We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ogre it is not!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eiger

The Eiger
Switzerland
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$204*
and up
Jungfraujoch Top of Europe Day Trip from Lucerne
Type: Mountains, Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Ogre it is not!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

What an amazing sight. The Eiger is a stunning mountain. Many serious climbers attempt this mountain but I just enjoyed the view from the satefy of my balcony.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain vista's in everyones reach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Jungfrau Mountain railway puts this wonderful experience within the reach of everyone. With 3 day and 6 day passes (quite expensive though) avilable from the rail station and online then the travel around the entire Mountain region is esay. Do be aware that the Mountains do make their own weather though. Often the Jungrfrau is totally shrouded in cloud and you will see nothing. On a blue sky day though the views are superb and amazing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“"Awe Inspiring"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The mount Eiger is the most photographed and famous mountain in this Jungfrau region because of all its history and the famous film starring clint eastwood,The Eiger Sanction.It is viewable from Grindelwald where we stayed in May 2012,from our hotel and as you take the train up to Kleine Scheidegg ,it gets bigger and more impressive as you get closer.Once at Kleine Scheidegg,you can walk right up to the edge of the Eiger and thats when it hits home,how awe inspiring it is just by looking up at it.The jungfraujoch Railway goes through the mighty Eiger on the way up to the Top Of Europe with two stops on the way up through the Eiger viewing area"s which are well worth a look.
The world record for climbing the North wall of the Eiger was broken in 2012 by a German Climber in 2hours 40mins approx.which is truly remarkable considering he didn"t use any ropes or hooks to achieve his goal.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Eiger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This one isn't for the faint hearted or novice climbers but don't be put off by its fearsome reputation either. The Eiger is a monster trophy but it's climbable for mere mortals too.

Acclimatise for a week before you attempt it. Get the train to the Jungfraujoch station (£75 for a single!).Go over to the lovely Monchjoch refuge for some high altitude luxury and bag the Monch and the Jungfrau from there. The Monch is only a half day jaunt so no need for a super early Alpine start. We did the Wetterhorn from the Gleckstein Hut too but it wasn't a very pleasant route even if the summit views were fantastic.

You can do the Eiger from the Monchjoch Refuge via a fairly straightforward AD graded route but we did the much better D grade Mittellegi Ridge. Return to the Jungfrau station and go part way down to the iesmeer station. There's a gated tunnel leading to the glacier on the approach to the Mittellegi Hut. A short climb off the other side of the glacier is tricky but there's only one pitch.

The Mittellegi Hut is perched on the narrow ridge which rears up behind the hut in a huge, narrow fin. It's a magical place! The lower section of the ridge is straightforward scrambling with fixed ropes. The snow ridge above the North Face is sharp and scary and the descent off the far side fairly easy but long. We went back via the Monchjoch Hut rather than down the flank to the bottom. It was a much nicer route and we were in time to catch the last train down.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Eiger - Majestic, historic, enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Before my visit to the Jungfrau region, I learned about the history of the Eiger and of the many, many lives which have been lost by climbers attempting to climb its legendary North Face. If you want to know more, look up "The Beckoning Silence" on Youtube, which in 10 parts covers the tragic events and gallant efforts of Toni Kurz, Andreas Hinterstoisser, Willi Angerer and Edi Rainer in 1936.

The best views of the Eiger's North Face can be found in Kleine Scheidegg and Grindelwald. I've included with this review some pictures which I took whilst visiting the area in May 2011.

To me, there's just something special, almost magnetic, about this mountain, which just drew me to it whilst in Kleine Scheidegg. I took an hour or so out of my day just to simply sit there and look at the face and I will certainly be making another trip to see the Eiger when I am staying in Kandersteg in May 2012.

This is a must see for every visitor to the Bernese Oberland and I cannot recommend highly enough learning about the history of the Eiger before you go.

MarshMellowBird

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eiger also viewed

Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to The Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eiger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.