We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eiger Guesthouse to your Saves list
Eiger Guesthouse
Aegerten, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Hebron, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights while in Murren and it was great! We upgraded our room to the superior room because I wanted a view if I was coming all the way to see the Swiss Alps. The view was stunning! Although the room was a bit pricey, you will find that everywhere in Switzerland is expensive, so by Switzerland standards, I dont think we could have found a better room with a better view for a better deal. There is a little balcony you can walk out on (it is long and skinny and runs along the front of the building, so you share it with the other rooms that have a view) but there was never anyone else out there when we went out to enjoy a glass of wine one evening. Everyone was very nice and helpful. When we told them we would not be eating breakfast there the second morning due to an early train we had to catch, they packed us a big breakfast to take with us! The building is also directly across from the small train station, which is very convenient. The bathroom was also nice. The shower had shower doors instead of a curtain *(unlike many places we stayed) which was nice because it didnt keep bowling in and getting stuck to you! We would go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    78
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
132
279
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ema and the entire staff at the Guesthouse were wonderful. Ema made our stay comfortable, relaxed and humorous! We enjoyed the bar/restaurant with GREAT food, good wine selection, nice Port and Scotch choices, and a fantastic Ema-made caipirinha!
Our room (#9) was spacious with an unbelievable view of the Eiger and a robust shower. Aaah!

Room Tip: The rooms which face the front of the inn also face the street and the train station so may be a tad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel;our room with a balcony and beautiful views was spacious enough and very clean.We had all of our meals at the hotel and food was excellent.
Ema was particularly helpful friendly and caring making sure that we should be happy and made very welcome suggestions for our outings.
The other members of staff very very pleasant and courteous.
We definitely would stay again at Eiger Guesthouse and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for recommending the Eiger Guesthouse to the other TripAdvisor users.
It was a big pleasure and a big honour to welcome you on your 50th wedding anniversary. Also ist was a big pleasure Meeting you!
we hope to welcome you again.

Best wishes

Ema & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

my wife and stayed for 3 nights. Our room faced the front of the hotel, with the best mountain view of any hotel I’ve ever stay in. The room was basic, clean, with comfortable beds. The breakfast is pretty standard (canned fruit cocktail, etc.). There is no elevator, so make sure stairs are not an issue (no problem for us).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guests from Ohio,

thank you very much for your Review! we are very happy that you enjoyed the fantastic view of our 3 pics Eiger, Mönch, Jungfrau.

We hope you will return.

Best regards

Ema & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

After flying 11 hours and when the trains were running late (traveled from Zurich to Murren, 4 transfers and I know, late trains are rare in Switzerland, we had to run at each transfer!) we thought we'd be too late checking in and getting some dinner However, when we walked out of the train station (I think they waited for us to catch that last train) Emma was waiting on the Eiger Guesthouse patio and saw us. She stood up, arms outstretched to greet us and said, "This is the family we've been waiting for!" Wow! That was such a wonderful welcome to the beginning of our European vacation, and it made us feel like everything would be ok after such a crazy day. She assured us we could still get dinner before her restaurant closed for the night. Dinner was great, and service was great.

Our adjoining rooms were nice, mountain view, comfortable beds. Breakfasts each morning were very good and all other meals we ate there were excellent. Emma and her staff were great to our kids and they loved her dog! So sweet. She made us feel good each time we saw her, gave us suggestions for both our time in Murren and our upcoming destinations. We can't wait to go back to enjoy Murren and Eiger Guesthouse again. Thank you Emma!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
You're welcome, dear guests from california!

thank you very much for this fantastic review!
It was a big pleasure to have you as guests! such a nice Family!
we hope to welcome you again, the sooner, the better.

Best wishes and greetings from Mürren

Ema & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTE VEDRA BEACH
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Room was modern & clean with an excellent bath. The location was great across from the train station (this in no way impeded the views) and was on the main street running through town. The breakfast was average, not bad not great. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Anything you needed they got it for you. The price per nite was reasonable. The rooms all had great view of the Eiger Mountain. Access to the trail systems from the hotel was good, the funicular was only a few blocks away.

One warning: Hotel did not have an elevator so if you are not in good condition or have heavy luggage this could be an issue.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have nice balconys (that floor #2 in Europe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I ordered the twins bed room, and with mountain view preference . Actually it wasn't a mountain view room when I checked in, although I made this order 3 months in advanced.
Except this everything is ok. The room is very clean, the location is excellent, just opposite the train station.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your visit to the Eiger Guesthouse.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed about having no Mountain View, but you booked the cheapest room we have on Booking.com and we cannot guarantee a Mountain View with this type of rooms. I hope to welcome you another opportunity and be able to provide you a good view.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers newly renovated rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, TV and LAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Great restaurant, bar/pub and games room with Internet-Surf-Station. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eiger Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.