We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alpenblick is owned by the Fitz family since 32 years. They are still there everyday at your service. Like home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpenblick Murren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Alpenblick Murren to your Saves list
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Town Center, Murren CH-3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hotel Alpenblick is owned by the Fitz family since 32 years. They are still there everyday at your service. Like home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and my family have a longstanding relationship with Muerren. We are coming here since 1965, as my mother worked at the Muerren Palace Hotel. My parents met here and my brother and me learned to ski here.
It's a place like paradise. No cars allowed, so very safe for kids. Very nestled into the mountain and the village is still very typically maintained, no big and too modern buildings. A unique place in Switzerland. And on top of all is the Piz Gloria or Schilthorn at 3000 meters. A restaurant that turns around 360 degrees in 1 hour, so that you can enjoy the fantastic scenery of the Swiss alps, and most of all the fabulous Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau!
Try it out and try the simple but very friendly Alpenblick Hotel!
And don't forget to try their specialty: "Güggeli im Körbli" or in English "chicken in the nest"!

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the famous Eiger, Moench & Jungfrau mountain chain. Beautiful, probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, NZ
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We loved the Alpenblick, perched across the road from the 800m cliff down into the Lauterbrunnen Valley. The views across the valley to the Eiger and Jungfrau truely were breathtaking. We arrived on a cloudy, misty day and it was spectacular in the evening as the views opened up before us.

Heidi was very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were small, but warm and quiet (it's great not having to worry about cars going past) and our balcony was a great suprise. We loved walking and cycling around the village.

Breakfasts were very good, with individual care and attention from Heidi and her husband

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Nice train ride and then tram ride from Lucerne to Murren. In early June, there weren't many placed yet open in Murren. Free wi-fi worked only in reception area. That was fine. Like other rooms in Switzerland so far, relatively small and expensive, but bathroom here and little outdated and high tub kind of an accident waiting to happen. Close to Schilthorn (?) which is expensive but beautiful. Staff very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again. In summer, don't stay in room 104. Hot water pipes run along wall and make room extremely warm. When we were there, it was a bit cool outside so the heat was OK; we didn't need any blankets. Could see how uncomfortable this would be if any heat outside.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The location is stunning, in plain view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Several things were a pleasant surprise: that the ski pistes start and end at the hotel (no trudging to lifts or waiting for buses), that a village without cars smells and feels delightful, that a tiny place in the mountains puts so much thought and imagination into their service and food. Everyone seemed happy to serve us and this kind of warm-heartedness made the simple chalet feel very luxurious. We will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel was at the cheaper end of hotels in Murren which is why we chose it. It was fine. We ended up with a huge suite for some reason but it was not particularly nice or not nice. We had a balcony, which was a nice feature.
The hotel smelled like fried cooking.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I were delighted with the location, service and warmth at the Hotel Allpenblick. Very friendly in a low-key way, helpful, and good cooks! I would be very happy to stay there again.
PS They have free wireless.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife and 11-year old boy stayed three nights at the Hotel Alpenblick at the end of July 2010. Referred there by the Muerren TI, we were pleasantly greeted by Heidi who showed us two rooms. We picked the room on the side with a partial mountain view (see pictures) for 185CHF per night which is typical for a triple room in the Berner Oberland. The rooms were modern and in the wood-panelled Swiss style. The beds were comfy and warm. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The included breakfast featured breads, cereals, pastries, cold cut meats. The in-house restaurant has decent prices, scrumptious food, and great service. I highly recommend the fantastically tasty "Chicken in a Basket" -- a half chicken deep-fried. We ate dinner there two nights and were very satisfied. The hotel is owned and operated by the friendly Heidi and Franz Fitz (hostess and chef, resp.).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpenblick Murren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick Murren

Address: Town Center, Murren CH-3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick Murren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpenblick Murren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.