We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss @ 5000 ft” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bliss @ 5000 ft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

When I arrived in Murren I had, only hours before, wrecked my knee while playing basketball in Zurich. Once at Hotel Edelweiss, they saw me hobbling and gave me an ice pack. The following day the owners had their brotehr drop by with crutches so that I could get around Murren with ease. To summerize, after travelling around Europe for over two months, the staff at Hotel Edelweiss may have been the kindest people we met. Now, if you're reading this wondering if you should stay there, here's the asthetic rundown: great breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms overall, and close to anything you'd need. The views are spectacular, and I recommend that you ask for a balcony view in one of the new rooms - words cannot describe the view that your balcony will afford.

Stay here. It's fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
64
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
accrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel Edelwiess is a nice hotel in a beautiful place (Murren) in Switzerland,everything you could wish for fantastic scenery and good skiing.But with all this why is there always one person who spoils it, I am referring to Sandra the hotel owner, the moment we arrived we could tell with her attitude that she was not friendly.My wife and myself always ask for a second pillow, to which she replied there were no spare pillows and that we could crank up the top end of the bed to gain some height similar to a sunbed.we have never been refused extra pillows in all the hotels we have stayed in.Whilst we were staying here we got friendly with two more british couples and every night after our meal we would have a natter to ech other,this was possible because our tables were quite close to each other.But on our final night of the holiday we came down to find that we were all seperated,we were sited in the middle of the dining room whilst our friends were located at the extreme ends of the dining room,I can only assume that Sandra sperated us because we were the frienly type of people and she was not,we would have considered going back but not while she is there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it.
We were sure to choose a room with a balcony facing the cliff. I was amazed at the beauty.
We were very comfortable here, and it met and sometimes exceeded our needs.
I hope we can afford to return to Murren some day, and if we do we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonh13
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The best thing about Hotel Edelweiss is the view - it is simply amazing. Make sure you ask for a room on the cliff side. The rooms are somewhat small but very comforable and functional. There is so much to do outdoors in Murren that you won't be in your room much anyway. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was good. Murren is a gem in the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Hotel Edelweiss was an excellent hotel to stay in Mürren in June. Our balcony was literally overhanging the cliff that headed straight down into Lauterbrunnen. Opposite, a perfect view of the Eiger. The room was very clean and new looking, and had a very big bathroom by European standards. The rest of the hotel was cozy, Daniel put on a nice fire in the evening. He was a very friendly and helpful guy, and Sandra was quite the same. I'm not sure why people have complained about her on here, it's definitely ungrounded (assuming you're a respectful person yourself). The idea behind the hotel is that you go out and enjoy the amazing outdoors, and come back for a great place to crash for the night. You come here for the outdoors.
As for the town of Mürren, it's pretty much as quiet as it gets. While we were there, the weather was awful, constant rain and thick clouds. It makes hiking not quite as enjoyable, but you can still get out if you're determined. After leaving, we stayed in the area but came back a few days later when the weather was good. Check out the attached pictures as a testament to this amazing place.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
280 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our room looked right out over the valley and across the the Jungfrau mountain tops. Simply breath taking. The rooms were clean and quiet. Breakfeast was very good. This hotel is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This hotel is a level 3 minute walk from Murren station. The hotel is spotlessly clean with a bright airy dining room with superb views over to the big three alpine peaks. It is situated a the top of a 2000ft. cliff overlooking the Lauterbrunnen valley. The owners have 3 children aged about 11, 3 and 2. The younger children bring a really happy atmosphere into this very friendly hotel. The bedrooms are a good size with excellent showers, comfortable beds and 24 channel TV. Breakfast consists of choice of 4-5 cereals, freshly baked bread. tinned and fresh fruit , jogurt, ham, salami, and sliced cheese and a variety of preserves. The evening meal consisted of starter, main course and sweet and was excellently cooked and presented. Staff efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New renoveted ***hotel with 24 rooms, mostly with balcony and a beautiful mountain view, 5 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.