We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofplatz 9, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have never written a review of a restaurant before, but after a simply amazing meal at Restaurant Victoria I felt I had to write and spread the word. My wife and I were on a hiking trip and had one night in Meiringen. We asked the tourist information office for a good fish restaurant and they recommended this one. The hotel itself is on the main street but the restaurant is round the back and the ambience outside was very nice. Service was first class and the food was absolutely amazing. Fresh, well presented and really tasty. The chef, who is also the owner, came out and had a chat with all the tables, and seemed really interested in feedback from the guests. one word of warning - this is NOT a cheap restaurant - but it is worth every penny.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
79
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed one night in the hotel, which was subsequently closing for their month R&R before the summer crowds. We opted for the superior double, which was extremely comfortable, albeit minimalistic. The beds were terrific and we slept well. We had a corner room with a snow-covered mountain view. It was simply lovely. The bathroom was roomy enough, but for a four star hotel I would have expected larger, better quality towels and individual shampoos - not a bulk dispenser on the shower wall.

The owners were otherwise gracious and helpful. The food at dinner was truly marvelous, with leisurely dining. Outstanding food, beautifully prepared and presented. Breakfast was pleasant. The location is excellent.

Room Tip: Corner room (#34), far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

From the look of the lobby you are in a modernists dream hotel. Every detail down to the Italian coo coo clock is stylish. And the food is superb. It's your only real option in the town.

But then you get to your room and well, out goes the design. Basically a small white room, tiny bathroom. No design elements made it to the rooms. Old 13 inch TV and no free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Nice designhotel in the Swiss Alps. The owners are very friendly and make sure you have a great stay. The food is delicious, fine dining in the evening and a lot of choice for breakfast. We had a wonderfull time skiing, eating and sleeping...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Wow you can really tell that the people running the hotel really care about providing a nice hotel experience. In the lobby bathroom there are mood candles burning. Many details, very upscale feeling. Free snacks in lobby and fruit. There was a live orchid in our room. Nice bath that works well. Clean unlike all the dirty Italian hotels we stayed in with mildew. So nice to see that someone knows how to clean. nice FREE simple parking. Right in heart of town. Very quiet and slow even in Summer. Food was expensive all over town but that's probably because of lousy Dollar. ***Wonderful breakfast with grape fruit PERFECTLY sliced so evenly that the wedges come right out without the slightest tug. That's better than the grapefruit halves I've had at Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, or Singapore Airline's first class. Neat art deco decor. Super quite windows that either tilt or open on hinges. A bit expensive for this size hotel with Dollar exchange. Really nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This was our fourth visit to the Hotel Victoria on a walking holiday but our first in the summer. Our previous visits have always been at New Year for the winter walking. On this occasion we were accompanied by four friends, two from New Zealand. As usual the Victoria lived up to its excellent reputation. Rooms are first class and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and accomodating - nothing is too much trouble! Simon's cuisine is the highlight of each day and the breakfasts are excellent too. A simply delightful gem of a hotel which is all the better for being family run. Excellent location near the railway station and shops. Fantastic walking both summer and winter alike. We look forward to our next visit.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I've never been compelled to write a review of any hotel I've stayed in before. But returning from a stay at the Hotel Victoria, I think it's only fair to recognise the truly excellent service and quality that the staff there deliver every single day. The hotel is a smallish, family run operation. There are maybe 20 rooms, all clean, tidy, modern and very comfortable. There's a lift to all floors and we were very happy with the quality of the accommodation. There are alpine views of course from every angle, and we even had a balcony in ours which was very welcome. The staff were exceptional. Simon (the owner and chef), is knowledgeable and friendly about the region, but he truly comes into his own in the kitchen. I've eaten in 5 Michelin starred restaurants in the last year, and the dining experience at Victoria surpassed them all. The food is clever and inspired, without being too haughty. A sort of Bistro menu with some really interesting Asian influences made it a delight and a surprise each night when we arrived for our 4 course tasting menu. More of which later though. The waiting staff were top class. Each spoke excellent English, which given my patchy German was a huge help, and understood how to be on hand for every little thing without being imposing or overly attentive. It made for an extremely enjoyable and relaxing dining experience.

The hotel is spotless, very close to the train station and well maintained. There's a cellar room for your bikes or skis, free nibbles and drinks during the daytime, a log fire in the winter and an extremely cosy bar and restaurant.

In terms of clientele, we were the youngest by far (I'm 32) but it's a hotel more about quality than demographics. If you are interested in good service, a quality environment and excellent food and wine, it is clearly the best option in Meringien. We met a couple who have come back every year for a decade because they've been so impressed with the quality of the hotel.

The price is surprisingly good as well - and I would recommend any deal with the included 4 course meal.

Victoria is about 50 metres from the railway station, and very easy to find. It enjoys a central location in the small town of Meiringen, but there is little noise or sense of being in a town centre. It's extremely well placed for biking and hiking, and I imagine skiing in the winter season as well. The main street is just behind the hotel with banks, supermarkets and cafes. The food was so good at Victoria though we didn't venture out to other eateries! There's parking for about 10 cars I would guess, and again, it's well placed for day trips as well.

I don't think the service could have been bettered. Everyone who works at the hotel, from the cleaners to the manager were polite, helpful and engaging. I've not come across better service or competence at any hotel anywhere. I guess this all sounds like I'm gushing compliments about the place, but it really was that good.

Special mention must go to the kitchen staff and chefs for the incredible food, but mainly to the waiting staff who were truly professional and engaging.

There is one restaurant and one bar. As has, I think been made abundantly clear, both were of excellent quality. The breakfast buffet was very good indeed, with everything from dried fruits and nuts to cereals, a selection of breads, croissants, Danish pastries, meats and cheeses. A small hot breakfast menu was also offered, and free Nespresso self serve coffee was particularly welcome.

Dinner was sublime. We were on an inclusive deal as part of our holiday, which meant we got a 4 course meal with choice of main course each evening. We have stayed at other hotels in Switzerland where this was the same deal, and frankly we'd have much preferred to have eaten out elsewhere because their menu just wasn't up to scratch.

However, at the Victoria, the food was phenomenally good. The 4 course taster menu is CH80, which is very good value, but to have it included as part of our accommodation costs was fantastic.

Simon the manager was particularly helpful about the local Swiss wine which is excellent - so good in fact they only export 3% of it for the rest of us!

There is free and unlimited use of the local spa, easy access to cycle routes and very good hiking. Those doing an activity holiday, like us, will find storage space for equipment in the cellar

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Bahnhofplatz 9, Meiringen 3860, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meiringen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Meiringen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.