We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hiking base in Murren” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jungfrau to your Saves list
Hotel Jungfrau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable hiking base in Murren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Enjoyed the Hotel Jungfrau, especially its generous public spaces -- a huge living room/lounge adjoining the lobby with great views. Single room small but comfortable; half-pension dinners were fine if not haut gourmet. Very friendly hosts, even had a loan iPad available for a small charge. Middle of the village so convenient to all the hiking options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
45
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

During a recent visit to Switzerland, we wanted to spend some time in the mountains and decided to stay in the alpine village of Murren, just above the Lauterbrunnen Valley. Murren is a small traffic-less village town, but centrally located to a lot of the hiking trails and just a gondola ride up to the Shilthorn and Piz Gloria. The transportation is plentiful and run in great frequencies. At most, we probably waited no more than 5 minutes for a train, gondola, or funicular.

Based on a Rick Steves recommendation, we settled on Hotel Jungfrau. We were a group of 5 and were looking for a budget friendly, but centrally located hotel. Based on that, we chose Hotel Jungfrau. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Veronique (the hotel owner) and she warmly welcomed us and personally showed us to our rooms. It was so nice to receive such a personal greeting and to be recognized immediately as if we were long lost friends. It made us feel special. Each of our rooms were very spacious and clean; I'm usually very particular about cleanliness in hotels and I can say that I felt comfortable enough to walk around barefoot at the Jungfrau. We had views of mountains and the Allmendhubelbahn funicular....Not a bad thing to wake up to each morning.

We had a warm breakfast each morning with a reserved table, with Nicole as our server. It was quite nice to have a table to call our own and Nicole was very attentive in ensuring that we had our coffee ready each morning. Each time we left or returned, Lexi the receptionist greeted us with a "have a nice day" or a " welcome back."

One night, we were hanging out in the lounge and there was an alpine horn player brought in for a tour group that was staying at the hotel. We were invited by Alan (Owner) to join in the festivities. It was nice to get a taste of traditional Swiss entertainment and to hear the history behind the music. Also, I got to give the Alpine Horn a try as well. Something, I probably won't ever forgot.

It's simple touches like these that added to the experience that further made the Hotel Jungfrau seem more like home away from home. It made me a little sad to leave.

Thank you Veronique, Alan, Lexi and Nicole for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I will never get over my view of the Jungfrau upon waking up at the Hotel. My room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, the bathroom modern, and the atmosphere warm and cheerful. The hotel has excellent owners, who welcome you warmly, a terrific bar (sort of local gathering place) and a great restaurant. It is located near the funicular (up to some great hiking trails), and near the cable car that takes you to the Shilthorn summit. Loved every moment!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Jungfrau last week. Veronique is an excellent host. She had already arranged for a baby cot for my little one without me asking for it while booking. And she came all the way up to show us the room, unlike at most other hotels in Europe where they just give you the key. Murren is an awsome village in Bernese Oberland and this hotel is at an excellent location just in the middle of the village. Rooms are neat and clean and well maintanied. Breakfast was briliant. If possible take a room with a balcony thats gives a mountain view.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms with balcony, which gives an excellent mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I booked this hotel with intentions to stay in Interlaken I did not know that it's in different town where you have to get on the cable car to get to the hotel. The location is good because it's located in the Alps for people who like mountains or skiing it's a great location, I enjoy the stay it however I was planning to stay in the city. The hotel is standard with good rooms, nice breakfast, and very cozy lobby. For people to keep in mind it's located in car free village so if you traveling by car you would have to park it and take cable car wich is a nice ride however it costs $30 both ways per person and parking would cost about $10 for a night.

Room Tip: the rooms located on third floor have slanted ceiling and I assume they cheeper because of it for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Murren is a charming, carless village located high in the Alps. Getting there is half the fun. You will zip up the steeper part of the mountain via cable car. Once up there, you will find the Hotel Jungfrau warmly welcomes you. The gracious staff provides a level of friendly service that I have never experienced anywhere else. On a rainy day, they worked very hard to plan an itinerary for us so that we had something fun and interesting to do. Breakfast is tasty. How lovely to dine on fresh fruit and warm rolls with Swiss butter and homemade jam while viewing the snow capped mountains around us. You will have a nice selection of cheeses, meat, and sausage, too. We were surprised by an early snowfall in August and the hotel made a cozy fire in the lounge and in the morning helped us get through the snow to catch our train. Rooms are very clean and modern. Beds are very comfortable with lovely white linens. Views are great. We will definitely choose this hotel on our next visit. They did everything right.

Room Tip: Balconies in front are amazing, but even if you pay less and are in the back with a meadow view it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Jungfrau 3 nights in July. Our room was small and very basic, but clean. Breakfast was very good, and there was a leaflet explaining days events every morning at our table. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi connection was limited to the lobby. We enjoyed our stay in Mürren very much, but felt that the hotel was a bit too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Address: Im Gruebi, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Murren
#6 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The management was taken over in autumn 2010 by Alan and Veronique Ramsay (former management at the Eiger Guesthouse in Mürren from 1999 until 2010), a young Swiss-Scottish partnership. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, birchermuesli, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jungfrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.