We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy, large rooms and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jungfrau to your Saves list
Hotel Jungfrau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Alessandria, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Privacy, large rooms and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Two weeks ago my husband and I spent 5 nights in Murren, staying at the apartment "House Mosca ", run by the Jungfrau Hotel and just across the street from it.
Since we were staying at the apartment, we've had only few contacts with the personell of the hotel, but those few occasions showed kindness and professionality, and every service promised with the reservation was fully fullfilled. (We've also got a Card to go for free to the sport center with swimming pool, but we didn't have time to try it).
The apartment was very nice, quiet and undisturbed, and a good bargain: everything was new and spotless (especially kitchen and bathroom), and overlooking Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau all together from the bedroom was really "awesome"!!! (too bad the living room doesn't have a window towards the mountain! there is a large blank wall where we reallly think a window "should" be open!).
Only a couple of suggestions to improve the comfort of the apartment: it will mostly help having:
1) some hooks in the bathroom
2) bedside tables and bedside lamps in the bedroom
3) a couple of more pans in the kitchen (one frying pan was unusable because the Teflon surface was badly scratch, there wasn't any small pan for boiling - lets'say - one or two eggs)
4) a broom or a vacuum cleaner for crumbs in the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
55
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in mid Aug 2013. The hotel is located in a central and rather high part
of Murren village, therefore has the best scenery of Eiger and Jungfrau in the village.
Every part of this hotel is very clean, owners and employees are all very friendly, and
we had a wonderful time in Murren!! Thank you especially to a lady(maybe a girl?) who has
done a tremendous effort for our requests. We will definitely stay at this hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed in the Mosca flat for three nights with my three teen age sons. It's a spacious, modern, clean, and perfectly located spot. We received free passes to the wonderfully clean swimming pool in the sports center a few feet away. (What a great design, you can swim and look out on the ALps!) The owners of this hotel/ apartments were always patient and helpful. The hotel restaurant had good food although slow service. Murren is tiny, but there is a small grocery store and bike rental place that were just what we needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mosca 2 flat. We had a great view...from the bedroom window. It looked like other a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here two nights and have mixed feelings about this hotel. The rooms themselves are clean and most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Like one of the other reviewers, I also loved their laundry service, which was CHF 20 well spent. Two negatives worth mentioning: despite telling us they would waive the fee to switch to a different room on the same floor, we saw on our bill that they charged us anyway. The other thing was the incredibly rude server the second night we ate at the restaurant, which was with a group of people. When the beverage bills arrived at the end of the meal, we pointed out that she accidentally put other people's drinks on our bill, despite our clearly telling her beforehand which drinks we had ordered. Instead of being apologetic, she got very angry and actually yelled at us that we should reconcile the error (hers) amongst ourselves because the drinks were already entered into system. While that made no sense, all she did was yell, "IT CANNOT BE CHANGED!" We decided to shrug that off because it was a farewell dinner for our group and we wanted to enjoy it. The same rude server clearly wanted us to leave the restaurant because she began to close out the restaurant while we were there. She actually began to shut the lights off while we were there. We wondered what the rush was, and we saw in the kitchen the server and several of her friends chatting. Our farewell dinner was clearly impeding her social life. It's a shame because the other staff members of the restaurant with whom we interacted were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been staying at this lovely hotel for 5 nights, we enjoyed every moment of it. With the spectacular view of the Mountains just outside the window. Good breakfast buffet, friendly staff who went the extra mile to make our stay very comfortable. Great help from the front desk in printing our travel itinerary and suggesting hikes in the area. We will be back...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Its a pleasure to stay at a hotel these days that actually do care about looking after their guests! I only stayed here one night and I wish I could have stayed longer if it wasn't such a spur-of-the-moment trip. The rooms were excellent. The included breakfast was really good. My train left at 3pm in the afternoon and the hotel kindly allowed me a late check-out. I left the hotel with a very feel-good happy vibe which I haven't felt in a hotel for some time now.

Room Tip: You might want to let the hotel know when you are arriving so they can pick you up in their golf car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Rooms overlooking the valley are very nice, and cheaper than the prime mountain view rooms. Room 227 is excellent with a great balcony where I enjoyed watching the sunrise, sunset, paragliders and the clouds go by. The hotel has a large deck with excellent views that anyone can use. There is a lovely chorus of cow bells during the day and evening. The buffet breakfast has a wide range of choices. Staff was very helpful with good recommendations for hiking and excursions and suggested one of the best hikes I have ever taken in my life to the waterfall at Sprutz. The hotel washed and folded a bag of laundry for CHF 20. The only downsides were that the one dinner we ate at the hotel during our five night stay was fine but unremarkable, and I had trouble with the WIFI in my room that I paid CHF 5 extra for. The WIFI in the lounge worked fine. On balance it was a great hotel and good value for an active vacation.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably best. Get a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#4 of 13 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blumental
Hotel Blumental
#5 of 13 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 13 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#10 of 13 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#8 of 13 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Address: Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#5 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The management was taken over in autumn 2010 by Alan and Veronique Ramsay (former management at the Eiger Guesthouse in Mürren from 1999 until 2010), a young Swiss-Scottish partnership. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, birchermuesli, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jungfrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.