We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Alpina to your Saves list
Hotel Alpina
Route de Caux, Glion, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Following an Insight tour of Bavaria, Austria, and Switzerland, we spent two days in Lauterbrunnen and two more days in Murren. The hotel Alpina is a great little hotel. There is no lift, but the staff was very happy to help us with our bags. The room had a balcony that looked out over the valley, and the views just can not be adequately described. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. The breakfast is included, and it is a typical minimalist Swiss breakfast. The rate was very reasonable. The room was very small, but in this beautiful place, if you are spending time in your room, you are wasting time. We highly recommend the Hotel Alpina.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    62
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
114
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in second half of the May, 2014 in third floor two room apartment. Hotel is very clean, renovated with excellent view. We liked it very much. Our daughter was here 3 times and suggested it to us. I suggest it for everyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Alpina is very nice. Roger is a very fun and friendly host. The view is amazing! Our room was clean and fresh and comfortable. Dinner was excellent. We spent 4 nights and hiked every day. Murren and the Lauterbrunen Valley is from another world. It is so beautiful! Don't miss Tremmelbach falls. We also took tandem paragliding rides. This is expensive but it is a magical experience. I can't imagine there is a better place in the world to do this. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We were facing the valley and the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

we have been here twice over a period of about three years, and were treated to a wonderful experience each time. roger, his beautiful wife, and mother, have been gracious hosts, and we have been fortunate to have enjoyed the breathtaking view of the three peaks, right in front of our balcony. you dont really need to go outside, the view is that good. probably one of the best vantage points to take in the mountain and valley view.

Room Tip: a room on second floor is ideal. always take the mountain side rooms,. they are more expensive but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel has a nice location near the cliff roughly halfway between the main Schilthorn cable car and the train station. I had a corner room with a balcony overlooking the valley, and the view is absolutely amazing. Well worth the extra few francs for the view room, even though I didn't spend much time there. The rooms were clean and seem to have been recently upgraded. Was a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Get the view rooms with a spectacular view of the Jungfrau and the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for a 1 night at Hotel Alpina for a skiing weekend. We were recommend 4 Murren hotels by a friend and this was the only one with availability for a family room so we took it. We spent little at the hotel. We checked in at 1030 and suprised that a room was available so that was great so we could change to ski. We had a first floor family room which is basically 2 small rooms, each with 2 twin beds and a sink and the rooms were connected by bathroom. One of the rooms had the balcony with mountain view and the other room had the street view. The mountain view was spectacular. Because the balcony was over the cliff, you feel close to the mountains. It was a beautiful sight to wake up to in the morning. Rooms each were small and basic and clean. Bathroom was very small too with no bath amenities except for soap/wash. Breakfast was basic as well, no hot food. There was a small ski room outside the hotel and a ski boot locker right by the hotel entrance/registration. Hotel staff were courteous. Everything was as expected from a 3-star hotel. If you need a hotel close to the Murren train station then this hotel is one of the few that are close by, it's a 5 minute walk. Although the 5-minute walk with luggage, boot bags and skis and children carrying those and snow on the road seemed like a very long walk! We asked the hotel if they had a service to the station but they didn't have any. The walk from the hotel to the ski (Almenhubel funical) is about 10 minutes and the walk to the Schiltorn cable car is 12-15 minutes. With kids carrying their own skis, these seemed like long walks. If we were to return to Murren to ski (we likely return next winter), this hotel would not be the best location for us. We may look at other Murren hotels and compare prices and see other amenities (e.g. swimming pool). If the hotel had a transportation service, we would consider.

Room Tip: I believe most rooms have a balcony with mountain view but call the hotel to confirm anyway. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced for Switzerland and the location is the best in Murren. From the rooms on the valley side you can go out on your balcony and look down 1000's of feet. It is in between the gondola to the Schilthorn and the cog train station. The rooms are basic and could be updated as could the common areas of the hotel. The food was ok at best and could also be improved. We would likely stay here again if we are back in Murren.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Route de Caux, Glion, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#4 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.