We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management 100% improvement - million dollar views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Sonnenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Sonnenberg to your Saves list
Pension Sonnenberg
CH-3825 Murren, Murren, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Murren
south africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New management 100% improvement - million dollar views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

You can not ask for a better experience for lodging/food/hospitality and the views are to die for.We stayed here for 4 days end off January 2013 and had snow for 2 days and sunshine for. 2 days. The restaurant and food were off the highest quality and although we were the only guests nothing was too much for the staff and management.Room number 6 is the best room for views and sunshine on the balcony. Thanks guys the Odendaals from South Africa had a great time.

Room Tip: Room no6 on the corner with balcony and nice sunshine in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a conversation with Linda about staying in the dormitory room - very helpful and couldn't ask for more assistance. Tempted to go and watch the Inferno for a few days.
Sounds like a great location :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Sonnenberg (Sun Mountain) chalet/restaurant can not be topped for the food, hospitality, million dollar views of the Alps, food, sun terrace, lodging and did I mention the food! I lived in the town of Murren, just a bit down the ski slope, for 1 year from 2002/2003. During that period the Sonnenberg was my favorite haunt. Steve is a awesome guy and excellent chef, and host for all who are lucky enough to make it up to this magical spot on the planet.
Last visit back was in 3/09 for business in Zurich. Took a three day side trip to the Murren area for some skiing and a big California style burgers that Steve grills to perfection. Headed back for business and 5 days of skiing in Murren, next week 3/15/12, and the Sonnenberg will be my first stop. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the front of the chalet. Best views and morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Collins
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had a wonderful stay, the room was very comfortable, the food was great and the views were fantastic. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The Pension is run by Steve and his wife Monika. They are very friendly and make you feel right at home. Steve takes the time to talk to you and share interesting stories about the area and his adventures in Switzerland. He is also a great photographer and has many pictures documenting the scenery in the area. We had dinner at the Pension both nights as part of our reservation and Steve is also an excellent cook. The Pension's location is nestled right in a valley above Murren with incredible views and is a great starting point for hiking. The value was great and we highly recommend a visit to the Pension Sonnenberg!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Service was great - a personal welcome the moment we walked in the door, shown immediately to our room, then left in peace to settle and come back down in our own time. Nothing was a problem, staff were available from early in the morning until late at night.
The room was lovely (instead of a family room, we were given a 20-bed dorm to ourselves - plenty of room to spread out!), with a great view. The linen was clean & fresh, as were the towels.
Food was good, with breakfast and dinner included for a small additional charge. Breakfast was fresh bread with various spreads, cereal, juice, & hot chocolate or coffee. While there was no choice of meal at dinner, the meal served was the same as one of those available on the regular menu - not some 'cheap' alternative.
Overall, a great experience - set in a lovely valley, with a great view of the mountains opposite!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights with two children and a friend. The booking process was very efficient and helpful. All questions answered. Being familiar with staying in youth hostels, we found the price awesome (for Switzerland), service excellent, and the food was very very good - surpassing all expectations. The hosts are wonderfully welcoming, and the place was also extremely clean and organised. We felt totally welcome and 'at home'.

If you want to be a 'tourist' and follow the crowds, then you can stay in Interlaken or Mürren, but if you want to really smell the fresh mountain air, the peace and quiet (plus cowbells and the sound of water flowing)...and the view....the view is awesome!

To get to the pension you need to take the train to Lauterbrunnen, Gondola to Mürren, walk through the town to the mountain railway station, and then walk downhill to the small valley to the guesthouse. We carried packs and it wasn't difficult. It gave us a sense of satisfaction as mountain travellers, and our 3 year old managed absolutely fine with it. In fact, having stayed in the town of Brienz and taken a mountain trip to Haslital a few weeks before, we specifically went looking for a 'mountain chalet' rather than a town location...

To save money on your transport costs, check the swiss tourism website www.sbb.ch and plan carefully, but it usually costs around 100chf to get to any of the 'big' mountains (Shilthorn, Jungfraujoch, Rigi, Pilatus, etc), and we even found a discount voucher for the schilthorn on the back of the brochure in the Tourist info centre in Murren.

If you don't want to pay the less than $5 per person to go up on the train to get back to your accommodation, you can always walk - about 30 - 45 minutes from the town, uphill, along the tourist trail...

Oh, and for kids they have a trampoline, friendly animals, plenty of space to run around, and some toys to play with on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Sonnenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sonnenberg

Address: CH-3825 Murren, Murren, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy hotel in the Blumental valley up in the mountains. 30 minutes by foot from Murren or from the Allmendhubelstation. 1 family room, 3 double rooms, 2x20 dormitories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Sonnenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Sonnenberg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Sonnenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.