We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Alpenruh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Alpenruh to your Saves list
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Essex
1 review
“Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. It's a hotel where you are made to feel comfortable and relaxed and we noticed several guests travelling alone who looked very comfortable in the hotel environment. The four-course meals were excellent and varied. The view from the room was stunning, overlooking the mountain range with a spacious balcony. As previously stated in other reviews the transport communications are extremely convenient, right next to the cable car station. The manager is more than happy to help advise on which trains, etc to get in order to reach Murren from the airport. Email contact with the hotel prior to your stay is handled in a very efficient and helpful manner. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit this lovely Swiss village.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room facing the mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Snoozing_Cat

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the kitchen met your desires.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I don't think the gentleman who owns this property ever sleeps. He was there to check us in and help with our bags; he was there in the dining room at dinner time, and he was there to be sure our breakfast was good.

The room was OK/nice (we took the most expensive room-option) but the reason this place gets 5 stars is not about the room. We just had fabulous, fabulous service from the owner who was at the front desk.

The room (again, the most expensive) had OK roominess by European standards. A lovely deck overlooking the Alps. There was a small fridge for the great cheeses one can buy at the nearby COOP.

The place is very convenient to the cable-car, and only about a ten minute walk to the train.

The nice owner who is always attendant made this a fabulous place and i'd go back in a second.

The dinner was definitely five-star. Very good Swiss food for reasonable (by Swiss standards) prices. Great local wines. Dinner was about U.S.$130 for two.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Cessnapilot

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the helpfulness of the staff.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Even though we stayed here at the dead-end of the winter/spring season - the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had a great balcony overlooking the valley. The location of the hotel is great for skiiers - it's practically on the lift!

The food in the restaurant was delightful. Local ingredients and cuisine (not just cheese) allowed us to get a taste of the alps during our stay.

The only downside is the mattresses on the bed. Two singles pushed together do not make a queen or even a double. I've seen this in other European hotels - it's uncomfortable for those of us who like to snuggle.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Gustavius

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and apologize of not having met your expectations for the beds.

Your feedback gives us the chance to improve our service continuously and to fulfil the wishes of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

Literally steps from the cable car/tram. Tidy, efficient, Swiss clean. This is not resort quality but it matters not in Murren because it's Murren and not much else matters but the scenery and people. Rooms are smallish ... Book mountain view room .... Worth it. Desk staff very very friendly and helpful (changed my room upon request). Warm comfort food. Note: take the tram! If you arrive by the train, this is on the opposite side of the village. No wifi ... But who cares because it's Murren.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Emeryclare

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your impressions.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and apologize for the WiFi not being working during your stay. We are not able to reconstruct this case, but WiFi is usually available in the hotel.

Your feedback gives us the chance to improve our service continuously and to fulfil the wishes of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at the Alpenruh over Christmas of 2010. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and willing to help with anything you needed or wanted. The location could not have been better. We also paid for the dinners upfront and glad we did. The food was great and it was nice not having to try to find a place to eat ontop of the mountain at the end of a day of skiing. I would recommend staying here to anyone and would love to visit again myself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear KB-TTU

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experiences.

We are glad that you have enjoyed Christmas and the stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our dining offers.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located a stones throw away from the Murren gondola so it was great to step off the gondola and into the warmth of the hotel. Clean hotel with everything you need. We opted for the double room with a balcony facing the mountains. I feel you would be disappointed and be missing out on the scenic aspect of Murren if you didn't get a mountain facing room as really that's what you go up to the mountains to see - the mountains themselves! We loved sitting on the balcony taking in the views of the snow capped mountains drinking some red wine and eating Swiss cheese.

The room was extremely clean and big enough for a weekend getaway. Comfy bed although bad pillows. Basic in what it offered in terms of bathroom accessiories and no kettle but that wasn't an issue and certainly not a deal breaker. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

It seems we went in shoulder season so there was nothing open, and I mean next to nothing. Two restaurants, one being the hotels restaurant/cafe next to the gondola, and a little supermarket. Most of the hotels were shut as were pubs and even sourvenior shops. I wish we had of realised this as we would have picked a slightly busier town - so suggestion is to be conscious of the time of year you're going and the type of holiday you want.

The walks around Murren were lovely and with everything being shut it was very quiet and peaceful.

Food was very expensive, at least in the 2 places which were open, and nothing to write home about. The supermarket had a great range and prices fine so I do suggest grabbing some things from there and having a picnic on your balcony and taking in the view.

Although it may sound quite involved (and expensive) getting to Murren the actual trip up and back is pictureseque so you really don't mind. From Zurich it's almost 3 hours and involves a few trains, a bus and a gondola. Despite this it was much nicer staying in the moutains as opposed to staying at the base of the mountanis in Interlarken.

Room Tip: Mountain facing balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I chose this hotel in Murren because of good reviews online. It was clean and pretty, with friendly staff and comfortable beds. The view of the 3 mountains from the window and balcony was lovely. The only negative for me was that my room was downstairs and I heard a lot of noisy footsteps along the verandah upstairs (leading past the restaurant). The hotel is right next door to the station for the Schiltorn cable car, and a short walk from the train/tram station (wouldn't be easy with large suitcases at some times of year I think, but I read somewhere that the hotel can arrange transport on request). Yes, Switzerland is expensive, especially the food, but I got a good deal with bed and breakfast at this hotel and was very happy with the experience. Murren and the Schiltorn definitely worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room - quieter if not under the restaurant/balcony. The view is better the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Alpenruh

Address: Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurant with large sun terrace. Directly adjoining the Schilthorn cableway.LocationArrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen till Stechelberg. Big parking area. cable car to Mürren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost till Lauterbrunnen and by post bus till Stechelberg/cable car station (Schilthornbahn). By cable car till Mürren. Only one minute to go, the hotel Alpenruh is located in front of the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.