We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable and Tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren

Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren
Dorfstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland
0041 33 855 18 26
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Murren
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: French, Swiss, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our Restaurant La Grotte is well known for its Swiss and international dishes. Well known for its fondues. Suberb selection of wines.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adorable and Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

YUMMY! Not only does this restuarant have a cute patio and super nice servers...it is SO GOOD! Our favorite thing we got was the steak with the bernaise sauce and pomme frites. Ridiculous. It was also really fun because they gave you a gravy boat filled with extra bernaise sauce as well as a second helping of pomme frites that they kept on a hot plate for you so they wouldn't get cold. AWESOME!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHARLESTON,SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great food, fast service, reasonable price. The restaurant is adorned with old fashioned cookware. If the weather is nice, sit outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mürren : limited choice and limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This restaurant mirrors a general problem encountered in MÜrren. The problem of staying in Mürren is that dinner is a matter of some few restaurants in this place on the top of the firs line of mountains, inaccessible to cars. If you do not like restaurant prices in comparison to food they offer, maybe it is better to go down with the mountain train (careful with the timetable) to the close villages (if you have left your car there Lauterbrunnen, Grimmelwald or, why not, to Interlaken) and you will be surprised by the difference in prices and quality. If you remain in MÜrren in the evening, and if there is no train to go down from the mountain of Mürren, you are "trapped" and you need to choose one restaurant. This La Grotte is maybe the less harmful choice, compared to the prices we have seen at the entrance of the other "restaurants"

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dry food dry service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Overcooked food. Soggy fries. unattentive service and a complaint met simply with "oh". I guess we weren't VIP enough.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food but service colder than it was outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We enjoyed dinner here recommended by Rick Steves and the food was outstanding- fresh ingredients with lovely sauces and presentation. However we were so astonished at how cold some of the people in the restaurant were- particularly the women working there. I won't go into details but one women was downright rude and hostile. Also, I would not say this is a family friendly restaurant. If you are looking for a relaxing dinner with your family the Eiger Hotel out shined La Grotte hands down. If you want good quality food and good prices this is a great spot but if you want warm service you will not find it here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren also viewed

 
Murren, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Grotte Hotel Blumental Murren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.