We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tham Kok Keong Chinese Food

Tham Kok Keong Chinese Food
Murren 3825, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Murren
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We lived in lauterbrunnen and decided to visit murren. While taking a walk we stumbled upon tham chinese food and were surprised to see the prices. we ordered chicken fried rice and chicken noodles and boy!! for that cheap price it was too much chicken and so very tasty.
The next day we once again visited murren just to do a take-out for our dinner. Very reasonably priced compared to the restaurants around the lauterbrunnen valley.
The chinese guy was very friendly and he even gave us extra egg rice when we told him that we just visited murren for the 2nd time to buy food from him.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    25
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful antidote to Swiss cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having exhausted our appetite for cheese-based meals in Switzerland, we were thrilled to find an excellent Chinese restaurant in Mürren (we were staying in nearby Gimmelwald). Mr Tham immediately gave us a table and recommended several dishes, making note of the portion size for us. When we entered, we were the only ones in the restaurant. 4 or 5 other groups showed up soon thereafter, and still everyone got food within minutes (only Mr Tham was present to serve AND cook, amazing). It was a wonder to see Mr Tham at work, you could easily see why he was a chef at a five star hotel. The food was spectacular, some of the best Chinese I have ever experienced! The Won Ton Soup was especially delicious. Although it was tremendously expensive by American standards, the food was so good it didn't matter that much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Murren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Quick, very good and flavorful and relatively inexpensive meal. Enjoyed evening meal "take-out" one evening at the end of a very busy day when the wife just wanted to relax in our hotel.
Would definitely eat there again if ever in Murren. Mr Tham's kitchen is open at one end of the front room, so you can watch him work his magic.
They are very eco-friendly as offered to recycle the containers from our dinner.
We were glad they were open even when much of Murren was closed for off season.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for late night dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went on a hike late and ended up needing to eat around 9pm. All other places were closed so we tried Tham....and we are glad we did! We were seated immediately with super friendly service. The food was outstanding and the prices were so reasonable....even for Murren! They were great to us and the kids and gave us some travel tips as well. I highly recommend this restaurant. We met many people in the dining room who said they have eaten there their entire stay. Give it a try...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Chinese Feast in The Swiss Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

On the road for twenty-four days and suffering from colds, we were in search of Good Hot Soup. Then, upon a recommendation from Roger at the most comfortable Hotel Alpina in Murren where we were staying, we headed down the road to the Tham's Chinese Restaurant and ordered soup, which of course hit the spot ! We also took suggestions for the rest of the meal from Mr. and Mrs. Tham. Within a short time this Asian restaurant suddenly felt like we were in the home of the Thams having a delicious family style dinner. They were so friendly, we even stayed well beyond the time after we had finished our incredible meal just chatting about how they too loved traveling when closed for vacation. So if your looking for authentic excellent Chinese food at a price comparable to other high quality mountain restaurants, you will not find food better than what you will be served by the Thams. Everything ordered from the menu was outstanding!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tham Kok Keong Chinese Food also viewed

 
Murren, Jungfrau Region
Murren, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Tham Kok Keong Chinese Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tham Kok Keong Chinese Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.