We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must for Sherlock fans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reichenbach Falls

Reichenbach Falls
Meiringen, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Meiringen
Type: Historic Sites, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 656-foot waterfall is best known for its fictional significance as the place of Sherlock Holmes's death.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“A Must for Sherlock fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family is Sherlock obsessed so that does affect our review. This was a day trip from our apartment in Lauterbrunnen. Took a boat from Interlaken to Brienz (highly recommend) then a train to Meiringen. From here you could easily walk but we didn't know the way so took another train one stop, which dropped us 7 minutes from the Reichenbachfalls Funicular. We did all travel with a half fare card and our 14 yr old was free on family card ( highly recommend getting both). At the funicular we purchased combo tickets for funicular and Sherlock museum, 11chf -adult and 8chf - child under 16. The red wooden funicular was adorable. Takes you up steep incline to viewing point. Even have a cut out of Sherlock so we could take a picture of each of the kids as Sherlock with falls in background. Then climb up, up, up with several viewing platforms along the way. Even if you aren't Sherlock crazy, the waterfall is beautiful. One part has punched a hole through the rock wall, it separates and comes back together falling over several ledges. You ultimately cross the falls and come to the spot where that famous illustration shows Sherlock and Moriarty in a deadly struggle. Great photo op, then up some more. The hike from the top back down to the base of the funicular is well marked, just keep looking for the path each time you cross the road. You are headed toward Willigen. At the bottom, go back toward the river and railroad tracks, cross over, carry on straight into the town of Meirigen, continue on the Main Street about 5 minutes until you see a small uniquely elaborate church on left. This is the Sherlock Museum (reviewed separately). Do this now with your combo ticket. Opens at 1:30 which is why we did the funicular first. Rail station is just 2 minutes from here. Direct train back to Interlaken.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    54
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Holmes Fans maybe...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The falls are nice enough but there are better ones not that far away. The funicular ride up is quaint, in its own way, but again, there are better rides up mountains than this within fairly easy striking distance. If you aren't tied to Meiringen, go to the Trummelbach Falls. Regardless of the water flow, this is probably one for dedicated Holmes fans unless you really do have nothing else planned for the day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not just a trickle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Some reviewers must have seen this in a dry spell. After a couple of days of thunderstorms it is impressive as a waterfall, quite apart from the Sherlock Holmes connection. A steep stairway leads up from the the top of the funicular up to a small hotel - the Panoramahotel Gasthaus - where you can lunch with great views over the valley below before boarding the 164 bus from just outside the hotel back to Meiringen.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you visit the beautiful town of Meiringen a visit to the Reichenbach falls is essential. We rode the funicular to the viewing area but I didn't go further due to a bad foot. It's a beautiful place but I don't understand why Conan Doyle used it in his novel. Unless it was far more of a raging waterfall in his day it would have been easy to find the body of his great detective. A far better location for the drama would have been the nearby Aare Gorge (if it had been opened to the public at that time.) Now that is a far more dramatic place and really worth a visit too. Check it out, you will not regret it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great view of falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After riding the funicular to a viewing area of the falls, it is approx 250 steps (of couse going uphill) until you reach a path that takes you closer to the falls where Sherlock and Moriarty went over the falls. A must do for all you Sherlock fans. Its also a nice hike. Met several couples from England on the path and enjoyed conversing with them! Meiringen also has Sherlock statue so of course have to stop there and get photo. If you are not staying in Interlaken or Meiringen area the train ride out and back takes up large part of the day. While there I would also suggest you visit the Aareschlucht gorge.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reichenbach Falls also viewed

Meiringen, Bernese Oberland
Meiringen, Bernese Oberland
 
Meiringen, Bernese Oberland
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Reichenbach Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reichenbach Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.