We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Went Back a 2nd Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eiger Guesthouse Restaurant

Eiger Guesthouse Restaurant
Aergerte, Murren 3825, Switzerland
+41 33 856 54 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 restaurants in Murren
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Ristorante & Pizzeria Bar & Pub
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Food - Went Back a 2nd Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On our trip to Murren in April, we stopped in at the Eiger Guesthouse Pub. The staff was friendly and the service was excellent. We had a great meal, absolutely perfect. So later in the week when we were back in Murren we said lets go back to enjoy the meal and service again.
The restaurant is right across from the train station.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    67
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Imaginative, large menu friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent for food quality quantity and price not bad for Muerren. Happy atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“So good we went back a second time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Okay, Swiss food can really leave something to be desired - and I'm very open to all kinds of cuisines. So, whenever we go to Switzerland we do a lot of research - and this was the only restaurant in Mürren that really caught our eye. Fortunately, we did not have to heed the advice of other travelers and leave the mountain just to eat dinner.

I think the saving grace is that the owner and most of the workers are Portuguese, and they bring their touch to Swiss classics while serving up some dishes from home. And wow was everyone friendly. Really felt at home. Mürren is a funny place because it's overrun by primarily American tourists in the summer, so I could see how restaurateurs would just not care - but that's far from the case here.

Night 1 we had the cheese fondue, which was really excellent. It wasn't overly heavy, and the taste was really dynamic. Kind of like I always think a cheese fondue should be but never is. Definitely five stars.

Night 2 we went with the Portuguese tasting menu - it was very nicely done as well, and they kept bringing food until we were about to burst! It was not the most amazing tasting menu I've had, but for the location and the price I thought it was very good.

I don't think there's any other choice for dinner in Mürren. And it shows because when every other restaurant was empty this place was packed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Eiger Guesthouse for 4 nights and ate there for all evening meals in addition to the included breakfasts. We were typically out on the trails at lunch.

We normally would try several restaurants, but the food was very good to excellent and the variety was wide enough that we could always have something different. The roast lamb in particular was excellent.

The service was always friendly and prompt in this family run place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTON,SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fondue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best cheese fondue in Murren and maybe in Switzerland. Good kids menu selection too. Directly across from the train station makes a great first or last stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eiger Guesthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eiger Guesthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eiger Guesthouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.