We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel Edelweiss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Acher, Wengen 3823, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Wengen
Wengen
1 review
“hotel Edelweiss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in Wengen with views of the mountains.
The room was very comfortable and I would definitely stay
here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    73
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
126
169
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

From the time we arrived my girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Daniel greeted us upon arrival and showed us up to our room with spectacular views of the Jungfrau mountain with snow and glaciers visible from the balcony. Daniel gave us good advice and took the extra time to check weather forecasts and assisted us on numerous occasions with our many questions. The rooms are of reasonable size and have a walk in shower. Wi-Fi is free and works throughout the hotel including the rooms. Breakfast is Continental with no eggs other than boiled. Dinners are highly recommended and are of a high quality. There are many good comments regarding the dinners and the price is also reasonable. Dinner is a 4 course set menu. Normally we will not eat in hotels and try the local restaurants but the food here was very good. The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes walk from the train station and there are signs to send you in the right direction. On check out Daniel even printed up our train schedule to help us with changing stations as we had 4 changes that day.
Jungfrau was excellent, as everybody has stated it is expensive but worth the it. The views are amazing and you need to assign a whole day. From Wengen it takes 90 minutes to get to the top so you have 3 hour round trip so you want to spend as much time as possible at the top to take it all in. You can even walk through the snow about 1km to the nearby hut and back. Great experience on top of Europe. Following day we visited the Trummel Bach Falls which were also very good, took us around 45 minutes to get there from Wengen taking the train and then bus. Very interesting falls with the water running through channels in the rock. It was like being in a cave. Wengen and surrounds is a great place to visit and we highly recommend Hotel Edelweiss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the minute we walked into the Hotel Edelweiss we felt at home. Daniel greeted us, immediately offered refreshments and took our luggage to our room. He is the most welcoming host I have ever met. My son, age 16, and I stayed for 2 nights in June and can’t wait to return. Dinners and breakfast at the hotel are excellent and the self service espresso machine and refreshment refrigerator in the lobby (honor system) were a welcome treat after a long day visiting sites.

We had a top floor, south facing room with a balcony, which had an amazing view of the mountains. The room was cozy, very clean and simply furnished with very comfortable beds. Daniel was readily available to provide information on the Wengen area or to just chat. This is a great family hotel, but could also be a romantic get away. I would highly recommend the Edelweiss Hotel for the view alone, but the warmth and wonderful service can’t be beat!

See roadstosomewhere.com for more about Wengen and Top of Europe

Room Tip: Request a top floor south facing room with a balcony in the older section. The view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed one night. The staff was really nice and helpful, they knew a lot about hiking in the area. The room was nice and clean, nothing fancy but good value. Location is about 5 minutes downhill, so be prepared to climb it back up...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in August. Very reasonably priced hotel in Wengen and the owner is very friendly as well as helpful in providing tips to the area. The room are basic, but very clean and rustic. But it's the views that makes this place amazing. We woke up to a view of Jungfrau from our window and balcony, then you turn to the left and a view of the waterfall on the other side of the valley. The area is very quiet and peaceful, very quiet in the evenings. IF you like wine, they also stock a few wines produced locally that's worth a try. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would pay a little more for room that have an balcony and ask for the side facing Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

the view from my budget room has to be seen to be believed, I look straight out from a balcony to the jungfrau.

Daniel, the type of laid back, honest and sincere Christian you wish there were more of, runs the place with a ready smile, and helpful attitude when needed.

The 3 course Dinner is a bargain by Swiss standards, and tasty to boot!

And they have an internet PC in a world gone crazy with wifi, it was so good to be able to sort out logistical issues with a good internet connection, when just up the road at the train station they want a franc per 5 minutes of what could at best be described as dial up speed.

I strongly recommend this place, yet also feel I want to keep it a secret, its that good, because all the budget backpackers seem to get only as far as Lauterbrunnen, leaving Wengen to be a relatively peaceful spot, with what can only be described as a heavenly perch above the Lauterbrunnen valley. Go the local church for the utterly sensational view down the valley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Edelweiss for two nights in the beginning of August. We were welcomed into the hotel by the charming reception guy (Daniel?) who gave us all the information we needed to know about Wengen. The room had a nice cot in it for our 8 month old, as requested. The room was nothing special, but clean and awesome views of the Jungfrau. When we checked in it was rainy so the cloud cover totally blocked the view, but when we woke up the next morning....WOW. We couldn't stop taking pictures. Overall, not a fancy hotel, but five stars for what it is: A top of the line, charming, family run hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Am Acher, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EdelweissA place which makes you feel most welcome, very well looked after and where you wish to stay on and on and on....Enjoy the magnificient skiing- and hiking area of the famous Jungfrau-Region!Daniel and Susanne Eisenegger will help you to have an outstanding and inspiring experience in the Swiss Alps. Formality is replaced with a warm welcome. The Hotel Edelweiss is your home whilst you are with us; relax, unwind and let us take care of you! We hope that you will join our lifestyle; a lifestyle based on quality time, on fun and laughter and on living life to the full. The opportunities and natural attractions of the Jungfrau Region are hard to top. Explore the various mountains, glaciers, gorges, water falls and the breahtaking scenery by hiking, cable cars, trains, gondolas and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.