We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View, Excellent Service, Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Save Saved
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Murren
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent View, Excellent Service, Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for a last minute weekend getaway to the Berner Oberland while we were in Zurich, and we couldn't have been happier. Murren was perfect, and we loved Hotel Edelweiss.

It's true the facade might not be awe inspiring, but the view off the lobby balcony, terrace and the mountain view rooms definitely are. We were there in June during foggy weather, and it was just jaw dropping to see the sheer mountain wall disappear and reappear from the clouds. Stunning.

The rooms themselves are clean, and well appointed. Good beds, nice fluffy blankets and enough room to put your belongings. The bathrooms were clean and pleasant too. It's not a "boutique" hotel, but then, few are are in this location.

We loved the restaurants. Their continental breakfast spread is a cut above what we usually see in Europe, and we even liked the dinner we had (there's not many choices for restaurants up the side of the mountain but this one was genuinely good). It was so nice to see the owner and her children interacting with the guests, and they were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.

If you're looking for a small, well appointed, family run 3-4 star hotel then, highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I booked 4 nights in a Superior South-facing room at the Edelweiss in mid-September. My only regret is that we didn't book a full week. We'd been to Murren previously at this time of year, and had enjoyed warm sunshine and blue skies, with crystal-clear views of the towering snow-capped trio of Monch, Eiger and Jungfrau. We were not disappointed this time around either. Beautiful days, cool air, warm sun - perfect hiking weather. And the Edelweiss proved to be the perfect place to unwind and relax at days' end. By paying just a little bit more, we booked a view room in the new wing and it was worth every franc! Spectacular views of the iconic Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau and the green Lauterbrunnen Valley far below dominated, perfectly framed by a wall of glass. Stepping out onto our balcony with 2 chairs, small table and a reclined sun chair made us feel like we were on top of the world. We bought some nice Swiss whites at the local grocery, just a few hundred yards from the hotel, and had our own "happy hour" late each afternoon, feet up on the rail, the million dollar view seemingly our own private treat.
The room itself was beautifully, and thoughtfully designed. From the wood floors to the crisp white duvets and down pillows, excellent spot lighting, large flat-panel tv and a huge, glass-walled shower with fantastic water pressure and a view out to the mountains, it was pure luxury. And then there was the huge soaking tub, big enough for 2 and again with views out the wall of glass to unimpeded views of the mountains. A generous heated towel rack ensured that warm, fluffy towels were ready to wrap up in after a nice soak. (and provided a great place to quickly dry wool hiking socks that I washed in the sink) The room was incredibly spacious and included a sofa that appeared to be convertible to another bed. Ample storage for clothing, and the provided hairdryer was good.
Internet connection (free) was fine. Breakfasts were very nice, the typical Swiss assortment of breads, muesli, cheeses, and eggs you could boil yourself (nice set up). Excellent coffee. We dined in the restaurant on 2 nights and found it quite good with a surprisingly good wine list, fairly-priced.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially owner/manager Daniel who gave us weather updates and excellent advice on hikes. His cheery greeting each morning was a special touch.
I really cannot find anything to fault at the Edelweiss. Don't let the fact that the exterior isn't the charming wooden chalet-with-flower-boxes of your dreams. You'll walk past plenty of that in Murren. Walk inside the Edelweiss, and enjoy true Swiss hospitality and an incredibly comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms in the new wing with South view and balcony (facing the mountains and precipitous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had an opportunity to book a three bedroom apartment located directly under the patio of the Edelweiss Hotel. It is run by the same owners and has the same incredible views- just phenomenal!! The apartment can sleep 7 to 8 with a living room, two full baths and an extra half bath. It has a fully equipt kitchen with dishwasher and all plates, silverware and cooking equipment you will need Best of all is the balcony with an unobstructed view of the Lauterbrunen Valley and the Alps.Our view was better than any postcard and we kept having to check ourselves that Yes, this view is real!
This place was nothing fancy, just comfortable and very convenient. At the North end of Murren, it was just 5 minutes from the train station down the mountain to Lauterbrunen. Price was a bit less that an triple room in the Hotel, but with the cleaning fee turned out to be about the same. If you have a group of 7 or 8, this place is a steal! Overall a very positive experience. Yes, we would recommend.

Room Tip: Just ask if the apartment is available- no amenities, just a great price for family or group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I returned to Murren for a few day's hiking. We had thought about the iconic Hotel Eiger (and enjoyed a meal in their lovely restaurant) but wanted to have a balcony overlooking the valley with an unimpeded view of the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau as well as something a bit more comfortable than the pleasant Alpina where we stayed last time. We read that the Edelweiss, next door to the Alpina, had recently opened a newly renovated section and decided to book there. The room was beautiful and beautifully designed with hardwood floors, a bath tub that took full advantage of the simply extraordinary view and of course the terrace looking over the sheer drop to the valley below and up to the mountains. It had a comfortable, spacious feeling and with all that incredible light streaming in via the terrace window, I often would forget to put the key in the slot to activate the power and lights. Add charming, helpful, and friendly hosts, comfortable beds and pillows, free wi-fi and you have an easy five stars (and I might say even six if the weather is perfect!).

Murren is one of Paradise's most pleasant outposts and a big part of this is that the village is vehicle free. The only sounds you will hear are cow-bells and the wind coming off the mountains. For day hikers, there are numerous walks that give you a real sense of being in the mountain and require no climbing or special skills. In mid-September - off season - the trails are not crowded and neither is town. My wife and I love the walk over the Wassenegg Ridge to the Rotstockhutte. Not far from Murren is the Schiltalp Farm where the milch cafe is superb - ask for some additional hot milk on the side. In Winteregg, near the station, there is a dairy offering quite simply the best yoghurt I've tasted. We enjoyed the restaurant at the hotel, the Eiger's more formal restaurant, and the Jaegerstubli at the Hotel Bellevue (which had some fine wines as well.)

The Berner Oberland has become an essential part of our holiday plans and even though the facade of the Edelweiss doesn't say 'gorgeous', venture into one of the renovated rooms and you won't care.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is situated 5,000 feet above sea level and has an amazing view of the Swiss Alps. Eating on their patio you face a whole range of snow covered mountains. The food, service and hotel are all good but the location is outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Swiss Alps. The view of the Alps is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Cannot adequately describe the view from our 2nd level unit of jungfrau & lauterbrunnen valley. The hotel is situated right on the edge of a cliff to the lauterbrunnen valley. Has to be experienced to understand. We stayed here in may 2012 & the scenery was spectacular. It was all I had hoped for in staying in the Swiss alps. The manager Daniel was very helpful & courteous. The town was quiet & several shops/bakery closed for the low season unfortunately. The unit was very tidy and cleaned each day. Given murren is a small village & after a long day of trekking & sightseeing would be nice to have had some cable tv to watch of a night. Definitely recommend the paragliding from murren also! The breakfast at edelweiss was very good & again beautiful views of the jungfrau from your table. Make sure you take a walk to grutschalp (about 1.5hrs). Again love this hotel & highly recommend it!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is an excellently run hotel with the best views in Murren. We had a first floor room and the views were truly amazing.
The owner/managers and staff combine friendliness with professionalism. Daniel (owner/manager) is extremely helpful providing local knowledge and suggesting trips.

The food is of a good standard and there is plenty of it. The sun terrace is very popular as the views from here are spectacular.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone seeking a well run, medium class hotel with good food and stunning views.

Room Tip: mountain view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New renoveted ***hotel with 24 rooms, mostly with balcony and a beautiful mountain view, 5 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.