We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great view out of the windows too. Nice host =)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Fontana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Fontana
Save
You added Chalet Fontana to your Saves list
Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, great view out of the windows too. Nice host =)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in room number 3. It was lovely and Denise was a friendly and warm host! Breakfast was ample with a wide selection of toast, cereal, museli, boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, yogurt.

This place was lovely to come back to after a long day of walking and exploring the area. The view you get when you wake up or before sun set is wonderful! Live here up in Murren, don't stay below in the valley if your objective is to see the alps!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
65
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from a fantastic 2 week vacation to Europe. Our first stop on our journey was Murren. We decided to book a room at Chalet Fontana because of all the great reviews we've read. Chalet Fontana is a perfect "home away from home" in the Swiss Alps. We stayed in room #1 which is the smallest and least expensive of the rooms, but it was perfect for us. Plenty of room for our small amount of luggage & a comfy queen bed to sleep in. The 2 bathrooms are shared amongst all guests but this was never an issue for us. Also, wi-fi is available for 4 chf and is good for your entire stay. In the morning, our wonderful host, Denise, had a lovely breakfast waiting for us- breads, cereal, muesli, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, and tea. Coffee and tea were also available to us throughout the day which was nice to warm up with after a long hike. We also had access to a refrigerator for some of the items we bought at the Co-Op across the street. Chalet Fontana is a convenient 5 minute walk from Murren's train station, across from the grocery and an atm. Out the front door are weeks/months of hiking trails to explore. My husband and I took great advantage of this- hiking to Gimmelwald, Lauterbrunnen Valley, and the Shilthorn on a nice day (minimal snow). This by far was our favorite stop on our 2 week trip, and if/when we return to Switzerland, we'll be staying at Chalet Fontana. Thank you Denise for providing us with a wonderful place to stay and for your excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night in the small twin bedroom and we loved it. Denise, the host, made us feel very welcome and gave us very helpful tips for organizing our excursions. We felt like we were staying with a good friend. We appreciated the opportunity to make ourselves coffee, tea or herbal tea anytime of the day in the small kitchen and Denise made her fridge available to us if we needed it. We enjoyed nice conversations at the breakfast table with her and the other guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can only apologise to Denise for not posting this review sooner ... we visited in late June / early July and could not have had a nicer stay. We (four persons) had the downstairs apartment, with two excellent sleeping areas, a very good bathroom and shower, and a quaint outlook onto the 'main street' of Murren. Travellers need not, however, be concerned that they will find themselves to part of an urban hustle .. such a thing does not exist in this idyllic place.

We were in Murren for two nights .. this is the first time we have stayed at Fontana, and - should we be lucky enough - to visit again, I would go straight back to Denise. Her property is charming, the breakfasts are generous and her advice about sights and restaurants was spot on. What a lovely place to visit - the only thing nicer would be to live there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in one of the small double rooms, it was small indeed but with the huge down pillows and doonas/comforters, it felt very cosy. And that describes the entire chalet so well, it is cosy and homely - as others have said its like staying with an old friend in their house rather than 'travel accommodation'. This is because of Denise your host. She is extremely helpful, warm and welcoming, she appears to truly enjoy having guests and will do whatever she can to make you comfortable. She even has a cloak rack for you to borrow a jacket if you forget to bring your own (like me), and has endless advice about great hikes - do the north face trail, amazing!

The chalet itself is old and the decor is certainly not brand new - but the place is so clean, you can tell Denise takes real pride in her chalet.

The location in the centre of town opposite the grocery store and atm is excellent, beautiful views of snow capped peaks from our room, room had its own wash basin so you can wash your face&brush your teeth, the shared bathroom wasn't a problem and very clean, hot and powerful shower, nice!

Breakfast was perfect. Beautiful fresh Swiss milk to go with cereal, muesli, fresh swiss bread (grain and white) which you can also toast (yay!), even a bowl of linseed to spread on your muesli, juice, good coffee, various teas, boiled eggs etc.

You can help yourself to tea and coffee in the kitchen 24/7, the lounge is full of board games and travel books for your leisure!

The only negatives were that our room was very small and cramped, the floor was extremely creaky, and if you're on the first floor you can hear people thumping and thudding above which will disturbed our sleep on the first night. But this wasn't enough to diminish my excellent rating. If you're looking for a hotel, don't come here. If you want to feel like you're coming back to your cosy chalet in the Swiss mountains, stay here!

Also, by Swiss standards it is very cheap. Can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Chalet Fontana is simple and basic but what else do you need? The location is stunning with wonderful views of the mountains. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have all the equipment you need for comfort. Sharing the bathrooms does not present major problems. The breakfasts are filling and good preparation for the splendid hiking in the vicinity. Best of all is the hostess, Denise, who is kind, knowledgeable and helpful. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Denise’s Geisstiliboden apartment for 4 nights, and it was the highlight of our time in Switzerland. Murren is amazingly beautiful, but having a private apartment made it so much better.

Following TA’s advice, we parked at Parkhaus in Lauterbrunnen, then took the cable car to Grutschalp and the train from Grutschalp to Murren. Amazing scenery of the valley and Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau peaks as you ride up. As we were rolling our bags to the Chalet Fontana to search for Denise, she recognized us (I guess it was the “gawking American tourists” written across our foreheads?) and walked us down the hill to the apartment, which is directly above hers. It has a beautiful view out the back windows and we just stared and snapped pix for the first 5 min, as Denise explained the features.

The apartment has a full, well-equipped kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, small fridge, toaster, teakettle and all the pots/pans/plates/utensils. We walked down to the Coop and stocked up on fixings for breakfast, lunch and dinner, so we didn’t need to eat out. Yes, everything in Switzerland (esp restaurant meals) is insanely expensive! We loved being able to cook our own meals.

WiFi is included in the apartment, as well as TV with English-speaking channels. That’s pretty rare in Switzerland and such a nice convenience! The bed is very comfortable and features a down duvet. Evenings can be cool and it did rain 3 of the 4 nights we were there, so we were warm and comfortable.

The apartment is located one pedestrian path off the main drag in “downtown” Murren. It’s a perfect location, since you’re close to everything, but it’s more quiet and away from the tourist throngs during the day.

We hiked the North Face trail off the Allmendhubel cog and it was glorious: wildflowers, views of the peaks, fresh cheese and Swiss milk coffee (even better than cappuccinos, IMO), the cute village of Gimmelwald. Murren is a perfect central location, just like Rick Steves said.

We also biked from Murren down to Lauterbrunnen (wheeee, all downhill!), through the valley to Trummelbach Falls to Stechelberg, then put our bikes on the lift and rode to Murren. FUN!

Denise is wonderful. We’d see her every day, since she was right downstairs and frequently at the Chalet Fontana (serving breakfast, cleaning, etc.). She was always cheerful, helpful, but never intrusive. I can’t recommend the Geisstiliboden apartment more highly. It was our home away from home in beautiful Murren.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Fontana

Address: Buhl, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Murren
#3 Family Hotel in Murren
#3 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Fontana is situated in the middle of the scenic, car-free village Muerren, at 1650m. The local area is ideal for hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Fontana is a traditional Swiss wooden chalet and each of the bedrooms has its own character. Most have washbasins and good mountain views. In summer the chalet operates as a B&B, in winter the chalet and self contained apartment are rented by the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Fontana mürren
Chalet Fontana Hotel mürren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.