We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Familes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus Sigrist

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Sigrist
Murren 3825, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Murren B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Familes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) rented a large apartment on the top floor for a week at the beginning June 2013. It had 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a TV/sitting room, a large kitchen/dining area and 2 decks. The bedrooms are good size and the bathrooms are huge by European standards. This is possibly the best vacation rental we've ever had. It was also an excellent value. The apartment was very clean. The appliances, dishes, and silverware were all of good quality. The location was quiet. The trains that run in front of the apartment are not loud and they only run until about 8:00 pm. The views were great: from the deck one can look across the valley to the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The sun rises over these mountains and shines into the bedrooms - a great way to wake up! They are hiking trails right outside the door.

The owner, Frieda, is very knowledgeable about the area and the weather. She provides excellent recommendations. Her English is perfect.

The kitchen was a great benefit as we could eat our breakfast and dinner in the apartment and save a lot of money over eating at a restaurant. An average meal in Switzerland will cost about 25 CHF. So one meal at a restaurant for our family of 4 typically cost over 100 CHF! The Swiss Franc is about 10% more than the $, so over $110 after currency conversion. Groceries did not seem to much more expensive than the USA. (stores close early, so don't delay getting groceries). A clothes washer and dryer are available to use in the ski room. Guests also receive a guest card that provides entry into the sports center (about a 10 minute walk), which has a nice pool - great way to relax after a day of hiking.

The weather during our stay could not have been better: clear and sunny almost every day with mild temperatures. Spring came late in 2013 and so there was still some snowy patches in Murren in the first week of June. Just above the town there were meadows with flowers coming up right through the snow. The town is very quiet in the mornings and evenings. Many tourists come during the day, but return to valley by late afternoon/early evening.

Murren is great place to stay is you are going to Switzerland for the mountains. There are plenty of restaurants and shops, but it seems less commercialized than Wengen. Stay at Haus Sigrist and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Haus Sigrist in late June 2012. Freida was an absolute gem! Very nice and helpful upon check-in. She knows and loves the area and it shows. She will help you plan you stay with an insider's advantage. She also knows the weather--VERY important up in the mountains. She saved us lots of time and money planning according to the weather and what we wanted to see.

Haus Sigrist is a bargain in Europe! The location is at the end of town--away from all the hustle and bustle of Murren (HA! - Bazinga!) Very spacious place. I LOVE the plumbing in this place--because Karl is a plumber and designed it very very well! Wonderful kitchen items. Ask about Euro stoves and ovens if you don't know. Oven is convection, I believe--baked some baggettes in 4 minutes!!! Beds are great. Comforters are SO good that we wrote down the info and are ordering some for our house!!! All in all a terrific place to stay. We want to come back SO badly........

Room Tip: Not a bad view in the whole place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We rented one of the Stockli apartments for a week. The apartment was very clean, comfortable, and had a very well appointed kitchen. Windows from two rooms and the balcony overlooked the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau. Frieda, the owner, was very helpful in finding information for us and providing suggestions. We also simply enjoyed visitng with her and learning about the area from a local. Haus Sigrist is located on the northern edge of town, just a few minutes walk from the train station. There is a trailhead literally at the door to the building, and other trails are easily accessed nearby. I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I ever get to visit Murren again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I had visited Murren 30 years ago and loved it - so I wanted our family to experience an authentic alpine village. We needed an apartment to accommodate 6 adults. Apartment 3 which had 4 bedrooms/2BA was perfect for us. 3 of the bedrooms (and the sitting room) had beautiful mountain views. It was quite large and had everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked - so it worked well for us to eat in two of the nights. It looked like a new apartment as everything seemed new/fresh. While it is across the street from the train tracks, we did not notice the trains. The host, Frieda Sigrist, was very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay. We also made daily use of the free passes to the swim/fitness center. Murren is a special place and Haus Sigrist perfect for our large family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haus Sigrist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Sigrist

Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Murren
Also Known As:
Haus Sigrist Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus Sigrist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haus Sigrist to your Saves list