We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Murren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alpina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpina
Route de Caux, Glion, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Murren
Akron, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location in Murren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Staff, especially Roger at the desk, were very friendly and helpful. We were just before "season" so a number of places were not yet open in Murren but we still had a great time. Good food available in town too. Convenient to rail station and unbelievable view. WiFi worked well and was free. Definitely recommend Hotel Alpina to those in the area.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are more expensive but we selected "city view" as we did not spend muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    57
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
99
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay in Murren at the Hotel Alpina. The hotel's location is really wonderful, just a short walk from the Murren station and on the edge of the cliff affording a incredible view either in your room or at breakfast in their lounge. The rooms are small, but cozy with everything that you need, typical of a Swiss mountain hotel. While there were several other guests nearby, our room was surprisingly quiet.

Breakfast is included, and it's a nice spread of assorted breads and cereal with even some meat and cheese. And, if you're anxious to start hiking early or need to get to a train, you can tell them the night before and instead of breakfast, they'll pack you a lunch. What service. At night, you can get drinks in the lounge as well which they will charge to your room.

Murren is a great location, especially if you like the outdoors and avoiding tour crowds. On a clear day, the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau are excellent as well as views down the steep valley. In the summer season, you can take the mini funicular partway up and walk along many family-friendly trails such as the mountain flower trail or children's adventure trail. Or, if you want the 007 James Bond view, you can go up to Schilthorn and see the entire valley. Murren's a great base for hiking as well as getting good food at the end of the day. It has more to offer than Gimmelwald, at least in May at the start of the summer season.

Few pro tips:
Consider buying a Swiss half-pass. You have to take a cable car and train up to Murren, and the costs can add up quickly. (Going to Schilthorn alone is 77chf) If you're already taking a train to this area, the price of the card can be worth it.

Note that the the main tourist seasons are Summer (hiking) and Winter (skiing). Often, hotels in the area close between the seasons, so be sure to check. We went the second weekend of May, and it was the first "official" weekend of the summer and there were only a few restaurants and hotels open.

This year (2013) has been a particularly late winter, so there's still quite a bit of snow on the mountain, and the flowers are quite delayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Murren is such a gorgeous place and this hotel is a great place to stay and enjoy the magnificent view! The hotel is so warm and friendly and we were immediately made to feel 100% welcome, and were even upgraded to a corner view room, which by the way, is AMAZING! We arrived late in the evening, so really couldn't get an idea of the location of Hotel Alpina until the next morning. When we woke up, we were greeted with the most spectacular view ( so good it almost seems unreal! ), and enjoyed three days of lovely hospitality and comfort. Unfortunately for us, after the first day of great, clear weather, we lost our view in a cloud that lasted two days..... however, we still really enjoyed our stay and spent the time discovering Murren and some of the surrounding towns. This place is made all the more special because it's just that little bit harder to get to ( via cable car and train), and is super relaxing and friendly. We will be back one day for sure.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a corner room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel Alpina is run by the Taugwalders, a really friendly family who go out of their way to make you welcome. The hotel has a stunning location overlooking the Jungfrau. They have just refurbished the dining room and it is modern and very pleasant indeed. They have free WiFi which we didn't find in any of the other similarly priced hotels where we stayed in Switzerland. The TV's also have good reception and plenty of channels. Nothing is far away in Murren but this hotel is really close to the station which is great as there are no cars in Murren so you don't want to have to carry your luggage far. It also gives you the opportunity to go to the Wengen side of the valley easily too. Love it at the Alpina :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over the valley - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here on one of our swiss trips to be on the cliff overlooking the valley of Lautenbrunnen. And I wanted to be ON THE CLIFF!! This hotel did not disappoint. What a view as you wake up and look out over a valley at the huge wall of the Eiger alpine massif. My wife still talks about that view a year after we visited! I also wanted to be near the lift up to Piz Gloria Restaurant in the morning to have the "James Bond Breakfast" on top of the Alps. If you are in Murren you can't miss that, but do check the weather (usually the hotel can tell you, there are cameras up there) The huge buffet breakfast is still good, but to be in the rotating restaurant on a clear morning is a marvelous experience.
The hotel is also right on the main drag but since Murren is free of cars we were never bothered by any noise.

Room Tip: Getting a room that overlooks the alpine side is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfort
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First of all, this hotel has fantastic views, fantastic service, and is located in the most beautiful village that I've ever been to. The hotel was very easy to find, maybe just a 5 minute walk from the last little train. The hotel reception was very welcoming and helped us find ski rentals, ski lessons, restaurants etc.

Our room was very clean with a wonderful view when the weather was clear.

To get to Murren we arrived by car at interlocken ost, and basically asked the help desk at the train station where to go and what to do. They literally mapped it out from us and we were on our way. The ride was amazingly gorgeous. I read in other reviews that there is a luggage car, but we did not find this.

The hotel itself was fine. Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, and clean bathroom. The room was nothing to write home about but the view was amazing, the town was fantastic, and the atmosphere in Murren is just a happy, friendly place. Our bedroom had a shelf over the bed that I somehow manage to knock my head on several times. My husband did not have the issue, I think I'm just clumsy.

Breakfast had a nice variety to get you ready for your day of skiing, boarding or trekking. Note - the tables have number on them. These are your room numbers. We didn't realize this until after we opened our eyes with coffee and found that we were unfortunately sitting at someone else's table! Whoops!! An embarrassing mistake that I don't want anyone else to repeat!

Dinner there was not my favorite, but I'm sure they had other options that were nice. We ordered the fondue for dinner, and for quite a bit of money it was only a bowl of hot cheese and bread. (Now this might be standard, but we'd seen people with lots of dishes of meat, fruits & breads at other restaurants and thats more what we were expecting). So we asked the waiter for a side plate of cold cuts, which we were happy to pay extra for, which arrived about 30 minutes later. If we were to stay there again I would probably explore other restaurants.

But, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Amazing experience, wonderful vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family spent six nights at the Hotel Alpina. Because the week was light with visitors, we had the option to move to two separate rooms instead of the family apartment. One room was cozy, the other bigger and brighter. Both clean, tidy, and perfect for our stay.
During the week, our rooms were very quite, as the weekend approached, the noise level increase a bit.

The hotel was a short walk from the train, which was welcome with our heavy luggage.
We chose to eat dinner at various hotels to just get a feel for Murren.

Would recommend this our friends!

Room Tip: Mountain view, with bathroom window towards the mountains as well. Top floor, you wouldn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Route de Caux, Glion, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#4 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.