. My wife even drank beer during our stay and she does not ever do that!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baeren also viewed

 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baeren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.