We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see and do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aletsch Glacier

Aletsch Glacier
Jungfrau-Aletsch-Bietschhorn region, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$217*
and up
Swiss Alps Day Trip from Zurich: Jungfraujoch and...
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Europe's largest glacier, a UNESCO World Heritage site, surrounded by geological glacial featured landscapes and Alpine flora and wildlife.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must see and do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

From Bettemeralp we took the last cable car to Bettmerhorn. The mountain was ours.
Too see the panorama you still have to climb a moutain path, but beware, this path is really steep. They say it takes 30 minutes to cliimb but it can be more depending on your physical condition.
But once up to the top it is really worth while, the view on the glacier is stunning, no wonder it is on the UNESCO list. It was a foggy day, we were in the clouds but it was still spectacular.
The colors, the crevasses, the cascade, everything in that area is a wonder to the eyes.
After the view there are a lot of hiking path that you can take, depending on your level of training to regain the valley. We took the path to Bettmeralp wich is quite easy and took us about 2h30.
Then we had a cheese fondue in Bettmeralp and we took one of the last cable car to Betten (the last one is at 22h30).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jungfrau Ice Caves Sculptures, Switzerland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was a mesmerizing trip to the "TOP OF THE WORLD" , IN THE SWISS ALPS. We were privileged to be there to enjoy ecstatically the beautiful mountain scenery, the Glaciers, the Ice Caves, the Sphinx Observatory.
At 11,332 Feet Above Sea Level is the highest point in Europe. which includes several panoramic restaurants and a post office.
The Sphinx Observatory, one of the highest astronomical observatories in the world, provides an additional viewing platform at a height of 3,571 meters or 11,716 feet. It can be reached by an elevator from the Jungfraujoch.
A thoroughly enjoyable trip full of chilling and thrilling experiences in snow at dizzy heights.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Spectacular sight! Most amazing glacier ever. Nothing like it in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We purchased the two day ErlebnisCard for $99, used it for the train from Brig to Zermatt. The card entitles user to 50% off many cable cars, trains, etc. so the train ride up via the Gornergrat is only $42 instead of $84. Same goes for the gondola ride to Furi: $5.50 instead of $11.00. The tram for Aletsch Glacier to Eggis Horn was also 50% off, at about $22 Swiss Francs per person.

It takes 2 tram rides to get to the top. There are trails that lead to amazing view points for the Aletsch Glacier. Be very careful as there are many loose rocks. There is also a summit cafe.

The mid way station has many charming chalets and a cafeteria style restaurant,.

We've seen glaciers in Alaska and glaciers at Montana's Glacier National Park, the Aletsch Glacier is by far the most grand and easiest to get to. It is worth every dollar, however, make sure you check the live web cam for good visibility. Otherwise it would be a wasted trip up.

On the day we visited, you can see across to Jungfrau and many peaks. Clouds rolled in and out many times over. Never know what it was going to reveal.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A lot of snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We landed by helicopter and played in the snow for 30 minutes before getting picked up for some more hell-touring. Beautiful glacier just below the Jungfrau.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Awesome, not to miss..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I travelled to Jungfrau twice during my business visit to Switzerland..We have travelled all the way to summit by private rallways. After you arrive at the final train stop you will then walk through the ice cave, there are moving foot ways to help walking, there is a lot of history to know about the building of the rail networks. As soon as you go outside from the cave, the beauty and panoramic scene is simply stunning. Please check the weather before you go. This is not to missed trip in Switzerland!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aletsch Glacier also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Aletsch Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aletsch Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.