We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Swiss hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eiger to your Saves list
Hotel Eiger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aegerten, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“True Swiss hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have stayed at the Hotel Eiger in Murren for three nights in June 2012. We asked for and were given a room on the top floor with incredible views of the mountains. I had never seen anything like it in my life. We awakened each morning to the mountain views. If the mountains were hidden by the clouds, we just waited a few seconds and the clouds moved on and we felt we could touch them, we were that close. Breakfast was such a treat. Champagne on the buffet, which I mixed with orange juice, was an unexpected delight. We had out best meal in Europe here the first night we arrived and couldn't stop talking about it. We were treated so well here that we felt we were leaving good friends when it was time to check out. Directly across the street from the tram station. Murren is adorable - a true Swiss town with the nicest people you would ever hope to meet.

Room Tip: Choose top floor with views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    43
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
86
153
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Thanks very much to Suzanna and the lovely staff they made our stay a big highlight of our Europe trip. The views are just breathtaking there are no words very surreal location, small village great to take in the Switzerland views. Right opposite the train station very convenient. The restaurant food is just brilliant the fondue amazing! We had a balcony room which we were spoilt with clear weather and fantastic post card views. Room was spacious clean and bed was very comfortable. We were able to exchange some AUD there too with no problems. they even packed us a delightful takeaway breakfast when we left since we had to catch an early 6:30am train. We wished we could have stayed longer truly an unforgettable stay, for a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Try and stay on the top floors. The kind porter will assist you with your luggage from the train ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in September, 2012. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Our room was absolutely stunning - we had a perfect view of the mountains and the village below us and a wonderful balcony to sit out on. We had a corner room so it was very bright and large - even the bathroom had a balcony and floor to ceiling window. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel and town are very quiet at night.

The pool and spa areas are very nice, with large windows looking out to mountain views. There is no hot tub, but lots of jets in the pool to relax in as well as a sauna.

The breakfast selections were plentiful, with fresh fruit, cheeses, many types of bread, cold cuts, boiled and scrambled eggs, tea, coffee, juices, etc.

The dinner was included in our package, however, it is gourmet which we aren't particularly fond of. The hotel accommodated this and gave us a credit to dine in the restaurant instead which had a lot more choices. The food was excellent, even our gourmet choices were good.

The location of this hotel is very unique and special - probably one of the most beautiful settings we have travelled to. We would definitely travel to Murren again, as three days is not enough time to really enjoy all there is to offer here. The hiking is amazingly beautiful, just steps from the hotel. However, if you are looking for shopping or a wide range of restaurants, you will not find too much in Murren, which is a good thing, as the natural scenery speaks for itself. We consider ourselves lucky to have travelled to Murren and stayed at this beautiful hotel.

This hotel is a great base for hiking and exploring the area, as the train is located conveniently across the street. It is very easy to travel down into the valley, along the valley floor and up the other side to another village.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a mountain view and ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world. This beautiful hotel sits in a beautiful little village nestled on the side of a cliff overlooking the Jungfrau Mountain, the tallest in Europe. WOW! We had mountain views of more than 180 degrees. So beautiful! We took the train on the Jungfrau Mountain tour which is a must do! We took a beautiful two hour train ride up the mountain through meadows and caves up to the top. We could see the whole mountain range and glaciers from several look out points, restaurants and shops. The other great mountain adventure was the Schilthorn Mountain where the James Bond movie, His Majesties Secret Service, was filmed. Again, amazing views. We always came back to our beautiful hotel. The hotel has three hotels in it, one with smaller rooms and a condo setup. The little village has a little bit of everything in it plus amazing views all around.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence,ri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend, and it was a wonderful time. The service is excellent-our luggage was brought to the hotel from the train station, thankfully as we were exhusted from lugging it from train to train. We were warmly greeted, and given a few ideas to start our stay in Murren, so off we went. After a few hours of poking around and having a beer, we came back to our lovely room, freshened up and went down to dinner. The food was fantastic, service was friendly, and helpful and the wine we had at our servers suggestion was perfect. An indoor pool and sauna helped work out the kinks of travel, and the super breakfast in the morning got us going. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a wonderful hotel in a charming little Swiss village. The rooms with mountain views were wonderful, the food was delicious, and all of the staff was were very engaging and extremely friendly and helpful. The pool also was fantastic. Can't say enough good things about this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schipluiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When staying at this hotel you become part of the family. Very attentive and forthcoming staff, from chambermaids upto owners/director. Standard reply for any request is that it is their pleasure to help you. For our 15 year old daughter the swimmingpool was a great attraction. The whirls and jets made it into a wonderful play area. The food and service in the restaurants at the hotel were top! Also the owner will stop by to inquire if every thing is in order and has a friendly chat. Murren is very peaceful, especially because there are hardly any cars in the streets. Great place for relaxing with the most astonishing views and enjoy the wild flowers during one of your hikes.

Room Tip: We stayed at the suite with the large balcony with view on Eiger/Jungfrau. Absolutely wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Address: Aegerten, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Mürren – the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 ½ hours from Bern-Belp and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eiger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.