We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet zum Steg is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Zum Steg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meiringen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Zum Steg
Save
You added Chalet Zum Steg to your Saves list
Balmstrasse 69, Meiringen, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Chalet zum Steg is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Katrin and Franz are very welcoming and thoughtful. It is clear they enjoy having young families as well as older couples like us. We were offered a hearty breakfast. Our room was clean, spacious and quiet with a beautiful view of the fields and mountains in the Haslital just at the edge of the town. Echoing the comments of Dorrie D, we were lucky to find such a great place to stay and would gladly return!

Room Tip: The Green room on the south side has a large balcony and views of the fields and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week with Katrin and Franz and they were great hosts. Katrin treats all of her guests like friends and makes them feel so welcome. Every morning the breakfast consisted of wonderful muesli, and a variety of meats, cheeses, and breads. She always asked what time you would like to eat breakfast the night before. She made us some excellent cheese fondue and even raclette. Our room (the Green Room) was very nice and clean, as well as the bathroom. (Everyone has their own bathroom, but it is across the hall.) Katrin sings, plays the piano, and dances to country music as well! Both Katrin and Franz were very helpful and provided us with brochures and information for tours and activities in area. The Chalet was much more cozy and personal than a standard hotel. We met so many nice people while staying there from all over the world. The Chalet is located in a gorgeous area and is just a short walk from the town. We had to leave early in the morning and Katrin got up to hug us goodbye and even sent some of her yummy nut sticks with us. It was an excellent stay and we can't wait to (hopefully) return some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coggiola, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you want to spend unforgettable moments, this is the right place for the sympathy and joy that KATRIN and FRANZ will give you. Muesli FABULOUS, dance and music with KATRIN.Concerto for piano and country dance will be good company!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Chalet Zum Steg!the owners are extremely nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean as well as the bathroom. The homemade breakfast was very good and the place overall is lovely!
Definetely recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Chalet zum Steg with our 4 children aged 8, 6, 4 and 4 and can't recommend it highly enough. We had the upstairs apartment which fitted us all nicely. We chose to eat out but the kitchen was fully equipped and you could easily have self catered. The hosts, Katrin and Franz, were very welcoming and definitely go the extra mile to make sure you have a good stay, finding colouring and toys for the kids and even cooking us all raclette one evening. Katrin had lots of useful suggestions for family day trips and restaurants - the chalet is very close to Reichenbach Falls, Aareschlucht and Ballenberg and there are plenty of restaurants up the road in Meiringen. Good value for money accommodation and excellent hosts.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am my wife arrived at the Chalet Zum Steg with our 3 daughters ages 4,9,13. We took the apartment on the upper floor. Katrin our host welcomes us to her lovely place with homemade sweek pie she has made especially for us. She then showed us to the apartment, which was basically all what we dreamed of - very cosy and fully furnished apartment, very large, a double bedroom for the parents and another two beds in a separate room (beautiful wooden room) and another bed in the hall. All beds were very comfortable. the house overlooks the lovely Alps Meirinigen-Hasliberg. It is a breathtaking view that can be seen right from the balcony.
the room also has a large fully equiped kitchen (with microwave, oven, gas, pots and dishes, plates etc.and also some herbs in the closet you can use for hte cooking) and a nice dininig area with a table and some chairs.
Breakfast is also something we cannot forget - starting from the high quailty local cheeses, and various kinds of local bread and ending in the most tasteful musli, made fresh and daily by Kathrin. This musly is the highlight of the breakfast, and no one should miss it. We had it each and every morning and just could not have enough from it :)
Katrin also took care to entertain us during the breakfast, dancing and singing to us and playing the piano.
Katrin is a woman one in a kind. although not young in age, she has endless resevoirs of energy and patience to always help, advise and serve her guests.

The chalet is ideally located in Meiringenm in a peaceful quiet area just 2 K from Aareschlucht, 10 KM from beautiful Brienz and its lake, and 30 minutes from Grimsel Pass and 40 minutes to Lucern and the Titlis.
3 minutes drive from the chalet you can also find Migros supermarket for cheap (well relatively cheap, as there is nothing really cheap in Swiss :) ) groceries. The town also has some restaurants and its main street is quite charming.
Meiringen is basically the best location in Swiss close to everything and driving there is really easy from almost evrywhere in Swiss and neighbouring countries.

I would definitely recommend this place starting from the remarkable hospitality of Katrin, going through the wonderful chalet and accomodation and the great location. This is actually the best value for money!

Katrin, keep the good work! You were amazing, and we will never forget the stay at your place! We all miss it already!

Room Tip: In case you are family with up to 3 children, ask for the apartment. It is the biggest accomodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hello Katrin & Franz
Sofía, Lara, Belén and I have spent a wonderful holidays in Switzerland at your beautiful chalet with you. Everything has been fantastic: the bedrooms, baths, breakfast (oh! I already miss the Müesli, the best one I´ve ever tried)and, over all, your 5 stars-luxe hospitality, taking care of every detail with us; we really apreciate it...We liked a lot also all the places we have visited around Mairingen: the falls, lakes, mountains...With any doubt, we will recomend your chalet to our friends. Our best regards to you all from Madrid, Spanien

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Zum Steg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Zum Steg

Address: Balmstrasse 69, Meiringen, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Meiringen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Meiringen
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Zum Steg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.