We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jungfrau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jungfrau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Murren
Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feel like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been staying at this lovely hotel for 5 nights, we enjoyed every moment of it. With the spectacular view of the Mountains just outside the window. Good breakfast buffet, friendly staff who went the extra mile to make our stay very comfortable. Great help from the front desk in printing our travel itinerary and suggesting hikes in the area. We will be back...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
37
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nadi, Fiji
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Its a pleasure to stay at a hotel these days that actually do care about looking after their guests! I only stayed here one night and I wish I could have stayed longer if it wasn't such a spur-of-the-moment trip. The rooms were excellent. The included breakfast was really good. My train left at 3pm in the afternoon and the hotel kindly allowed me a late check-out. I left the hotel with a very feel-good happy vibe which I haven't felt in a hotel for some time now.

Room Tip: You might want to let the hotel know when you are arriving so they can pick you up in their golf car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Rooms overlooking the valley are very nice, and cheaper than the prime mountain view rooms. Room 227 is excellent with a great balcony where I enjoyed watching the sunrise, sunset, paragliders and the clouds go by. The hotel has a large deck with excellent views that anyone can use. There is a lovely chorus of cow bells during the day and evening. The buffet breakfast has a wide range of choices. Staff was very helpful with good recommendations for hiking and excursions and suggested one of the best hikes I have ever taken in my life to the waterfall at Sprutz. The hotel washed and folded a bag of laundry for CHF 20. The only downsides were that the one dinner we ate at the hotel during our five night stay was fine but unremarkable, and I had trouble with the WIFI in my room that I paid CHF 5 extra for. The WIFI in the lounge worked fine. On balance it was a great hotel and good value for an active vacation.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably best. Get a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Ride the cable car up the mountain to the hotel. The rooms are clean and open the windows to breathe the crisp mountain air. Bikers, hikers, and skiers love this location. We chose this location in July for the quiet and to take in the majestic view of the mountain. You can take the cable car up a little further to the Schilthorn Mountain ( where the James Bond movie was filmed). The Jungfrau Restaurant is amazing! You must begin with the cheese fondue (share, as the cheese is very filling) then, order the salmon with wasabi mashed potatoes and rosemary green beans. Try the caramel brûlée for dessert. Relax in the beautiful lounge and use the free wireless to send home the great photos you will take.

Room Tip: Pack light because there are no cars here and you have to walk up a hill to reach the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, KY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you are in murren, you are in the middle of one of the most breathtaking settings ever. The hotel jungfrau is clean, food is good, view is amazing. Murren has no cars and is a beautiful village. Highly recommend hotel jungfrau.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent hotel to use as a base for hikes on the schilthorn (west) side of the valley. Easy access to the valley floor via gondola with easy connections to Lauterbrunnen railway station and east side hiking spots. Murren is quiter than Wengen on the east side of the valley. Service was great, rooms very clean. Get a room on the front side of the hotel for sweeping views of the Alps. Great laundry service too. Kid friendly hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms on front (east side) of hotel have stunning views of the alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Hotel Jungfrau was in the middle of one of the most amazing locations in the world! No cars, just walking in the little village of Murren made for a very memorable vacation! The food was very nice and the view from the restaurant and porch are one of a kind. Looking out over the Jungfrau Range is breathtaking. The room was a bit small but very clean and quite substantial. We were with a tour group and know there are larger rooms with even nicer views but we stayed in our room only to sleep so what we had was fine. The small churches close to the hotel were beautiful and very peaceful as is the whole area. Taking the gondola from the bottom of the mountain to Murren was a unique experience in itself. I would return here if I am in Switzerland again. Switzerland was part of my dream vacation and Murren and the Hotel Jungfrau made it one I will never forget.

Room Tip: There was a fitness center close by which could be used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Address: Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#5 Family Hotel in Murren
#6 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The management was taken over in autumn 2010 by Alan and Veronique Ramsay (former management at the Eiger Guesthouse in Mürren from 1999 until 2010), a young Swiss-Scottish partnership. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, birchermuesli, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jungfrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.