We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Stay in an Exceptional Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eiger Guesthouse to your Saves list
Eiger Guesthouse
Aegerten, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Alaska
1 review
“An Exceptional Stay in an Exceptional Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This guesthouse is located in Murren, a village nestled high in the Swiss Alps. Our balcony room faced the Eiger, the Jungfrau, and the Monch. This place is family-owned, and has the feeling of "real" Switzerland. The room (and en suite bath) was comfortable and clean. There was no lift, but the owner carried our heavy bags up and down the stairs. The restaurant was comfortable and clean; the menu adequate but not extensive.

This is not the place for someone wanting glitz, action, nightlife, or shopping.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    74
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
128
273
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I spend part of our honeymoon in Murren, and we had a great stay at the Eiger Guesthouse. I would highly recommend one of the rooms with a balcony and view of the mountains, it was lovely! The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Eiger Guesthouse for 5 days while hiking/exploring the region. We had in incredible time! Alan and Veronique were very helpful and easy-going, the room had the most spectacular balcony view of the mountains, and it is located directly across from the rail station - which was convenient after a full day of travel! The food was good and the staff really friendly. The decor is not "old Swiss" style like many of the other hotels in Murren, but that did not bother us. It was the perfect home base to explore the Alps!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We loved the Eiger Guesthouse. Alan and Veronique treated us like family and they went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had the room with bunk beds and it had a great balcony to overlook the village. You can't beat the location, especially when you have a 6am train to catch! Since we had such an early train, we asked if we could check out the night before. Not only did they let us do that, but they went to the kitchen and packed us 4 wonderful meals for the next morning, so we "wouldn't be hungry on the train." That was really special and we appreciated it a lot. If we ever went back to Murren, Eiger Guesthouse would be our place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We have just returned from 5 days at The Eiger Guesthouse and could not speak more highly of the young, energetic and committed staff who run this gem of a home away from home. It is a 10 second walk from the station. Our loft room, serviced daily, was comfortable and had great views.Everything was spotlessly clean, the beer was cold and the chef worked his magic time and time again. Renovations are underway as of mid October, but personally, we found it perfect just the way it is! Thankyou Alan and Veronique. Parfait!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here in June, and had a wonderful couple of nights. As others have mentioned, it is very handy to the train station (right across the street, but you never hear any noise). The room represented very good value for money in Murren compared to other choices, and we were not disappointed by anything. The restaurant was great, and had people coming to it from all over town. Our room had a view of the mountains, and was very nice and tidy. We were particularly impressed with the staff though, especially the manager Alan, who went out of his way to help us try to arrange some paragliding. It never happened due to weather, but we very much appreciated the help and interest anyway. Would definitely stay here on another trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

This is a great place to stay while exploring the area. The staff is WONDERFUL, the restaurant has good food at the most reasonable prices in town, and it is immediately across from the train station. After a long day of hiking we loved having a drink in the lounge before dinner. We had a non-view room and I have to admit that it did smell a little like dirty hiking socks... but we were there while it was wet and cold and opening the windows solved the problem. When we return we will absolutely stay here again, but definitely upgrade to a room with a view. You can't imagine the scenery in Murren until you actually see it; and it is definitely worth the cost for a view room!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers newly renovated rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, TV and LAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Great restaurant, bar/pub and games room with Internet-Surf-Station. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eiger Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.