We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing views, good location in Murren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Alpenruh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Alpenruh to your Saves list
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, amazing views, good location in Murren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Alpenruh is a wonderful choice for a convenient, beautiful hotel in Murren. It's located at the end of town, with jaw-dropping views of the Alps, particularly from its restaurant, which offers meals that are competitively priced for Murren, and are delicious. Try the local speciality: rosti. It's the best hash brown potatoes you'll ever taste, with choices of veggies, or cheese, or other add-ons.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and very nice. It's a great spot after a long day of hiking to return to, kick off your hiking boots, and settle in on the patio of the restaurant for a meal and the best views in the world. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the cable car that takes you up to the mountains where you can choose from several gorgeous hikes, and is adjacent to another cable car that takes you to the "James Bond" restaurant. I'd highly recommend this hotel. And Murren is a wonderful destination: terrific hikes and much less touristy than its sister city across the Lauterbrunnen Valley, Wengen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Alpenruh almost 15 years ago, whilst on a family holiday and it always stuck in my mind as exactly how I expected Switzerland to be. Fast forward to last month and I decided to stay a couple of nights in there with my girlfriend whilst on holiday. The entire way there I was nervous that my childhood memories would be ruined but I'm very pleased to say that the magic I remembered is still well and truly in the air. Of course Murren itself and the entire Lauterbrunnen valley have to take a fair bit of the credit for this as the area remains one of them most stunning places I've ever been to, and I'm quite well travelled.

That said, Hotel Alpenruh itself stands out from the crowd of boring, larger hotels in the village simply by having a genuine atmosphere. The timber framed building looks like a swiss chalet should, the staff are all so smiley and friendly and you really do get a personal service. The restaurant is charming and the food hearty and delicious, made from local ingredients, just what you need after a day's hard hiking/skiing/boarding. I was there on a couply holiday with a bit of walking and we had a fabulous time all in all. I'd imagine it would also be perfect for ski tourists who want something more genuine than the faceless chain hotels.

Tip 1: They have a deal on with Piz Gloria (the rotating restaurant atop the Schilthorn) to swap one of your breakfasts in the hotel for a breakfast there. Take them up on it! You have to pay for the cable car up there which isn't cheap (though nothing in Switzerland is) but you won't regret it. We had breakfast there and it was one of the highlights of our whole trip

Tip 2: Get one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the valley. It's so so worth the extra you pay. Best balcony view I've ever had.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely Hotel in the Swiss alps. No cars allowed. Arrival in the village of Murren via Train or cable car. Hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. Beautiful views of the mountains. Excelent choice of Food which is well cooked and presented. Plenty of choices for simple walks or for the fitter hill walking. Recommend the breakfast on Schildhorn - but needs to be a good clear day to enjoy the most.This can be booked through the Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We liked:

- the (male) owner. He was really helpful and seemed to care that his guests were having a good time. he recommended the Schilthorn breakfast trip but warned us to check the webcam in our room first (Channel 1) as without the views it would hardly be worth it. We went on a cloudless day and were entranced. The breakfast was a huge hot and cold buffet (including waffles) and was delicious. We sipped coffee and stayed for almost three hours, watching the mountains as the restaurant revolved and spending time outside on the viewing platform.

- the outside terrace. It was a great place for coffee or tea or evening drinks.

- the food. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. The latter was on a half board basis and was five courses including soup and pudding.

- the fridge in the room

- the girl who served us - blonde with glasses. Very sweet and helpful.

Not so keen:

- the cramped room (but it was just a standard double) looking across to the street. It was very stuffy but if you opened the windows the nets opened too and everyone could see you from the street a few feet away. We just had to remember to put a dressing gown on.

We would go back there but probably pay for a better room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
270 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in mid June. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Bread and rolls from the local bakery. meat from the local butcher. Great views of the mountains from the balcony and the restaurant. This is a very good place to stay if you are in Murren.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really miss Murren and Alpenruh. The views from our balcony was one of life's most memorable moments. The owners were really nice and the half board was really delicious and of good portion. We also enjoyed the hot sauna after the very cold and windy day in Murren and up in Schiltorn. We did not go up to Jungfrau as Schiltorn offers incredible views with a fraction of the cost. Murren is our family's favorite place during our 10 days travel in Switzerland. We would definitely stay in Alpenruh again for our next visit to Murren :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with Balcony and views to the mountains! The mountains are standing right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to this hotel. The front desk was nice, happy, and a joy to speak to. Dinner was good. Priced right. Breakfast was standard for switlherland. I mentioned to the owner that a few sweets would have made a better time for me but I did say that this to more of my taste rather than his style. He did listen to me and for that this the place to stay in Murren.

Rooms were clean , new, and quiet. This was off season. Anther large hotel recommended this hotel because they were closed. That speaks well.

PS. THE VIEW is 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Alpenruh

Address: Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurant with large sun terrace. Directly adjoining the Schilthorn cableway.LocationArrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen till Stechelberg. Big parking area. cable car to Mürren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost till Lauterbrunnen and by post bus till Stechelberg/cable car station (Schilthornbahn). By cable car till Mürren. Only one minute to go, the hotel Alpenruh is located in front of the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.