We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Switzerland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jungfrau to your Saves list
Hotel Jungfrau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in Switzerland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Hotel Jungfrau was in the middle of one of the most amazing locations in the world! No cars, just walking in the little village of Murren made for a very memorable vacation! The food was very nice and the view from the restaurant and porch are one of a kind. Looking out over the Jungfrau Range is breathtaking. The room was a bit small but very clean and quite substantial. We were with a tour group and know there are larger rooms with even nicer views but we stayed in our room only to sleep so what we had was fine. The small churches close to the hotel were beautiful and very peaceful as is the whole area. Taking the gondola from the bottom of the mountain to Murren was a unique experience in itself. I would return here if I am in Switzerland again. Switzerland was part of my dream vacation and Murren and the Hotel Jungfrau made it one I will never forget.

Room Tip: There was a fitness center close by which could be used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
45
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hotel Jungfrau is a terrific family run hotel, right at the foot of the ski piste in Mürren. We visited during the peak February ski week. The rooms were quiet and modern, the beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were fine with plentiful hot water. The Jungfrau is family run by Alan and Véronique Ramsay, who work hard to accommodate the needs of their guests. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed. The ski-related facilities are terrific—the door to the ski room opens out right onto the piste, so you can easily ski in and ski out. Heated boot racks ensured that our boots were warm and dry every morning. When we return to Mürren, we shall certainly return to the Hotel Jungfrau.

Room Tip: Standard rooms and bathrooms can be tight, if more space is needed ask for a superior room. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Jungfrau hotel is located in the centre of Murren - near to the ice rink. This makes it a perfect spot for exploring Murren and for ski in/ski out adventures in the winter. The current host, Allan (scot) and Veronique (Swiss) make anyone feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. This is a 4 Star hotel and highly recommended for people who want that bit of comfort. Best bits are the huge breakfasts and the late night sessions in the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side or back might be a little quieter but anywhere in this hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights in September and found the hotel to be a good place to base ourselves for day trips to the Jungfrau, Grindlewald, Winteregg, Wengen, Schilthorn and Interlaken.
The hosts were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and the views were unbelievable. We had a corner room which had views of the Jungfrau and the meadows and a small balcony. The breakfast bar has a wide variety including hot and cold choices.
The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the mountains and at the back, the meadow and half point to the Schilthorn.
We loved the town. There is a small grocery store that is well stocked. We purchased cheese, crackers and alcohol which we enjoyed on our balcony as a pre-dinner snack.
Also did a load of laundry at a nearby hotel. Our hotel will send out for 20 CHF, a full bag of laundry and return within 24 hours. Our friends got theirs back same day!
Would highly recommend this hotel and Murren.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a balcony overlooking the mountains. Corner rooms see both the mountains and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New jersey
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights with a Rick Steves tour. Hotel was great in all aspects, service, room, breakfast, view, etc, etc.
Murren is a great little sleepy, quiet village during non snow times and a great place to just enjoy the Alps. Both a cable car and train station are a short distance from the hotel. This makes getting around the valley easy and convenient for sight seeing and hiking.
Had two group meals at the hotel restaurant while we were staying there. Food was excellent and presented nicely. One of the meals was a barbecue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
239jim
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Hotel Jungfrrau. We had no issues- the views were spectacular and had no complaints or issues. the front desk was ready to answer any questions we had and Jess in the dinning area was superb If you have a chance either walk along the path along the train route, take the train or take one of the hiking trails and have winteregg as your destination. The lunch we had was the best we had on our trip . The views are outstanding.

Room Tip: view of the mountains if you can get one. They are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Enjoyed the Hotel Jungfrau, especially its generous public spaces -- a huge living room/lounge adjoining the lobby with great views. Single room small but comfortable; half-pension dinners were fine if not haut gourmet. Very friendly hosts, even had a loan iPad available for a small charge. Middle of the village so convenient to all the hiking options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Address: Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Murren
#6 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The management was taken over in autumn 2010 by Alan and Veronique Ramsay (former management at the Eiger Guesthouse in Mürren from 1999 until 2010), a young Swiss-Scottish partnership. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, birchermuesli, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jungfrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.