We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view from a hotel I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Roatan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best view from a hotel I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Our room was cozy, clean and comfortable. The balcony had the most amazing views, although it looked a little shaky so I wouldn't recommend leaning on the railing. The bathroom had been updated and was ample, not spacious by U.S. standards but certainly not the smallest we've seen in Switzerland. The staff were very accommodating and helpful even though they were getting the place ready to shut down for a few weeks the day we left. The rooms included a typical Swiss Continental breakfast which we enjoyed. Murren is beautiful and a must see for hikers and those who enjoy mountain scenery!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    28
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This was our first trip to Switzerland and the friends we were travelling with booked us all into this hotel for 1 night.
Murren is a beautiful picturesque village with breathtaking views of the mountains and lovely clean air.
Edelweiss has a fantastic location and we had a good sized room with balcony from which to stand in awe of the view and scenery. After a busy day sightseeing and walking round we decided to use their restaurant in the evening instead of going out again.
Our room was large enough for us all to meet for pre dinner drinks and was clean and comfortable.
When booking a table we were told we had to be down by 7.30pm which was a bit of a rush for us but dinner was very good and we all had a very pleasant evening, but the owners youngest child was in the restaurant and clearly over tired!
Good quality bedding and cosy duvet, the room was very warm and I had to have the balcony door open all night. Husband found the bed to be 'like a board' and due to room location it was pitch dark! Shower was extremely poor, slow flow and kept cutting out when someone else turned the tap on.
Very nice breakfast room, greeted by the male owner who brought us a tray of coffee and told us to help ourselves to the buffet. Breakfast was good but I would have liked to see toast and maybe eggs, fine for 1 night stay but any longer and it would have been boring. Unfortunately it was far too hot in the room, I had to open the window and the owners children were VERY noisy, even screaming at one point and running around, I was certainly not the only person unhappy about this. Additionally the male owner was walking up and down the room talking very loudly into his mobile phone not very professional.
Overall I would rate this hotel average to good, we enjoyed our trip to Murren very much but there is room for improvements and at £100 for the night they really should be addressed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was our second trip to Hotel Edelweiss and Murren. Additional rooms have been added. We stayed in one; worth the additional cost. Sandra and Dan Kuster-von Allmen are considerate hosts. For example, one day we left a plan for our hiking destination and trails with the hotel. Because the hike took much longer than anticipated; we returned after dark. Sandra had already started making telephone calls to determine if we were safe. Views from the mountain side rooms are outstanding. The breakfasts are substantial, and optional dinners are on par (quality and price) with other restaurants in the village. Because we hiked trails on both sides of the valley, the multi-day pass for cable cars and trams into the mountains was a major money saver.
Wenger (also car free) on the other side of the valley is an alternative, although larger and more commercial than Murren. Grindelwald is in a different class: cars, much larger, and quite commercial. If you are planning to go to either Jungfraujoch or Schilthorn, go earily as possible in the day; can get very crowded.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

When I arrived in Murren I had, only hours before, wrecked my knee while playing basketball in Zurich. Once at Hotel Edelweiss, they saw me hobbling and gave me an ice pack. The following day the owners had their brotehr drop by with crutches so that I could get around Murren with ease. To summerize, after travelling around Europe for over two months, the staff at Hotel Edelweiss may have been the kindest people we met. Now, if you're reading this wondering if you should stay there, here's the asthetic rundown: great breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms overall, and close to anything you'd need. The views are spectacular, and I recommend that you ask for a balcony view in one of the new rooms - words cannot describe the view that your balcony will afford.

Stay here. It's fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel Edelwiess is a nice hotel in a beautiful place (Murren) in Switzerland,everything you could wish for fantastic scenery and good skiing.But with all this why is there always one person who spoils it, I am referring to Sandra the hotel owner, the moment we arrived we could tell with her attitude that she was not friendly.My wife and myself always ask for a second pillow, to which she replied there were no spare pillows and that we could crank up the top end of the bed to gain some height similar to a sunbed.we have never been refused extra pillows in all the hotels we have stayed in.Whilst we were staying here we got friendly with two more british couples and every night after our meal we would have a natter to ech other,this was possible because our tables were quite close to each other.But on our final night of the holiday we came down to find that we were all seperated,we were sited in the middle of the dining room whilst our friends were located at the extreme ends of the dining room,I can only assume that Sandra sperated us because we were the frienly type of people and she was not,we would have considered going back but not while she is there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it.
We were sure to choose a room with a balcony facing the cliff. I was amazed at the beauty.
We were very comfortable here, and it met and sometimes exceeded our needs.
I hope we can afford to return to Murren some day, and if we do we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonh13
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The best thing about Hotel Edelweiss is the view - it is simply amazing. Make sure you ask for a room on the cliff side. The rooms are somewhat small but very comforable and functional. There is so much to do outdoors in Murren that you won't be in your room much anyway. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was good. Murren is a gem in the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New renoveted ***hotel with 24 rooms, mostly with balcony and a beautiful mountain view, 5 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.