We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back to Murren!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Murren
St. Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Want to go back to Murren!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Absolutely loved our time spent in Murren! It's a wonderful little town high up in the mountains. As everyone does, we parked in the car park at the bottom of the mountain and took the cable car up to Murren.

After a short walk down the main street (with one slight detour up the hill), we got to the Chalet. It's a wonderful place to stay and as others have said, Denise is a great hostess and wonderful source of information. Nice conversations around the breakfast table with Denise and other guests.

There were 9 of us staying there - a family with two kids and grandmother, another couple and two single women. Everyone enjoyed themselves playing cards in the common room one evening.

The rooms are nothing special, but they are clean and I had a sink in my room (toilets and showers are shared). The floors are rather squeaky. I would probably ask for the apartment if I went back again (two bedrooms with their own bathroom).

We always seemed to miss the cows coming down the road in the morning and the afternoon - though we heard them!

Murren is touted as a carless town, but I was rather annoyed by the amount of traffic (delivery service vehicles mostly) on the very tiny roads.

Lots of hiking is available and the views are spectacular. Don't miss Tummelbach Falls down in the valley near the car park.

I would go back there in a second.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — The shared bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

Muerren is a wonderful area to visit and this was a once in a lifetime trip. However, rental of the apartment was not a good decision. We rented the apartment because the bathroom is not shared. There is one nice bedroom, but the beds had not been cleaned since the previous renters, so could not use it. The beds in the bedroom we were given were very hard and very uncomfortable. The bed linen was old and the room was very dark with inadequate lighting. The carpet also needed cleaning. The kitchen was also very dark with inadequate lighting. We were only given one set of towels for our stay. This was very disappointing for us and would remind potential guests there that you will get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Comfort, Lighting, Linens
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland, florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

We stayed in the Chalet Fontana in late Sept. and had a beautiful time in Murren. The weather was perfect which provided unbelievable views. Our party of three couples thoroughly enjoyed Denise who was both informative and accomodating to our every need. We would not hesitate to reserve again if in the area. If you stay there may sure you have one meal at the restaurant immediately in front of the inn, very good food and reasonably priced for the area. Also, your trip will not be complete without going on to the Schilthorn. Don't miss it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

Murren what a beautiful place, it is a must see......We had the family apartment which consisted of two huge bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen. It was very clean and tidy and the beds comfortable. The view from the main bedroom was amazing. Denise the host was lovely and very informative, breakfast in the main communal kitchen was great and delicious. There is so much to see and do in Murren, going up to Jungfraujoch is a must as well as many of the hilking trails. The Chalet Fontana is value for money and central to everthing including the Coop.

Though I must say being on the groud level, depending who is above, it can be noisy with the floor boards and unfortunately we did have noisy neighbours above who went to bed late and rose early.

Would I stay there agian - YES in a heart beat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the amazing views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Murren is a must see
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Chalet Fontana in September for a couple of nights. It was very clean, our room was huge as were the beds and very comfortable. Great views from our window. We had to share the bathroom, but this did not pose a problem and didn't see anyone else using it at the time we needed to. Although there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, Denise is more than happy for you to use the tea/coffee/milk/sugar free of charge and to take to your room or have in the lounge area. Breakfast was available and we had the muesli, orange juice, tea and coffee. There was also breads, jams, yoghurts etc but we did not have this. This is a great value place considering the prices of the other accommodation in Murren and I would not hesitate to stay in Chalet Fontana again if I was in Murren.

  • Liked — The views and laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

Loved this place! Denise is the greatest. Room was very comfortable. The location is great ...in the center of town. I hope to return again.

  • Liked — charming feel to it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — don't bring a lot of luggage
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

This was our last stop on our two week Western Europe trip. To get here, we took an overnight train from Florence into Spiez, then two more trains (one train is NOT covered by your Eurail pass), then took two gondolas to get to Murren. The train to the top of the mountain is not working at this time as they replace the 100 year old gondola at that train station. There is a fee to get from Interlaken to Murren, about 12 francs or euros, I think. The Chalet is so nice! Denise runs it, and she is very pleasant. She will help you plan your day and make suggestions. We stayed in room 2, which all other guests agreed (including Denise) is the nicest, with the best views of the alps. This was the only place we knew we'd have to share a bathroom. It turned out to be no big deal. There is an attic on the third floor, that can make the floor squeak at night, and tall people would have to stoop a little to not hit their heads. I never saw the attic, but a nice couple from CO stayed there and that's what they said. We loved talking with the other guests at breakfast (bread, yogurt, jams, coffee and tea). Be sure you do the North Face Trail. It was the most memorable day of my life! We had incredible weather, 70s, and it was just incredible! We have an unexpected passion for these amazing alps now, and can't wait to return. Wait til you see the Alpine Glow, the pink or red shade that comes over the mountains as the sun sets. We will stay at Chalet Fontana in he future. There is also an apartment that has two bedrooms, a modern kitchen, and a bath. In the Chalet you can stock your food in the fridge but can't cook there. There is a grocery store across from the Chalet. Be sure to bring home Swiss chocolates you can buy there for your friends and family. You'll love this incredible place. We're not outdoorsy type hikers, but we still loved Murren and mostly the alps. The cows and farming industry is interesting to this city girl. Two great restaurants are Stagerstubli, across from the Chalet (try the raclette portion and the lamb for main dish) and Tham's Chinese. It's the freshest Chinese I've had, and he has to travel 3 hours round trip weekly to Bern to get his food. We loved the alps best of our trip, and the Chalet was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chalet Fontana to your Saves list