We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great beginning to our week in Switzerland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Save
You added Chalet Fontana to your Saves list
Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A great beginning to our week in Switzerland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

There were three of us, myself and my two teenage daughters. They had never visited Switzerland before, but Chalet Fontana was a terrific introduction. The location is amazing, with stunning Alpine views from each of our rooms. Denise, the proprietor was extremely helpful and kind. The chalet was comfortable, safe, quiet and even though it was full we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast, of course, provided a good time to meet the other guests and share travel tips. We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
65
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet Fontana for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Denise is a fabulous host who knows and loves her town. She was very helpful with everything from choosing a hiking trail to pointing us to the best place to buy hats when an early cold snap almost derailed our Alpine hiking adventures.

We had a large double room with outstanding views of the Jungfrau. There are only two bathrooms in the chalet which you share with the other guests, but our room (and maybe every room?) had a sink and hand-towels in it so we could brush our teeth, wash up, etc.

If you're there in the summer months, the Chalet Fontana is a B&B. Denise lays out a delicious breakfast spread each morning and will even start things earlier if you need to make the early train out of town (she also has the train schedule memorized!).

Location-wise, it's a 5 minute walk from the tiny train station or just around the corner from the cablecar. There's an ATM and a small grocery store just across the street, so you can get CHF and pick up supplies as well.

I cannot recommend Chalet Fontana highly enough. I wish I was there right now!


And one semi-related thing: I highly recommend going paragliding over the valley. Denise has contact info in the kitchen. Paragliding is not cheap but it was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had.

Room Tip: One thing of note: if you are tall, watch your head! The lintels are a bit short upstairs. I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

***YOU CAN'T DRIVE TO MURREN*** Just an FYI :)

Take the cable cars up the mountain out of Stechlberg for the best views! We had the "small double room in the back" - just a heads up, it is not "small" by any means, and it even has a little room with a twin bed off of it that has a window looking out the front of the chalet. No problems at all with sharing the bathroom with other guests - everyone was quite friendly and only waited once for the bathroom.

Denise is wonderful - met us at the cable car station, introduced us to the chalet, prepared breakfast early for us when we had an early morning excursion, and chatted with us during breakfast! You can tell she really loves her job. We felt like fast friends. She also recommended a Swiss Folklore night at the Sports Center that ended up being really awesome!

Murren is a little slice of NatGeo heaven. Please, PLEASE, stay at Chalet Fontana. It is truly an incredible experience. Oh, and it had the softest pillows ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Chalet Fontana is not only an incredible place to stay with indescribable views, it has a fantastic host who is so nice and makes your stay especially memorable. Thank you Denise. Will definitely stay there again if I have a chance to visit Switzerland again. Stay longer, make it your base, you will not regret even if you have to move a bit more. And get ready your camera. Try paragliding with Airtime from Murren down Lauterbrunnen Valley, very safe and not scary at all, with fantastic pilots and awesome views. Have to thank the gentleman who told me about the paragliding, so glad that I met him and his wife at Chalet Fontana over breakfast. Try it, memory will stay with you for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Request for a room with the best mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay 1/2 mile up in the air. Getting here is an expedience in itself, riding two gondolas up from the valley floor. This guest house is rustic and very comfortable. Very clean and functional. The best part is the atmosphere of the place, set by Denise. Everyone feels welcome which leads to lots of interaction among guests at breakfast and in the halls. A very good, affordable place to stay in Murren.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I could write for eons about how wonderful our stay was at the Geisstiliboden apartment. The owner, Denise Fussell, could not be kinder or more accomodating. I truly believe this is the best value for overnighting in Murren. Having a kitchen is a dealbreaker for us and we could not have chosen a better spot- we did not have to give anything up in lieu of the things that make traveling with a toddler easier. We still got lovely accomodations, a stunning view, and were right where we needed to be to either get back to the train station or to the cablecars for other spots.

A few helpful hints-

1. The inCoop in town is great. Breakfast is not including in the price of the apartment so you will be on your own for 2 meals a day if you plan on having dinner out. The Coop is great for some of the best product I have encountered: fresher than fresh eggs and Alpine milk, cheeses and meats and beverages galore. Stock up and save your CHF for fondue at night.

2. When the train drops you off, make a left into town. You will follow the main (only essential?) road into town where you will come to a fork toward Gimmelwald. Take a left at the fork and the apartment will be on your left about 100m down. Or just go to the Chalet Fontana right across from the Coop (skip taking the fork and keep going forward) and ring Denise up to lead you there.

3. Take 500 photos of this breathtaking gem of a town. It is a tiny slice of heaven and the Geisstiliboden makes it homey while you discover and explore.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wonderful Chalet and wonderful Denise who has become a great friend after all of these years of staying here. Murren is about the most wonderful place on the planet. We love Denise, and she always makes our stay very special. See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.